We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We were very well looked after us for our silver wedding. restaurants all good and staff.made us feel welcome. Beach not great especially with traders there each day. special thanks to staff who helps us sort out out fishing trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennywren46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,196 - 2,202 of 3,475 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Secrets - great Hotel, everything you could wish for in a top class establishment. The room was excellent and spacious, mini bar topped up regularly. The quality and variety of food in all the restaurants was top notch, we particularly liked the market cafe and the banter with the friendly waiters. Himitsu, Tamarindo and Oceania all very nice, Bordeaux a bit overrated and overly formal. The drinks were of a good quality with premium brands available, just a pity that they put syrup instead of fruit juice in the cocktails - try a margharita in a downtown bar and you'll notice the difference! Don't alter the food menu - it's great, if Ken needs his bangers and beans he can find them in Llandudno!
Got to mention the staff - absolutely brilliant - I said I'd give you a mention guys, so here goes! -
Market Cafe breakfast team - Jose Regla, Heriberto, Ivan, Humberto, Martin, Cesar, Ricardo, Javier and the two Gerardo's - Ola and Gracias! Not forgetting Patricia who was at the door ready with a welcome smile. To the Market Cafe evening crew - Octavio,Carlos, Abraham and Ezequiel - Muy bien! Not forgetting Omar and his crew who work tirelessly in the heat to bring you your favourite drink by your deckchair and the excellent entertainment team who encourage you to take part but are never pushy. PLEASE tip these guys - what may seem minimal to you makes a huge difference to them. They rely on our tips to get by. I was shocked to find out how little they earn in a day.
You can spend two weeks in the Hotel and never leave the complex and have a great time OR you can get out and see a little bit of the place. You can go on organised trips with Thomson's or you can go independently and save a fortune! e.g. A trip to San Sebastian in the mountains( really recommend this ) costs 184 dollars for 2 people with thomsons, or you can hire a car for 3 days for 150 dollars!! and go at your own leisure - it's safe to drive, just watch out for the TOPE'S! You can visit the secluded bay at Yalapa - only accessible by boat - 224 dollars for 2 people with thomson's or you can catch a bus 20p into the old town or a taxi £5 then get a Water taxi ( its like a speedboat! brill ) to Yalapa - the cost 48 dollars return for 2 people!!!
If you like seafood, try Tino's in the old town , they do an excellent red snapper and crab tacos - and the margarhita's are done with a better quality tequila called Reposado. Try the Mango one. If you like surfing or just admiring a stunning bay go to Salyulita for a day.
If like us, your not likely to return again then I'd recommend getting out of the hotel and seeing a bit of the place, experience the peoples and the culture.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had originally booked a small boutique hotel fairly close by. We were so disappointed with the area we asked the taxi driver to take us straight to Secrets Vallarta Bay - toute suite. It was one extreme to another. Greeted by a cold compress and staff that couldn't do enough. Although we had originally decided to avoid ultra all inclusive. We ended up staying AI in a truly fantastic 5* hotel. Absolutely gorgeous room. Fantastic views of the Pacific by day and night. If you want to stay somewhere that you'll want to go back to before you have even left (like us), you've found it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevski280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Kevski280,

We are thrilled to have earned your praise and to welcome you to Secrets Vallarta Bay. It brings us much pleasure that our unique attention to detail and Unlimited-Luxury® concept which goes above and beyond the traditional All Inclusive brought you to enjoy a memorable and relaxing time away. We look forward to welcoming you again many times to pamper you over many holidays to come.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was our 5th visit to Mexico 1st to PV. Absolute mayhem on arrival at PV Airport hope you get a green light not red when you press the button. Reached hotel very quickly were greeted with ice cold flannel and glass of champagne greatly welcome. Rapid check in we were not approached about unlimited vacations possibly because we were British..
Room
First class room king size bed, jacuzzi, massive shower/wet room with both power and rain shower. Flat screen TV and docking station. Plenty of storage space. Fridge stocked daily with water, cola,sprite, juice and Corona. Coffee making facilities. Iron and ironing board in room. 2 large washbasins, huge mirrors. A selection of toiletries (no toothbrush or toothpaste). Excellent view from balcony overlooking pool and Banderas Bay.
Food
We found Bordeaux French Restaurant the best in the evening for food and service, also visited Capers Italian Restaurant but found service to be rushed. When several people came in at one time or there was a wedding party the waiters seemed to forgot who they had served or who they should serve next and the intimate ambience was lost. For breakfast we went to Carnival Now Amber side as Luis and Charlie Brown were real characters. As Thomson want British to fly to this part of Mexico the hotel needs to change its International menu to cater for British tastes eg no baked beans or fried mushrooms for breakfast although you could have mushrooms in an omelette. There were fried beans and sweet beans available even the waiters couldn't understand why latter were put out as nobody ate them and we're not true Mexican beans. Bacon was so crisp you had to use your fingers to eat it.In the evening Market Cafe and Carnival did not provide a good selection of potato items, not even chips for children on the menu Now Amber side. French fries were available at Grill house Pool Bar until 6pm. When one of the fine dining restaurants was closed this theme was adopted for the evening by Market Cafe or Carnival. There was a very attractive trolley of afternoon sandwiches and cakes put out daily in Rendezvous unfortunately they were not covered and dried out if not eaten quickly and also attracted flies maybe they could be covered in some way? Once a week there was a champagne party in Rendezvous.
Entertainment
There was always some kind of entertainment from shows to singers in bars nightly.
Location
Excellent easy to catch a bus or taxi to downtown PV and the Malecon and cheap. Even though you could see planes take off and land you couldn't hear them. Hotel right on beach sea was terrible waves at the shore kick up all the shingle and pebbles which makes it difficult to walk into the sea if a wave knocks you over you end up coming out heavier than you went in to the sea. There was always a lifeguard on duty. Plenty of water sports available and looks looks persons they didn't harass you a polite no thank you was enough if you wanted to look at something security escorted them to you or you could approach them outside the cordoned off area.
Thomson rep Agrita was amazing she always made herself available 6 days a week. The sunsets were tremendous. Wonderful hotel go and see for yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view for older traveller have room beginning with 1300 reception level easy to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 797Kenagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

797Kenagain,

Greetings from Secrets Vallarta Bay! Thank you for taking the time to share with fellow travelers your recent experience at our resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and are eager to make improvements kindly mentioned so that you future stay is more enjoyable. Our guests are our experts and we appreciate your input. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I am writing this as I sit on the veranda of our room 1900 , first of all the staff of this hotel are amazing they all go that extra mile for you and we have only been here 2 days .
The food is amazing so much to choose and drinks plenty .
When we arrived and got to our room the was a bottle of champagne on ice and a beautiful bath drawn as we had been travelling 12 hours in all , but the flight on the Thompson deamliner was amazing as we traveled premium class I have never eaten so much food and the cabin staff could not do enough for you.back to the hotel I have never seen such big waves at least 6 feet you can't swim init as I think it is to rough and there is a lifeguard on the beach to stop
you going in .I would recommend this hotel as it has everything you could wish for you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn for a bed either .their are people on the beach who sell stuff but they are not allowed to come in the complex so no bother .

Room Tip: High foor for amazing sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank warfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Warfran,

We thank you for your kind words as you begin to enjoy your luxury experience. It is the best of satisfactions to know your special welcoming made you feel at home and relaxed from the moment you arrived. We are also glad to hear our resort amenities, and facilities are to your liking and ask that you please continue to enjoy all of the Unlimited-Luxury® we have prepared for you. We know you have traveled far to enjoy our beautiful resort and wish you the most relaxing and memorable stay for you both. We sincerely look forward to much more on your future visits.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was out first experience with an All Inclusive resort, so I truly have nothing to compare the Secrets resort with any other all inclusive resorts in PV/Mexico.

The hotel is very trendy/modern looking, but complimentary to the surroundings. You immediately feel relaxed. The lobby has a great view of Banderas Bay and the sunsets are as you would expect, amazing.

We chose to upgrade to a Suite with a pool on the terrace. It was well worth the upgrade, a huge room with an amazing bathroom, living room, dining area, large master bedroom with a very comfortable king size bed and of course you own private pool (big enough for 4-6 people).

While I would like to review each restaurant on property individually, that would take forever. Here's the condensed version. The breakfast is great. Lunch is so-so. And Dinner, well let's just say that we did not have a memorable meal during out 6 day stay. I mean the Minestrone soup in the Mexi-Talian restaurant had angel hair pasta in it. The french restaurant was way too formal for what the resort was. And the food was not good, very bland and without seasoning.
That really sums up the resort dining, bland, without seasoning.

Now onto the pool and drinks. Good pool, weak drinks. Order the beer, but if you must have a cocktail, order a double or triple and make sure you tip as that will get you a bit more in your pour.

Overall a very friendly, beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank NYer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stunning views on all locations of this resort! Excellent food, amazing views at the Oceana restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Very entertaining and attentive staff thorough out the resort.
Preferred rooms are absolutely amazing and highly recommended. The room amenities, your own private patio jacuzzi/tub and preferred lounge are well worth the efforts.
Try dinner at the Asian restaurant and enjoy table side cooking, and the fried ice cream is the most delicious we've ever tasted. Buffet-style breakfast at the Market restaurant is a great way to start your day.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Michelle B,

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure hosting you and sharing our gourmet dishes, top-shelf refreshments and of course, our dynamic staff. Our well-appointed suites equipped with upgraded amenities in Preferred Club will surround you in state of the art luxury. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
5.7 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,937 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
551 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
759 reviews
0.0 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,946 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta

Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico (Formerly Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £199 - £702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing