We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get off the beaten path!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda Las Animas
Ranked #28 of 74 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Get off the beaten path!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great place to stay, especially in a town that can be really touristy. Situated in a great neighborhood, very safe and friendly, and Not in a touristy area. It is a nice walk to town/beaches with good free exercise walking the hill up to the place! Ted and Brischa are really nice people and very helpful with local tips. They recommended a hike that we would not have found otherwise, and it was a highlight of the trip. Ted also kindly got us local bus info for a day trip, drove us to the bus station in the morning, and helped us order the correct tickets. They are truly invested in guests having a good time. They are also running a full-on animal rescue operation, which is so nice to see. Would definitely stay again. And the pool is an excellent thing after sweaty walks around town. I looked forward to it every evening. Very good value for the price.

Room Tip: The room on the second floor with the ocean view looks like the best. Las Animas room has glass doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We watched spectacular sunsets from the coolness of their eternal pool. Ted & Brischa made wonderful breakfasts, and arranged a reasonably priced day trip for everyone staying at Las Animas involving boat rental, snorkeling, bird watching, lunch. Interesting stories, good people, everyone else was a return guest. Comfortable beds.
It's very noisy with roosters, dogs barking, mariachi bands and party sounds that drift up from the valley. We found that energizing and welcome. If you want quiet, you won't like it here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_S32363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We loved our ten days stay at Hacienda las Animas. The hacienda is gorgeous, very thoughtfully designed. We stayed in the Las Animas suite, which is at pool level. Wow! The bedroom is large and comfortable. It has a tv, microwave and small fridge. There is a small balcony to sit on. The bathroom is humungous! It has a huge tiled tub, a major plus in my book. The closet is about the size of my first apartment. What really sets this place apart is the art. The mixture of beautiful paintings combined with a whimsical collection of frogs seemed perfect. The closet even had a painting. The amenities are over the top. the bathroom had lovely colognes for both men and women. The closet had a shoe rack, something I really appreciated.

The public spaces are exquisite. The pool area has a small bar with the same great combination of art. There is a small table where we ate breakfast every morning. Oh my! Teddy makes the best breakfasts. Each morning started with coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice and a platter of perfectly ripe fruit. The entrees were always delicious with a unique touch. I loved the Jamaica jam!

Upstairs, there is an outdoor living room with very comfy furniture. There are books and magazines to read. Like the rest of the place, the décor and art are just lovely. The hammock is a great place to spend an hour or so.

We left the door to our room open all day, so cats and dogs could wander in for a nap. We miss our pets when on vacation, so we really enjoyed this. We loved the cooing of the mourning doves. I so admire Teddy and Brischa for taking in injured and abandoned animals. They take the dogs to the river each day. They nurture an ailing one-eyed cat. To me, that speaks volumes about these wonderful people.

Teddy and Brischa are the best hosts ever! It felt like staying with long time friends. They are so warm and welcoming. Their pet au pair, Becca, is a sweetheart. Our stay here was so much more enjoyable than a large, impersonal resort. We will definitely stay at Hacienda las Anima again. Just don't tell them how long I want to stay....

We loved the location, a Mexican neighborhood in Colonia Buenos Aires. If you are a fan of AIs in Nuevo, this might not be for you. It was exactly what I was looking for. Can't wait until our next visit!

Room Tip: We will definitely request the Las Animas suite again. It has a lovely view of the bay. The bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spotcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at Las Animas for 3 days in April and it was a wonderful experience. My wife and I have been to Mexico many times before, but this was our first opportunity to experience Mexican life up close. The B and B is located on a hillside where the locals live, with a beautiful view of the mountains and the Bay. The pool and bar were very relaxing after a day of walking and sight seeing. Bricha and Ted are wonderfully gracious hosts, Ted makes great breakfasts every morning and they both are more than willing to help with any questions or details. Thank you both for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Chelsea, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Beautiful....everything in the pictures are true...A real gem...and the fact that is it small, made it a perfect place for us. We wanted walking distance to the beach with locals. And to top it all...the beautiful dogs and cats. We were home away from home. Thand you Brishca and Ted

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Location, location, location! So nice with real Mexican neighborhood. Wonderful view, the rooms are really good and the pool and bar area very nice. The fact that it is small and personal only make it better. Thanks Ted and Brischa for a wonderful stay, we will be back soon. :-)

Mats

PS.
We love the dogs!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matttsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

we loved it here!!! every one was so nice and there was nothing more we could have asked for! breakfast was great, location was fantastic (although its a tad out of the main area its in the best location to take a walk into town and enjoy the small side streets where the locals live!) there is no negative about staying here! i would come back any time !!! thanks so much for having us!

Room Tip: any room would be amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blowe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#12 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#32 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#2 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta Maria Cortez
Quinta Maria Cortez
#4 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hacienda San Angel
Hacienda San Angel
#8 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casa Descanso
La Casa Descanso
#17 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Las Animas

Property: Hacienda Las Animas
Address: Calle Amapas 235 | Colonia Buenos Aires, Puerto Vallarta 48370, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Las Animas is a small, intimate, 4 suite Bed & Breakfast with a unique charm and character. Owned by a European couple and located on a tropical hillside above the Rio Cuale, it is surrounded by lush vegetation with outstanding views of the Sierra Madre Mountains and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing