We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Casa Dulce Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Dulce Vida
Ranked #22 of 71 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We had looked at a different hotel in the same price range and the difference in quality and space was unbelievable.Casa Dulce Vida was a couple of blocks from the Malecon and a few blocks from the Romantica Zone - so it was a perfect location. We took the room in a heartbeat after seeing it! The 1500 sq ft casita was off of the pool and had an enormous living room, a neat kitchen and a king size bed in the bedroom. The amazing rooftop view and seating around the pool made the living room almost unnecessary! Audrey and Lee were gracious, kind and happy to tell us about PV and the history of the casa. Dulce Vida was a great find for us and I hope we return next year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Dulce Vida is a rare gem in the wonderful old town of Puerto Vallarta! Only a couple of blocks from the Melecon and beach, it is an oasis of friendly service and lovely, clean rooms in a funky casa with a beautiful pool and view. I would stay there again in a heart beat!! Thank you Shawnalee, Audrey and of course, Coco, the lab!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks at the beginning of Dec 2010. We originally had the rooftop casa, but the stairs up and down were not to our liking, nor was the construction going on adjacent to Dulce Vida. So, Shawnalee gave us another room which was perfect. There is a bird across the street that squawks in the evening, but we found it more entertaining than upsetting. We ordered fresh salsa and guacomole every other day from the cleaner and it was delish.
This casa is situated in a great location, as everything is within walking distance, and there are two small stores only steps away for cervesa, mix, and other goodies.
We plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are nice. The rooftop room is good, but it can be noisy. Ask about construction in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksonwillbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I looked on TripAdvisor for a B&B in Old Town PV and came across Dulce Vida. In my opinion, this property should be at #1. My experience from the moment I contacted the owner to the minute I left, was superb. Audrey was very friendly, informative and accommodating prior to arrival. Once we arrived, we were greeted with a warm welcome and a bright smile from both Audrey & Lee. To our delight, we were upgraded to a larger casa and were blown away by the architecture, decor and serenity of the property. I immediately wished I could've stayed much longer! The pool was glorious and the views were breathtaking. The location was perfect and we were never more than a 10 minute walk away.

I highly recommend this B&B in Puerto Vallarta. Forget Nuevo Vallarta and stay in Old Town. This place has everything you need!

Room Tip: all the casas are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogaadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This property is stunning. Truly beautiful individual suites that are larger than many apartments! Self-contained kitchen, lots of natural light and breeze and a GORGEOUS pool. A wonderful place to come for a relaxing and private stay with a partner. Perfect when you want a peaceful, luxurious holiday with your partner and intend on spending a lot of time in your room. Not recommended for those looking for a party holiday.

Room Tip: The cheaper suites did not compare to the more expensive ones. I wouldn't have stayed in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raincoat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Audrey, Lee and Chawnalee were the perfect hosts. They immediately made us feel welcome, were there whenever we needed anything but also respected our space and privacy. Audrey kindly got us settled in our room on arrival and left us to enjoy her own special home-made guacamole and cool drinks. We were impressed with Dulce Vida's design and layout - the original architect got it just right. Its eccentric history is echoed in the resulting original artworks displayed throughout the rooms. The sense of style and design throughout all the casas is impeccable with a lovely mix of local culture, crafts and antiques. The rooms remained cool during the heat of the day, especially Casa 2 being partly subterranean, with ample natural light. Views from the rooftop are spectacular and the pool area and gardens make a lovely retreat to sit and relax. Loved the imported Italian red tiles in the pool! Housekeeping staff were non intrusive and did an excellent job. Perfect location, easy walking distance to everything but far enough removed to be quiet away from the tourist crowds. Really, this was one of the highlights of our trip and we would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful, stylish place to stay.

Room Tip: Lee graciously gave us a tour of all the casas. Whilst they were all beautiful, we felt Casa 2 had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Team_Bakwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I stayed there with my girlfriend in March just as the madness of Spring Break was coming to an end. Despite being less than a 5 minute walk from the Malecon, we felt a million miles away from the bright lights and parties booming below once back at the Casa.

The rooms are very spacious with all having access to either private or communal balconies with stunning views over the old town and the bay. Some are over two floors with the bedroom downstairs and living area up.

My girlfriend had injured her leg just before we arrived so was on crutches. Puerto Vallarta is not the best place to be on crutches however the owners did everything possible to help us during our stay. We had considered just stopping there for one night before moving on, however we ended up staying for 4 nights.

I would definitely recommend this family run establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanramos83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#40 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Alemana
Hacienda Alemana
#5 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#1 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
325 reviews
202.0 mi away
Casa Fantasia
Casa Fantasia
#12 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Maria Cortez
Quinta Maria Cortez
#4 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dulce Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dulce Vida

Address: Calle Aldama 295, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £30 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful large property has great views and is centrally located to Pv's best restaurants, shopping and 4 blocks to the beach. Enjoy many of the casas as a group or select one individually. There are many gardens, patios and entrances that provide privacy. The swimming pool is large and there are many lounges and gardens. Maid service is Monday to Saturday. There are on site massages and beauty services. All casas have complete kitchens. The free wifi is throughout. We so appreciate our new solar system. Don't just visit .... Live it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dulce Vida Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing