We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in PV.”
Review of Zirahuen Cafe - CLOSED

Zirahuen Cafe
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican, American, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A little gem of a place run by Juan Pablo. It's in Romantico close to the beach, Malecon, & park. From $ 20 to $ 40. Gourmet Mexican Style Cuisine.
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A gem in PV.”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

I have visited the Zirahuen Cafe on two occasions and have only good things to say. This small restaurant is run by a lovely family on the ground floor of their home. What it lacks in atmosphere is more than made up by the attentive service, value and quality of the food they serve. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ordianryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Charming restaurant, great service, excellent food and inexpesnive. The first visit I enjoyed mahi mahi, and my spouse had a wonderful steak special followed by a banana flambe to die for!. On the next visit I ordered the mahi mahi with chipotle (very spicy but just what I wanted) and my spouse had the Dr Zhivago shrimp - beautifully prepared and great flavor. The owner is personable and ensures that you enjoy your evening. Definitely recommend this restaurant

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pvrcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Zirahuen Cafe”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

As other travelers have mentioned, we happened to walk by and Pablo's charm won us. At first we were reluctant. It seemed like a family run hole-in-the-wall place, but looks can be deceiving. The food was excellent. The service quick and the prices cheap. He has specials every day and the margaritas are better than a lot of well know bars in the area. There are only two outdoor tables. The inside seemed dark during daylight. But the food was good and the prices are great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeCault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One Of Our Favourites in PV!”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

While walking by one day, Pablo greeted us at the door and handed us one of his pamphlets with the menu on it. He also has a few daily specials on a blackboard out front. A most personable man. So glad we went there a few nights later. A real charming, well cared for restaurant. We sat at one of the two tables that are outside. Lots of ex-pats always walking by, and they all know Pablo and obviously have eaten there at one time or another. Had a wonderful, and reasonably priced dinner. Pablo also serves Chilean wine for 40 pesos a glass, or Bottle for 150 pesos. Once seated, the daughter brought us some delicious homemade bread and and equally delicious tapenade spread. A small menu, but has something for everyone. Beef, chicken and fish. There is also a vegetarian dish which is mashed potatoes with a medly of grilled vegetables. I had that dish, it was delicious, and I'm not even a vegetarian! Now, have already been there twice for dinner, and when Pablo informed us he would be open for lunch now as well, tried that also. For lunch he serves 2 great shrimp tacos for 15 pesos, and a super margarita for 12 pesos. So, if you have not been there yet, at least try it for lunch! Guaranteed you will then return for dinner. A great find in PV. Thank you, Pablo and family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivers
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“loved this restaurant”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We happened upon this restaurant by chance, saw the tripadvisor sign, and decided to try it. It is small, charming and the owner and chef,Pablo, gave us wonderful, personalized service. We ordered the fish specials, which were excellent and a very good price (95 pesos). We enjoyed the way the whole family was involved with helping in the restaurant and returned for a second meal. Again the food was excellent and we topped off the meal with the flambeed dessert. It's just a short walk off the Malecon, but nice to be in a quieter setting with nice soft music.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle56Rivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zirahuen Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing