We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Dulce Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Dulce Vida
Ranked #19 of 74 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at this fanastic place for 10 days in November 2012. Audrey and Lee were the most gracious kind hosts. Great views and close to the bus and Malacon. Close to some of the best restaurants in PV. We stayed in Casa # 3 which had plenty of room for a couple with your own private patio ! Very quiet and secure place to stay. We look forward to going back next year. Thanks for making our stay pleasent .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjorgensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Dulce Vida is an excellent choice if you want to avoid the Puerto Vallarta ‘hotelzillas’. The area generally isn’t as quiet as La Zona Romantica - busses and trucks roar up a lot of PV’s main streets for reasons known only to the local planning authorities - though it is at the top of a quiet street. Nor is it closer to the best beach in town (which isn’t blow-me-down great, in my opinion) but closer to many great eateries and bars. Plus it has a superb pool, more space in the rooms than you’ll probably need for an average stay and an excellent vibe. Extended stays would be easy as the rooms have kitchens and closets, etc.

You won’t be able to book Dulce Vida on any of the well-known sites such as booking.com or Expedia (at least at the time of writing). You’ll need to contact the place directly via the website. They have a 7-for-6 night deal in the off-season (June-July-ish). Which is nice.

Two minor downsides to Dulce Vida are the internet access which can be a bit marginal (I think it’s actually an ISP issue as any kind of rain tends to kill it). And, because it's a very old casa (the history is on the web site and is more interesting than many), you might experience the old bit of water here and there and an occasional crab which has wandered a bit far from home. Sometimes there’s a bit of noise from “insanely hot clubs” down the hill, but it’s not too bad. (Though how the people living nearer them cope with the nightly racket, I have no idea; the inventor of the sub-woofer deserves an Ignoble Prize.)

Chawnalee, our host, and Cocoa, her large, docile and friendly canine amiga were both excellent. Chawnalee is ready and willing to assist with car arrangements and is well-connected in town so she can point you in the right direction if you need help or just a good place to eat. Overall, superb value and very hard to go past. We’ll be back before the end of the year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique so each has its own attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Casa Dulce Vida was the perfect place to stay. Everything -- from the spacious and comfortable apartment, the step out to the pool (and the morning and evening swims), the views, and our affable hosts -- made for a great start to travels through to the interior of Mexico. Thank you very much for a relaxing and inspiring stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you are looking for a beautiful place for solitude, yet close to experience the local culture, this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellys747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We had looked at a different hotel in the same price range and the difference in quality and space was unbelievable.Casa Dulce Vida was a couple of blocks from the Malecon and a few blocks from the Romantica Zone - so it was a perfect location. We took the room in a heartbeat after seeing it! The 1500 sq ft casita was off of the pool and had an enormous living room, a neat kitchen and a king size bed in the bedroom. The amazing rooftop view and seating around the pool made the living room almost unnecessary! Audrey and Lee were gracious, kind and happy to tell us about PV and the history of the casa. Dulce Vida was a great find for us and I hope we return next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Dulce Vida is a rare gem in the wonderful old town of Puerto Vallarta! Only a couple of blocks from the Melecon and beach, it is an oasis of friendly service and lovely, clean rooms in a funky casa with a beautiful pool and view. I would stay there again in a heart beat!! Thank you Shawnalee, Audrey and of course, Coco, the lab!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks at the beginning of Dec 2010. We originally had the rooftop casa, but the stairs up and down were not to our liking, nor was the construction going on adjacent to Dulce Vida. So, Shawnalee gave us another room which was perfect. There is a bird across the street that squawks in the evening, but we found it more entertaining than upsetting. We ordered fresh salsa and guacomole every other day from the cleaner and it was delish.
This casa is situated in a great location, as everything is within walking distance, and there are two small stores only steps away for cervesa, mix, and other goodies.
We plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are nice. The rooftop room is good, but it can be noisy. Ask about construction in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksonwillbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#49 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#51 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dulce Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dulce Vida

Property: Casa Dulce Vida
Address: Calle Aldama (El Centro) 295, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful large property has great views and is centrally located to Pv's best restaurants, shopping and 4 blocks to the beach. Enjoy many of the casas as a group or select one individually. There are many gardens, patios and entrances that provide privacy. The swimming pool is large and there are many lounges and gardens. Maid service is Monday to Saturday. There are on site massages and beauty services. All casas have complete kitchens. The free wifi is throughout. We so appreciate our new solar system. Don't just visit .... Live it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dulce Vida Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing