We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old worn out hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Ranked #65 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Draper, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old worn out hotel”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The good thing about this hotel is that it was cheap to stay, cheap enough to check out early and not worry about the lack of a refund. The place was probably a decent place to stay 25 years ago. That is what I would guess to be the age of the furniture and mattresses in my room. The sofa is stained and nasty. The bed and the floor are similar in firmness. All in all everything about the place is well worn and showing a lot of wear. The restaurant is was decent and is the highlight of the amenities. It was picked for the proximity to the marina, and then came the realization of how empty the marina has become over the past year. When addressing issues with the management, I found them to be offensive, uncaring and rude. You can find much nicer places for similar budgets. You'll be happier as I was somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    97
    55
    18
    26
See reviews for
68
90
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Flamingo Vallarta Resort and Marina is the best place to stay! You are on the Marina, the staff are the nicest people you will meet. The rooms are very clean and the food is exceptional. Isaac in the restaurant is the best!!! This is the only place we will stay at.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor that overlooks the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Quite a nice hotel with easy access to the airport. The rooms are very nice, clean, and quiet. They show a bit of wear and shabbiness, but nothing offensive. The hotel is very nice in every way. To get to the beach, you have to take one of the morning shuttles. However, the pool looks absolutely stunning. The marina is right there, but nothing else is easily accessible.

I stayed on the third floor, but the room itself was another floor up on the fourth level. If you have trouble with stairs, be sure to ask about them if you're assigned a room in the 300s.

As an aside, I had booked months before through booking,com and was quoted a rate that was about half of what the hotel was charging by the time I arrived in January 2014. The hotel front desk staff didn't even question my bargain rate. Very classy, I thought.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wordtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Check in went well, had a chance to look at rooms prior to checking in. Front desk staff excellent. Lunch and pool side breakfast great, food excellent. a bit out of the way and hard to find though, more signs would be great when you have your own car and not a taxi driver to find it for you??

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We checked out after the first night. This place is noisy, dark rooms, and the bathroom was not maintained since 20 years it looked filthy. Please see my photos. Electric cables came out of the walls, no safe and only one key for the room. No safety concept. Matresses were very uncomfortable. The TV was about 20 years old. Internet connection wass the poorest I ever had in a hotel. I would only recomment this hotel if you are on a very tight budget and a run down very noisy place that reminds of a hostel doesn´t bother you. The reception was solely run by a boy that looked like he just turned 18 and he was completely overwhelmed with this job. I wouldn´t blame him, but the management to let him be there alone when there were 30 people checking in ( 2 groups)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Friends, you know I'm not the type to book a $300/night room at the Marriott. I scored a great deal on this hotel via Kayak. Yes, the hotel is older, but the location is absolutely fantastic. Yes, the one elevator could only hold about 6 people, but did I tell you how great the location is???? Yeah, due to the price a lot of Mexican families with small children vacation here, but did I mention you could walk to about 25 restaurants and bars and also the local Walmart (if you're the sturdy type)? The only real problem....the one thing that made me cuss was the spotty internet connection in the room. Frustration personified..... But did I mention the great front desk staff, lovely service in the restaurant, and friendly housekeeper? Oh yeah.... And that unbelievably great location. This place is not for everyone, but were it not for the internet, I'd be doing the jig.

Room Tip: This is important. We were on the 4th floor where a remodel added a few rooms. When you opened the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC-- Brooklyn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

At the high season (Dec 21 through Dec 31), we paid less than a grand for ten nights stay with breakfast included. That is a major plus for a hotel that is clean, well kept, safe, located on a beautiful marina with a multitude of restaurants and shops, with a bus stop two blocks away that takes you into the center of town in about twenty-five minutes. There is no beach, which we knew in advance and did not care about, and were aware that we were not in the center of the tourist zones.

But...

1. They are very inflexible on something as minor as breakfast. The included breakfast Americano is the most expensive breakfast on the menu, but ten days of eggs is boring and unhealthy; trying to downgrade to much cheaper-- and tastier-- Mexican dishes was a major effort that involved no fewer than four staff members and three workdays. Ridiculous.

2. The building, while well maintained, has what seems to be zero insulation between rooms to buffer noise. So, if you happen to get a family with small children next to or below you, and they like to sing/scream/laugh until they finally fall asleep at 1:00am, you will be awake with them. Luckily, we had that for only three of our ten nights and came prepared with foam earplugs just in case.

Other than these issues, we very much enjoyed the property. If we returned to PV-- where we were otherwise bored when not diving, lazing by the pool, or taking a separate day tour-- we would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EngTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
152 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#84 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
318 reviews
6.4 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina

Property: Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Address: Carretera Al Aeropuerto KM 6 S/N | Colonia Puerto Iguanas, Puerto Vallarta 48314, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina Explore a place filled with life in the heart of the popular Marina Vallarta, minutes away from the best attractions and with the family and business friendly atmosphere that you're looking for. Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina is one great hotel in Puerto Vallarta, with brick roofs and a lovely cupola that is a reminiscence of the mexican essence that characterizes this romantic destination. By staying with us you'll have the chance of admiring the luxury yachts in the Marina for the best price! Flamingo Vallarta Hotel features 96 Standard rooms with balconies to appreciate the stunning Marina Vallarta. Each room is equipped with Internet access, safe box, room service ($) and a lot more. Our Vallarta hotel facilities also include: •Restaurant buffet •Gym services •Wi-Fi in rooms and hotel areas •Meeting room for events. We have to be honest: what really distinguishes Flamingo Vallarta Hotel from other Marina Vallarta hotels is its quietness, personalized service, attention to detail and an exquisite combination of exclusiveness and affordability. Book today your room in Flamingo Vallarta and get our lowest Internet rates, guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Vallarta Resort & Marina Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Flamingo Vallarta Resort And Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Puerto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing