We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$331
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$305
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
US$500
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$487
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,541)
Filter reviews
3,541 results
Traveller rating
2,625
680
160
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,625
680
160
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager javierone bedroom suitemirador restaurantadult poolpersonal butlerbutler serviceitalian restaurantmain restaurantswim up barall inclusive packagekids clubthe hotel managerrooms face the oceanlarge balconyfull kitchenthe general managerocean view
Filter
Updating list...
1,860 - 1,865 of 3,541 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the Plaza. The nearness to the Malecon helped. We were using the public buses freely and eating out at restaurants in downtown area - Fredys Tucan, Cafe Naranjo, Jazz Bistro by the Cuale River etc. The city area was very safe too. Tried Takos and Ocho 8 Tostadas right across the hotel which had more authentic Mexican flavor food too. Since we took the Euro plan, we we're not bound by the hotel restaurants. Wish they would convert the deli restaurant to a Mediterranean or Asian food restaurant and the Italian to a Mexican option restaurant. Got some great mangoes and fruits at the Mega Commercial Mexicana store nearby within walking distance so the kids were very happy. The hotel staff was very efficient and helpful. Kid friendly too. They work extra hard to keep the hotel and pools clean. Wish the beach had a few surfboards. That would be nice to surf on the shoreline. Took the banana boat ride in downtown and kids loved that since the boat took us towards the mountains and pinnacles. Came back with a positive impression of PV & Mexico.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

place had mostly really good reviews. But our experience was better than described by most people on tripadvisor. we honestly can't say enough good things about the one bedroom suite. the food or the staff that went out of their way to ensure we had a great trip!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LuckysMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great resort. Very friendly staff 24 hrs a day. Love the activities throughout the day. I truly appreciate having select vendors on site for gifts and souvenirs. This is the place to be for relaxation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This resort is an excellent choice for couples looking for a relaxing vacation with opportunities for adventures, shopping, and nightlife easily accessable and nearby. Amazing value. Food was excellent. Rooms are large and all have great oceanfront views and balconies. Pools, grounds, and rooms are all very clean and well kept. Staff and service were friendly and attentive. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

As we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the resort manager, check in was incredibly fast and everyone seemed very friendly and accommodating. We had a minor issue with our daughters reservations(no fault of resort) but they worked with us to get it resolved fast.

I must admit this is the first all inclusive that did not have a buffet and was a little apprehensive of that fact. The menu didn't look to be very large but everything on it tasted as if we had a personal chef make it, in 7 days I never had a single bad meal. They were very flexible on ordering things on the side so at no point was I missing the buffet.

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The resort itself is pretty small but I found that to work out very well, nothing felt cramped or crowded. The two pools were clean and well maintained. Resort is a $6 taxi ride to the shopping and restaurant section and everything is walking distance from there. LaPalupa is on the beach and had some extremely good food that turned out to be pretty inexpensive.

The hot tubs were nice but I never saw all 3 on at once nor could I get any information on how to turn on the off ones. This would have been nice to know and suggest a sign on them. They are supposed to be adult only too but frequently saw kids up on the hot tub deck as well.

Beach itself was ok, always had the red flag flying so I never really swam much in it and just stuck to the pools. The vendors on the beach will flock to you once they see you off resort property, harmless just a little annoying sometimes.

While kids were here this is really an adult resort, there was no entertainment at all, no music being played. Luckily I brought my own Bluetooth speakers and just played my own stuff.

I wouldn't call them cons but the pool bar itself never was manned, I could never get a drink there in under 20 minutes. The upper end of that bar was attached to the dining area so all 3 bartenders tended to just stay up there. That said they walked around the pool about every 30 min and usually just ordered from them. Probably the only area that needed some refinement was the bar area near the pool, if this was improved and the pool bar itself was viable I would pretty much consider this resort one of my personal top picks.

My last stay in PV was at the RIU and this is in a much high class than it in every way.

Room Tip: The suite was amazing and well worth the minor upgrade fee.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews