We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We just got home from a week at Now Amber (mid December 2013) This was our 2nd visit to this resort. This resort is very close to the airport (15 min cab ride) and close to downtown, marina, etc. We had 4 rooms - all in the preferred club of Now Amber. We were traveling with our three daughters and their husbands and 3 grandchildren. The resort itself is very clean, the staff is extremely friendly and the food is consistently good. The only reason I gave it a very good rating instead of an excellent is that their housekeeping staff needs help. Our rooms were made up late in the day and most nights the turndown service was too late and we ended up putting up our do not disturb before they got to our room. One of our daughters said they came to her room at 10:00 p.m. Turn down should be done while people are out to dinner, which leads me to believe that their housekeeping staff is most likely shorthanded. Overall though this is a very nice resort and the above complaint is certainly something they can fix.

Our granddaughter went to the Explorers Club most days and absolutely loved it. Three of the gals that were there last year were still there and remembered her by name, which really made her feel special. Most times when it was time to go she didn't want to leave, which speaks for itself!

Room Tip: My husband and I had the ocean front swim out master suite and loved this room. It was a great plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    619
    199
    70
    45
See reviews for
1,149
912
41
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We just returned from our week in paradise at Now Amber and can't wait to return. Our room was beautiful, immaculate and had an amazing view of the pools, beach and ocean. The food, especially at Capers and Bordeaux, was excellent. The entire staff was extremely welcoming, helpful and "good looking"!!

We spent most of our time luxuriating at one of the three pools. The gorgeous grounds and pools were very well maintained. The daily aqua aerobics and other pool activities were fun and entertaining! The highlight of our poolside experiences, however, was our fabulous waiter, Jorge, who was unbelievably attentive, warm and gracious! He made us feel so special, always serving us our favorite pina coladas-- and suggesting other delicious drinks--with a big smile and so much pleasure! He also brought us our daily lunch of the best guacamole and chips! Jorge treats the resort guests as though we were his personal friends; a genuine quality that made our vacation at Now Amber exceptional!

See you next year,
Ina & Royce W.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The property and staff are outstanding. The pools and pool areas are immaculate and cleaned daily. The hotel rooms are suburb; A/C worked perfect. Been to numerous all inclusive resorts and found Amber to have the best food among them all. The poor housekeeping staff are totally overworked. We were chasing them down every day to get new towels and new items for our room. We would return to this resort in a heartbeat.

Walk out of the gate to the left and you will find numerous massage places. We used the second one with the tent outside. Better service than 5 star hotels in the states!

Room Tip: We didn't upgrade to a swim-out and/or the preferred club and we never felt that we missed anyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We just got back from our visit to Now Amber and boy what a great vacation it was. Do not hesitate to make this your vacation destination. I had not traveled to Mexico before or stayed at an all inclusive. The service was perfect. They looked after your every need. The food was excellent at every restaurant. I just can't say enough about this trip. We spent most days by the pool being served delicious drinks by friendly attentive people who made your stay a pleasure.

The room was so comfortable we could sleep with the patio door open and listen to the ocean all night. With the ceiling fan on all night we slept like babies. There was none of the too hot or cold with the air conditioning running all the time like in most hotels. We ordered room service for breakfast and ate on our patio most mornings watching the sun rise and the hotel come to life.

I have never been to a resort where the people are so friendly. Every single person we came in contact with was friendly and did their best to make sure you had a wonderful time. I could go on and on but to sum it up.....we are planning a trip back next year. I can see why people become regulars.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 9th floor in an ocean view Jr. suite. We had a jaw dropping view of the sunset a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Rita F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent great experience at Now Amber . It was our pleasure being your hosts and are thrilled to know you found everything to your liking. Our staff is always happy to welcome and share our resort along with the beauty and history of Puerto Vallarta with our valued guests. The weather was just perfect during your stay and our well-appointed suites make for the best seat in the house to watch the resort and surrounding nature. We welcome you to the Now Amber family and look forward to welcoming you again next year to envelope you in Unlimited-Luxury® again.

Sincerely,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Was at the Now Amber in PV in Jan 2013. This is the second review about this resort. I will be back in 3 weeks, which probably says a lot about how I like it; however, few items were better on my first visit. We were at the resort for a wedding, unlike our first trip, which was a family outing.

As we were there for a wedding, many of us arrived at the same time. The Now Amber Preferred tower had one concierge to help over 10 of us. The check in procedure took a long time. Fortunately, Beni the bartender was there to make us feel welcome (He did make some great martinis). One other staff member was there but told us he was busy doing other things while 10 of us awaited check in.

The hotel rooms were still nice and the property still looked as good as a year ago. The staff was great at any location around the property. The restaurants were still as good as previously reviewed.

I did find that the entertainment staff had changed and did not see them as much. Back in Jan 13, the staff was very interactive and got people going. Barely saw them this time. On my previous visit, the entertainment staff also had few nights where they would go in town with hotel guest. I did not see that on my visit this time.

The property was much busier than last year. Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday was very difficult to get a chair around the pool. The same 3 days was also difficult to get into a restaurant. Thursday on, the resort got a lot quieter and was easier to get into any restaurants.

As mentioned above, we were there for a wedding. This place went above and beyond what any of us expected. The service was outstanding. The reception was in a secluded area behind Castaways, on the Secrets side. I cannot say enough good things about how they took care of the Bride and Groom’s needs. During the supper, I could barely put my glass down before it was refilled.

One of the things that impressed me the most on my first visit in January 13 was when all the Kitchen staff came out from different restaurants. They had bite size appetizer and walked around the property to get people to taste the food from various restaurants. They even had 2 chefs fully dressed, walked right into the pool by the Manatees bar and started to serve people some sushi. Very original and people loved it. Unfortunately, they did not repeat this on my last visit.

I generally used the Manatees, Preferred and Lobby bar. The Lobby bar had some incredible staff (Thanks Leon and Veronique) and quickly learned what was your preferred drink. The selection was good at the lobby and Manatees (Stoli or Absolut for Vodka). The Preferred had Grey Goose and Kettle one. Unfortunately, the Scotch selection was limited entry level.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Preferred Tower if you want to be close to the pool and not have to walk to far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hom409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our stay in March 2013 exceeded our expectations. This was our first family AI trip to Mexico, following a number of couple only trips to Cabo and Riviera Maya. PVR, and NOW Amber, won us over! The resort features gorgeous Pacific and mountain views. Close to the Malecon for a quick afternoon trip, and the ride from the airport is fast...15 minutes, at most. Of course, the resort is new, impeccable and gorgeous. Moreover, we were continually impressed by the excellent poolside service, particularly Gustavo. He was always prompt, yet personal enough to know exactly what we wanted at the perfect times. Highly personable, genuinely kind-hearted, and wonderful with our kids. Gustavo literally made our trip full of ultimate relaxation and fun with our kids. Our kids still ask about him! We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goharego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My family, and I spent a lovely week at the Now Amber for my sisters wedding. Check in was a breeze. We stayed in the preferred club. which has it's own buffet, and waiter. This made check in wonderful because we were all starving after the flight. The rooms are beautiful! We had two a-joining because we were travelling with our three children. the preferred club rooms have jacuzzi tubs on the balcony. The rooms also have an added bonus of razors, toothbrush/paste, shaving foam, sunblock (spf15), pringles, M&M's, mini bar. The a la carte restaurants were all really, really good. But the buffet was just so, so. a plus is that they don't need reservations (except the japanese one) if you have children there is two kids clubs the explorers for the younger kids. and the core for ages 13, and up. I've been to other resorts where the kids club staff were way more cheerful. And my children loved going! This kids club they weren't really interested in. Right outside the hotel gates to the left there's a place where you can get a wonderful hour deep tissue massage for only $25!! it's a $6.00 taxi ride to the malecon from the hotel. It's also $6.00 to walmart. the pools were great! our waiter Jorge was really great! he always went above, and beyond! There really wasn't much for entertainment at this resort. Which was kind of disappointing. The beach is clean, but very rocky. We are ocean lovers, but I would only allow my kids to swim in the pools because of the large rocks being ripped around by the waves. There really are that many dislikes about this resort. I would definitely recommend it had a great time! Any questions feel free to ask!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.0 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#38 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,435 reviews
2.9 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,609 reviews
8.8 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Property: Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing