We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing vacation resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An amazing vacation resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week in July and had booked a Preferred Club ocean view. The room was absolutely beautiful. It was very nicely appointed, great shower, bathroom and comfortable bed. The air conditioning was a bit finicky in that sometimes the sensor did not register that the door to the balcony was closed so the a/c did not kick on if you went out then in.
The pool was great. Perhaps a few more umbrellas would be a good idea.
All the a la carte restaurants were fantastic and due to not oversized portions, an appetizer, main course and dessert was possible. Our favourite was by far Bourdeaux, great food and attentive service. We did not like so much when the buffet restaurant was turned to a la carte in the evenings. We did that once, the service was not as good as the other restaurants and the setting not as intimate.
Bar service was great everywhere. The resort was spotless.
It is about a 25 minute walk to the Malecon. We did that a couple of times, or a cheap taxi ride, 65 pesos.
We will definitely return and recommend to any couple looking for a romantic, relaxing vacation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CorrieFan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,059
    658
    234
    77
    43
See reviews for
220
2,168
68
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We went during the last two weeks of July, so it was not very packed, pools were not crowded at all! Service was excellent, everyone was so friendly! Amazing views and clean, wonderful pool areas, this hotel was way more than we expected. Will be back again! The restaurants had an excellent and diverse range of food, with 24 hr room service also being a great option. Really recommend this hotel, you will not regret it! One thing though- you might be asked to attend a presentation for their preferred club (kinda like a time share in a sense) if you do agree, expect to be there for about 4 hours! At least we ended up with $300 leisure money that we used for Vallarta Adventure activities. A good thing to keep in mind just in case you do decide to attend, they aren't rude or off-putting if you decide not to commit, and you still get your leisure cash :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ybag214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My boyfriend and I took a short 4 day vacation at this resort June 21-24. It was amazing!!! i wish we could have stayed longer. The only thing i have to say is don't get roped into the unlimited vacation club lecture... they want you to put on a credit card $6,000 -$20,000. We said no and went on our way.
The resort is so beautiful, and very clean and well maintained! We've traveled a lot and I've never seen a staff clean so much, clean the pools every night and even were washing the glass canopy! We did upgrade to the preferred club, which was very nice- you get a private bar/snack food that is available all day long and its very good food! The bartenders knew our names and what we liked to drink after only one day! The pools were amazing, you could always find a chair and towel with ease. The drinks were so good, there was a "drink of the day" every day and it was different, the drinks were not watered down either. There are always activities going on at the resort. We kayaked with some friends we met there and did some archery. I would suggest to go to the Spa for sure its AMAZING!!!!! The food was amazing, every restaurant we went to had amazingly good food. The only suggestion i can give is just drink the house wine by the glass that's included but you have to to BUY a bottle of wine... Also the portions are actual normal size NOT American size, at every meal we both had an appetizer, entree, and dessert and we were full but not stuffed.
The beach is a little rocky but they are river type rocks so smooth but HOT in the sun!

We decided before we left that we would be going back and for a longer vacation. We cannot wait to visit the other resort locations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Destinee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Destinee Z,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and fellow travelers through TripAdvisor. It is very satisfying to know that we met every one of your expectations and provided you with a new experience every day, be it our array of top-shelf libations, our well rounded gourmet dining options or our well-appointed suites complimented by our pristinely kept facilities.

Secrets Vallarta Bay’s Unlimited-Luxury® concept in a league of its own; no towel card, no reservations necessary to specialty gourmet restaurants and no bracelets to hold you back from fully enjoying a stress free vacation where all you have to do is let yourself be pampered and focus on what is important, each other.

We regret that Unlimited Vacation Club gave you a less than adequate perception of their exclusive opportunities offered at AMResorts properties and are happy that this detail did not hinder your overall experience. Again, we thank you for taking the time, for your preference and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Driving up to the place from outside does not look like much, but the minute you step out from your car into the great view of the ocean under the sail canopy ,you will forget the rest of the flight and drive. The lobby is greatly decorated with a very comfortable feeling, specially there is a bar right there and a very relaxing open views to the resort grounds and the ocean, with infinity planter/ pools in front of you. Very romantic and sexy ,off course with the right person and drink! The reception desk and staff when you are checking in was a tad harsh, and pushy to upgrade you for more $, so watch out for that, but don't let it bother you. We had an all inclusive stay, and the room was just fine ,with a small balcony and a view with a Jaccuzie tub. The linen in the room and the hanging curtain with the open bath room area and the glass shower,just added a sense of romance and desires to our stay . The restaurants were very nice , specialy the breakfast buffet in the garden section with the greenery and the birds singing around you. The grounds were very well manicure and exotic with path ways between them with great flowering plants, that I enjoyed taking pictures of. Off course we were staying in the adults only section, so it was nice and tranquil , but we did not mind hearing the children laughter from the familys side pool. We had some lovely dinners, the food was above avrage, if not very good. The pool was asume with a wet bar and the beach was mercury brown because of the rainy season, but that did not bother us, as the water in the pool was a great temperature and clean. The rain was very beautiful ,as it gave us great sunsets and we enjoyed getting more wet in the pool , if that is possible! Sometimes , we just will sit in the lobby and drink while it was raining, or go to the the room and be romantic with a glass of champagne . The staff were very pleasant to us all of the time and friendly. We enjoyed the location too, as we could walk into shopping and restaurants in close proximity . The drinks and alcohol were of a premium qualities, which makes a huge difference to me ,even we are not much of drinkers. Over all, its a great place, and we had a great time. The hotel had some beach activities, and we went sailing on their inclusive Catamaran 16 feet boat. We watched the turtles come out at night and dig in the sand and lay their eggs. We also participated with the kids in releasing the new generations of turtles that hatched in the turtle nursery in the resort. Great fun for kids and adults alike!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barry684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Barry684,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and our readers. It is very rewarding to know that your stay was thoroughly enjoyed from the time you arrived to your suite on. Our well-appointed suites and surrounding facilities make your special rendezvous with your loved one an unforgettable experience which we hope repeats itself in the near future. We apologize for any inconvenience our front desk staff may have caused and are thrilled to know those who had the pleasure of being a part of your stay served as an example of the high quality of service and attention all of our valued guests can expect in their upcoming visit to Secrets Vallarta Bay.

Cordially.

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at Secrets Vallarta Bay from June 30 - July 5. Let me start by saying that the resort is beautiful! No matter which part of the resort you visit…the pools, the restaurants, the lobby, the bars, your room…every space is wonderfully decorated and the quality of architecture, workmanship and amenities is second to none. I’ve stayed at over a dozen all-inclusive resorts and would definitely rank this near the top. As with most of my reviews, I’ll attempt to break it down by category.

Rooms: We did not stay in the preferred section, but I’m not sure if that mattered much to us. Every room has a balcony facing the ocean, flat-screen TV, double sinks, Jacuzzi tub and huge shower. You can control the air conditioning. There’s plenty of closet and dresser space, an in-room safe and ironing board. The fridge was stocked daily with waters, beers, juices and sodas. If you’re traveling with friends and need two beds, I would highly suggest to put forth that request in advance.

Bars/Restaurants: We only ate at one ala-carte restaurant. It was the Mexican restaurant and it was awesome. They don’t serve what we consider traditional Mexican food, but nonetheless, it was great. For men, make sure you bring a pair of long pants and shoes other than flip flops, as most of the ala-carte restaurants have a strict dress-code policy. What’s awesome about this resort (among other things) is that you don’t need a reservation for any of the restaurants. No matter where we ate, the food was either very good or excellent. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from (as you can also eat at the restaurants at the attached sister resort...Now Amber). Room service food was so-so. The lobby bars were always full with friends you met during the day at the pool and served top-shelf liquor (Grey Goose, Don Julio, etc). The view from the lobby bars overlook the ocean and provide the best sunset experience. There’s a disco & bar that we visited almost every night. It’s hit or miss and really depends on the people that show up and those willing to get on the dance floor and have fun. The rest of the bars are located in or around the pool area. What’s nice is that during the day they have ice coolers set up where you can just walk up and help yourself to a variety of beers, waters and other drinks.

Pools: There are about 3-4 pools throughout the resort and each one has its own vibe. The pool closest to the Ocean is an infinity pool. There are also a few hot-tubs throughout. The pool bar is where we spent most of our time. The bartenders there were great. Special shout-out to Javier and Angel. The bar waiters were awesome! No matter where you were sitting, one of them would always be checking up on you to see if you wanted another drink. I can’t say enough how friendly these guys are. Thanks again to ‘Super’ Mario and Luis! You guys rock!

Entertainment: We only went to one show. It was the ‘Fire Show’ and it was really good. The theater is outside and is pretty cool. The talent was above what you’d expect, as I would guess that they contract it out. Since we stayed during the 4th of July, we were super impressed by what was provided. During the day, the pool was decorated with July 4th flags, colors, etc and the staff was dressed in red, white, and blue. It was cool to see that. At night, there was an unbelievable dinner buffet and show that was put on in the conference center. Later that night, there were even fireworks. Kudos to the entertainment staff!!!

Ocean: OK….if there was one downfall for me, it would be the ocean. Don’t expect aqua-blue water like you see in Cancun. The water is definitely darker and the sand is darker as well. Where this resort is located, it doesn't lend well to swimming in the ocean. It’s extremely rocky and the waves were often too rough to swim anyway. Plus, there are always vendors on the beach standing right in front staring back at the resort. I realize they’re there to make a living, but it just doesn't allow for you to walk near the beach without being asked to buy something. Either way, this really didn't ruin any part of our vacation, so take it for what it’s worth.

Staff: There’s no need for me to elaborate here. The bottom line….EVERYONE is AWESOME!!! Seriously! Everyone goes out of their way to help and everyone always has a smile on their face. Kudos to everyone there. They do a fantastic job to make you feel special.

If you book at Secrets Vallarta Bay, you will NOT be disappointed!!! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to take a short vacation. We booked through Cheap Carribean, and originally had gotten our rooms at the Now Amber but were moved to the Secrets part of the resort. I couldnt have been happier with this change. It was, first of all, adults only. As a young couple not wanting to hear about kids for a long time, this was perfect. The room was incredible, we had the garden view but we still had our view to the ocean. We also paid a little extra for the preferred luxury or whatever its called. Did i mention the room? Holy cow. Enormous, the size of his apartment, a gorgeous layout and a comfortable bed. Jacuzzi on our terrace, mini bar with jack daniels, bacardi rum, and finlandia as well as cokes and water and pringles and m&ms. they greeted us with champagne, and some moist towels to freshen up (i really didnt see the point of the towel) they took care of our bags, walked us down to the secrets preferred lobby. While I handled paperwork and logistics, my boyfriend ate and had some drinks. We were introduced to the buttons and gadgets of the room and headed straight to the pool. Drinks were great, food is great, restaurants are fantastic, the resort is so calm and relaxing and beautiful. I will definitely come back to this resort.

Notable staff:
Fermin, at barefoot grill.
Eloy, at barefoot grill.
Leon, preferred club bar.
Yoana (sp?), preferred club lobby.
Everyone that brough us room service at 3am (yes.. we were that couple, I am so sorry)
The tamarindo staff, although carne asada tacos are not on the menu they made it happen for my man, Thank you! (they do have live mariachi music so if you dont like this kind of vibe then you are better off elsewhere)

OH AND THE BREAKFAST my goodness it was fantastic DELICIOUS. PLEASE! If you see american food.. and then mexican food.. try the mexican food! Sopes... mexican beef in juice... chilaquiles.... yum tastes just like mommas.
I cant remember the names of our servers but they did great!

This resort was amazing. I could not have had a better choice of resort.
The hospitality, service, incredible. Everyone really takes the time to take care of you, and if you didnt have a great experience, then you should really reconsider your approach on things.

Room Tip: it probably didnt matter that we were preferred, but i loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Greetings Caro R,

We are beyond thrilled to know you enjoyed everything about your recent Unlimited-Luxury® experience. When occupancy allows us the opportunity to indulge our guests in complimentary upgrades to Secrets Vallarta Bay we happily do so. It is wonderful to hear that our romantic themed suites were perfect for you and your boyfriend and that you thoroughly enjoyed the individualized attention and upgraded amenities which can only be found in the highly sought after Preferred Club.

We thank you for taking the time of making special mention of those who made your stay particularly special, you can be sure their immediate supervisors will be apprised of their excellent work. Everyone sends their best and looks forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I do not even know where to begin. The wonderful hotel, my relaxing luxurious room, the breathtaking views and sunsets, the cleanliness of the entire resort, the best resort staff, the enticing delicious food, the wonderful entertainment, The best spa in the world, all the ammenities you will ever need is all right there at Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort. This is one trip where you will never want to leave the resort.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Glenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, Director General at Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Greetings Glenda,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your recent Unlimited-Luxury® experience at Secrets Vallarta Bay. Our dedicated staff always strives to make every moment a memorable one and we are glad that we reached our goal during your time with us. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the very near future.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing