We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #15 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Woodhaven, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for our 40th anniversary, the resort and the hotel housekeeping staff went out of their way making it special for us.
We walked into our room one night to find flower petals from the door to our bed, and huge chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us and a chilled bottle of Champaign.
At every dining area we went to when we gave our room number to the hostess, they greeted us by name and wished us a happy anniversary.
I might add all of this is given to you by the resort at no charge, all you have to do is bring a copy of your marriage license and let them know when you book your trip.
We have stayed at Secrets in Mexico and in Punta Cana and they have all been great.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Joseph937,

We are sincerely honored for your preference in your chosen celebration destination. It was our pleasure serving you in making this a memorable and unforgettable time for you and your bride. We hope to repeat and have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future. Congratulations to you both on behalf of our staff and myself.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,194
    715
    254
    86
    52
See reviews for
245
2,329
73
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta and it was great. From the outset the staff were friendly and helpful, greeting us with a fresh towel and a sparkling wine. Our fabulous room on floor 9 had the most amazing view over the Pacific and the sunsets were spectacular! All the restaurants were excellent and we ate in them all. Our favourite was the Japanese( apologies as we have forgotten the lovely head waiter's name but it started with O and was unusual) and we had our breakfast and lunch in the Market restaurant. We loved the choices and quality of fresh food! Our meals there were made all the better by receiving a friendly smile from Alma everyday and she always remembered us(we were usually first in for breakfast as early risers)! All the bar staff, whether pool, beach or bar were great and yes a dollar here and there was well deserved and appreciated. The gym facilities were really good and we appreciated the early opening time so we could workout before breakfast.
We had a fabulous time and hope to return in the future. Thanks again, Chris and Eleanor Wylie, UK.

Room Tip: A high floor will give you amazing views over Banderas Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellywGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
ellywGlasgow,

Thank you for the pleasure of hosting your first visit to our beautiful resort and unforgettable city. It thrills us to know that you time with us was memorable, that our gourmet restaurants met your expectations and last but not least, that our staff made a special and personal impact. We definitely look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and serving you many times over.

All the best,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merstham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I must say I had a great time at this hotel. The layout may seem confusing at first but once you get used to where everything is it's a breeze. I would definitely recommend upgrading to the Preferred Club. I was upgraded, free of charge, to a Master Suite, during my second week. What a room and view. I would like to add that all rooms at the hotel have an ocean view. The sunsets are amazing. At all of restaurants the food was excellent, something for every ones taste. All the staff were attentive and very helpful. Thank you Secrets for making my stay so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pove51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Pove51,

Thank you for choosing Secrets as your host for your recent holiday. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay at our beautifully designed resort to the fullest. It is very rewarding to know that our top shelf spirits, gourmet restaurants and our wonderful staff met your expectations. Thank you for your kind review and you are most welcomed. It is the least to say the myself an the staff are very anxious to have you back to welcome you home in Puerto Vallarta many times over.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked into the Secrets (adult only) resort in Puerto Vallarta to find all the entertainment took part in the Now Amber resort next door which was not adult only. Which I thought was not okay. If I had chosen adult only then that it was I expected not to have to go the next door hotel with children!!! I also found the hygiene of public areas left a little to be desired. One day a waiter dropped a plate with food on the floor, he reported it and over half an hour little it was still on the floor minus what the birds had eaten Yuk! The bed turn down service would have been great had she not wanted to do this between 5 and 6 pm when we were in the room getting showered ready for the evening. Having said this we did really enjoy our holiday the Mexican people are fantastic and the Malecon is a great place to go for a night out. The rooms were huge but despite this they were very damp and smelt foisty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Andrea L,

We deeply regret not having met your expectations on your recent visit to our beautiful resort. We thank you for bringing the housekeeping issues to our attention. We encourage our guests to please inform their concierge if they wish to have housekeeping at a specific time of the day so that it can be scheduled and you can enjoy your stay to the fullest.

At our beautiful resort we offer only high end nightly entertainment suited for all of our guests from the recently wed lovers, the ones many who celebrate their silver & gold anniversaries to those who are kids at heart.

We strive to maintain a wide variety throughout the year and always have a fresh new experience awaiting. Aside from the featured nightly show we cordially invite our guests to experience 4 hours of live music in our open air lobby accompanied top shelf spirits, breathtaking view and great company. Our adults only disco opens the dance floor at 10:00 pm and you are also welcomed to enjoy some thrills at our themed ‘Casino Nights’ all of which are published on our daily Sundial- Daily Activity sheet which can be accessed through your concierge or our mobile app. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and share with you the high quality entertainment prepared specially for our guests at Secrets Vallarta Bay.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We flew to Puerto Vallarta on the Dreamliner on first flight from LGW after a gap of 15 years since our last visit there. Strongly suggest upgrading to Premium cabin if you can. Worth every penny for an almost 12 hour flight & the extra space & facilities make the flight much more pleasant.
About 40 of us arrived at the hotel together. Despite this they were on top of their game to deal with such a large number of people after such a long flight. Speedy check in & before we could finish our glasses of champagne we were off to our Junior Suite on a higher floor (which they said was an upgrade) with a perfect view of the ocean & beyond with a glass fronted balcony. This is definately preferable to the stone fronted ones which although more spacious, the glass front mean you can sit out there with a drink & have a panoramic view, perfect for those Pacific sunsets which are the best I have seen anywhere.
We have stayed as Secrets hotels before, on the Caribbean coast. To position this review, we have also stayed at other resorts including the El Dorado Royale Casitas & Iberostar Grande. In our opinion Secrets Vallarta Bay exceeded those. We also stay frequently at Sandals & this compared equally to those in their higher catagory rooms/suites.
From what I could see, all the rooms are Junior Suites & all are the same in terms of size facilities apart from the balcony jacuzzi bath in the Club rooms. Those rooms have a partial sea view whereas the standard ones have a full on panoramic view which we much prefer. Your choice. The rooms have been described fully in many reviews so I won't repeat that other than to say they are larger & better appointed than they appear on the website photos.
The hotel is quite new & quite beautiful. We chose it due to its proximity to downtown PV so being in the city IU was not sure what to expect regarding space. The hotel has been cleverly constructed so that the pool & garden areas feel perfectly spacious. Very clever. The beach is what it is, this part of Mexican coast in common with many places now has suffered from erosion. The beautiful scenery that surrounds it more than compensates. The beach vendors are absolutely no problem whatsoever.
There are more than enough loungers to go round. One day after going downtown returned at 2pm & found loungers & an umbrella at the beach with no problem. A previous review criticised the poolside drinks service, our experience differed, we found this to be excellent. Omar & his colleagues kept us well supplied, remembered our preferences & service with a smile & friendly word each & every time. Very very nice people. We found the pool area very relaxing. There is background music but it is not intrusive. The loud music some refer to is only for the 30 minute exercise class at noon, really not a problem. The floats which everyone seems to enjoy using in the pool seem to be a bit thin on the ground but there were always enough to go round as people would leave then in or at the side of the pool for others to enjoy when they had finished using them. This works. However for a couple of days of the holiday they fell into very short supply due to a small number of people selfishly hoarding them on their swim up areas, this reflects on those guests, not the hotel . A word - this is an adult only resort, act like adults not children & the result is better for all.
It was a mixed crowd there in terms of age & country of origin. Some like us from Britain but many from USA & Canada. A friendly, sociable crowd & plenty of fun. By the pool you can be as sociable or private as you wish. If you want to keep yourselves to yourselves no one will bother you. Up to you.

In fact the service & staff are this hotel's biggest asset. Simply, they cannot do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble, the word no is never heard. At breakfast outside the Market Cafe Herberto took no time at all in remembering what we liked & our morning Mimosas kept coming as if by magic. The breakfast & lunch buffet theres are excellent, so much choice. For lunch there are shrimp, steaks, lamb chops & more all ready to be freshly grilled right in front of you.
The A La Carte restaurants in the evenings for dinner are all a great dining experience. Again,the service is impeccable., Hard to say a favourite but the French,Italian & Asian rate pretty high. The Mexican is good also. Try them all. The house champagne is very good, the Merlot perfectly drinkable. There are a good selection of beers (we like Pacifico) & every top brand spirit seems to be there.
It is hard to get across just how good Secrets Vallarta Bay really is. After very many visits to Mexico it ticks the boxes more than any other hotel. We plan to return next year, if not before & hope that Thomson will not stop the direct flights from LGW as they did before.
Thank you to all the folk at Secrets Vallarta Bay for making this such a perfect trip. A word on tipping. We like to tip in relation to the service we have received hence we were tipping all the time & pleased to do so. These people do not seek tips but are very deserving of them.

Room Tip: If you want a direct view of the ocean & breathtaking sunsets then the standard rooms in the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TabbyWabby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Tabbykins,

Greetings and thank you for your 5 star review. It was our pleasure to serve as your host and an honor to share a part of our selves with you. We are thrilled to know our efforts made your experience a memorable one. Our team prepared was prepared and ready to welcome you and I am glad things were executed as expected. Efficiently and warmly resulting in having you beachside enjoying Paradise in the shortest amount of time, free to enjoy yourself and our well-appointed resort. In the same manner our chefs and barmen, always strive to meet our guests expectations and are inspired by the words of an avid travelers like your self.
Now Amber has something for everyone in the family to enjoy. We envelope our guests in an upbeat environment fostering family togetherness encased in unforgettable moments. Everyone sends their best and is happy to hear we will be welcoming you back soon.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Secrets Vallarta Bay (adult oriented) was a little confusing. It was combined with Now Amber which is a family oriented all inclusive. The Secrets pool side, restaurants, and bars are all adults but we could use restaurants and bars in both places. Thank heavens for that because there was not much to do on the Secrets side. All the entertainment was on the Now side. There were only 2 restaurants on the Secrets side. Even the tiny coffee shop was on the Now side. The rooms were great except they were so muggy we had to have a dehumidifyer in the room even with the air conditioner. Service was excellent as far as housekeeping, waiters, bartenders......everyone that works there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Another great trip to Secrets Vallarta Bay. I am a huge fan of the set up to this hotel, and always recommend the Preferred Club when possible.

Definitely still more of a relaxing resort than a party resort; however the Malecon isn't far away, and has a great row of bars.

Year 2 of the Puerto Valaarta trip didn't disappoint.

Room Tip: Preferred Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Chicago CK,

Thank you kindly for your 5 star review. We are thrilled that our beautiful architecture & team made this a great trip by successfully meeting your expectations once more on your recent Unlimited-Luxury®experience.

We are happy to know that you are a returning member of the family and we are very excited to know that we have earned the opportunity to be welcome you many times over in the near future. We are very much looking forward to it.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,834 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,424 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,762 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta

Property: Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico (Formerly Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Otel, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing