We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda Las Animas
Ranked #28 of 70 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at Las Animas for 3 days in April and it was a wonderful experience. My wife and I have been to Mexico many times before, but this was our first opportunity to experience Mexican life up close. The B and B is located on a hillside where the locals live, with a beautiful view of the mountains and the Bay. The pool and bar were very relaxing after a day of walking and sight seeing. Bricha and Ted are wonderfully gracious hosts, Ted makes great breakfasts every morning and they both are more than willing to help with any questions or details. Thank you both for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Chelsea, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Beautiful....everything in the pictures are true...A real gem...and the fact that is it small, made it a perfect place for us. We wanted walking distance to the beach with locals. And to top it all...the beautiful dogs and cats. We were home away from home. Thand you Brishca and Ted

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Location, location, location! So nice with real Mexican neighborhood. Wonderful view, the rooms are really good and the pool and bar area very nice. The fact that it is small and personal only make it better. Thanks Ted and Brischa for a wonderful stay, we will be back soon. :-)

Mats

PS.
We love the dogs!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matttsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

we loved it here!!! every one was so nice and there was nothing more we could have asked for! breakfast was great, location was fantastic (although its a tad out of the main area its in the best location to take a walk into town and enjoy the small side streets where the locals live!) there is no negative about staying here! i would come back any time !!! thanks so much for having us!

Room Tip: any room would be amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blowe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We are big believers in TripAdvisor and make most of our decisions based off of the reviews. We chose this B&B because of the amazing reviews and we weren't disappointed.

We knew coming in that it wouldn't be right in town or right near the beach and in the end we were glad we made the decision to stay up in the hills. The walk down into Old Town was through a real Mexican neighborhood consisting of lots of families and children. We always felt safe and we did the walk into town and back basically twice a day and it never got old or boring.

We stayed in the Las Animas room which is located on the main floor with the pool/bar/breakfast table. It was clean and well decorated, the bathroom was amazing. It had a huge walk-in closet with room for everything. It comes with a fridge, tv, dvd player, etc.

Ted's breakfasts were always delicious. Fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, and toast always accompanied the main dish.

The overall ambiance of this B&B was our favorite part, with only 4 rooms it's becomes a great place to meet and really get to know the people who are staying with you at the same time. This place attracts the more adventurous people who like to explore.

The dogs and cats were what made it really special (if you are allergic you might need to reconsider). They are all very well behaved and loved the attention. After a few days here it really feels like home. Ted and Brischa make you feel like old friends and were always able to give recommendations and directions.

We had a fantastic 8 nights at Hacienda Las Animas. If we make it back to Puerto Vallarta we know we will be back.

Room Tip: Buenos Aires is the room on the second floor with the west facing view. Sierra Madre is the two bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VancityCpl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is a delightful place to stay. The building is beautifully designed by Brischa. Ted and Brischa could not have been more welcoming. Staying in a neighborhood - Colonia Buenos Aires - makes all the difference. Unlike staying in the tourist zones, the neighbors greet you and you can sit in the community plaza and watch the children while their mothers take a Zumba class. Walking up and down the neighborhood streets gave us a good workout, too. We have stayed in guest houses around the world and HIGHLY recommend Hacienda Las Animas.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatWA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We visited PV in July primarily to attend a wedding but wanted to spend some time getting to know the city before heading to the resort, and this was the perfect spot for easing in to Mexican life. Being up on the hill gave you views over the city to the ocean and sunset right from the hammock over the pool and some cool jungle breezes, which we appreciated in humid summer. Plus, it's in a real neighborhood so you feel like you're experiencing real middle class Mexican life as you come and go. We ate food sold by vendors along the river (no tummy troubles!) including fresh tamales that a lady was selling for 10pesos from a steamer set up on a card table in her driveway and could easily have joined the Zumba class that was held nightly on the plaza in front of the church.

Ted picked us up at the airport and gave us an overview of the city as we drove back. As an added bonus, because we arrived on Election Day (no alcohol sold!) he had happily agreed to picking up a few beers for us in advance so we could relax by the pool after a day of flying.

Our room and bathroom were lovely, clean and comfortable with great views of the valley, but the best part of our stay was all the animals! Ted and Brisha are animal lovers and have many sweet rescue dogs which makes the place feel very homey- you are greeted every time you come in. There are also a few cats wandering around and a large cage of doves that were fun to watch.

It's a bit of a hike in to town but there are frequent buses, and Ted always offered us rides when he was heading down the hill. He also drove is and our luggage to the dock when we headed by boat to Yelapa and pulled out his laptop for us so we could check the boat schedules.

Our whole experience reminded me of staying with relatives (that you get along with!) in a new city. We felt at home and like we had an insiders perspective on the city that we would not have gotten had we stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoSeeForYourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.2 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#53 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Escondida Puerto Vallarta
Hacienda Escondida Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 70 in Puerto Vallarta
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Maria Cortez
Quinta Maria Cortez
#3 of 70 in Puerto Vallarta
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Las Animas

Property: Hacienda Las Animas
Address: Calle Amapas 235 | Colonia Buenos Aires, Puerto Vallarta 48370, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Las Animas is a small, intimate, 4 suite Bed & Breakfast with a unique charm and character. Owned by a European couple and located on a tropical hillside above the Rio Cuale, it is surrounded by lush vegetation with outstanding views of the Sierra Madre Mountains and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing