We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy newly furnished apartment (aside from the TV) with good location”
Review of La Iguana de Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Iguana de Oro
Reviewed 21 March 2014

As a young couple, we liked this hotel mainly because of the location (it is walking distance from the seafront and the restaurant/clubs) and also it is newly furnished (aside from the TV), with all the necessary appliances in the kitchen for a long stay. Se had a room on the back part of the hotel so it was very quiet. The inconvenience of this hotel is that you have to go to another hotel to do the check-in (Hotel Encino) and we went in the rain season so as you can imagine, it wasn't great fun and also we never got to use the pool because of it.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sammmy137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Last January we stayed here 2 months and we very much enjoyed it. We are going back this winter for sure. We particularly appreciated Eduardo's kindness and Lupita is always smiling. Our accommodations were well appointed with everything we needed, very clean, smoke free except on the roof terrace. We highly recommend it.
Antonio and Anna

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We rented a two bedroom apartment for 3 months.

Location was very good/ close to everything (beach, shopping, restaurants & malicon).

Accommodations were clean. Furniture was average. Pool area was very nice & well maintained.

Staff was excellent, very accommodating & they did a great job. We were very pleased.

Weather was excellent. It averaged 28C for 3 months. Rained 1 day.

The only negative complaint is the noise. We were on a bus route. PV has the most buses I've ever seen in a city. We never waited any longer than 3-5 minutes for a bus, which is very nice. The problem is "they have to many buses for the amount of population in our AREA. The majority of the time the buses going by our unit were 90% empty.

Over all, we enjoyed our stay & will be returning next year.

Room Tip: 4 apartments in the front of the building have balconies facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We liked walking through the unmarked door off the sidewalk, we felt more included in the old town culture. 4 blocks to the park, 5 to the waterfront. Easy to walk north to the more touristy stuff. Check out Abuelito's on the beach & ask for Anastasio if you want a crazy local to chat your ear off and convince you to drink more Tequila. Great chilequiles all around for breakfast. I wanna go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goatski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I love Puerto Vallarta so I'm glad i found a nice and affordable place to stay! Excelent location! Highly recommended! The pool area and other commun areas are very cozy! I love the fact that the beach is only a few bloks away!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliocrmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The place is really a good option to stay for a long period of time. It is in a great location by the Zona Romántica and everything is near by, the beach is just three blocks away. Very clean and cozy!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I really liked staying in a studio at La Iguana de Oro. It wasn't like staying in a hotel where you have personal services but The Hotel Encino was helpful at check-in and check out. The homey room came with a fully equipped kitchen, which I appreciated, and Lupita made sure that everything was very well maintained. I highly recommend taking earplugs because the clubs below were VERY loud at night. I think there must be an "afterhours" Karioke bar between 2-5am! Also, I needed to leave the hotel before dawn for some excursions and the stairwell was pitch black...no illumination whatsoever (nightlights would be fine). I consider that dangerous especially for an older person. I enjoyed being right in the middle of Old Town and getting to know the neighborhood. I felt very safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: Lights in the stairwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.6 mi away
Hotel Hortencia
Hotel Hortencia
#76 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
42 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#61 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
172 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#83 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#96 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
74 reviews
7.9 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Iguana de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Iguana de Oro

Address: Calle Lazaro Cardenas 310 | Col. Emiliano Zapata Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48280, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £20 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Iguana de Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iguana de Oro Vallarta offers brand new boutique accommodation and is located in the heart of the city, between two of the liveliest neighborhoods; Down Town and the Romantic Zone.They can be rented for short and long times and we have maid service,Iguana de Oroqueen size beds, kitchen, TV, cable and free WiFi. We also have a roof top terrace with a small pool and sun umbrellas to unwind and relax. Nearby attractions include the new remodeled malecon, pubs, bars, clubs, the finest shops and art galleries ion town, restaurants, beaches, the flea market, all in a walking distance. We strive to make the Iguana de Oro Vallarta feel as your home away from home and continuosly aim to offer the warmth and attention that you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Iguana de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing