We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Santa Maria(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Royal Los Tules(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ambassador Suites(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Costa Club Punta Arena(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,205)
Filter reviews
3,205 results
Traveller rating
2,059
767
235
82
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,059
767
235
82
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspreferred clubcarnival buffetcastaways restauranthealing handsentertainment teamswim up barexplorers clubkids clubcoco cafebarefoot grillpreferred buildingfrench restaurantdress codeocean viewturn down serviceunlimited vacation clubkids pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,142 - 2,147 of 3,205 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We just returned from a 7 day-6 night stay at the NOW AMBER! It was amazing! Our room and the view were spectacular and the food delicious! My husband and I got a couples massage at the Spa and Raul and Erika were fantastic! We loved our bartenders and waitstaff poolside (thank you Carlos) and the servers in the Carnival Buffet were so attentive! We wanted to give a special thank you to our breakfast servers, Abraham and Osvaldo!! They made us feel like family! (and there were 18 of us so it wasn't easy)! Thanks for creating such an amazing Resort!! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Our friends had the swim up rooms and they were stunning! We were on the 15th floor (top) and our view of the ocean and the pools was unbelievable!!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My sister got married at this hotel in December 2013, the hotel is amazing and the service was one of the best. Gustavo andalon by the pool bar by far was our favorite waiter. the drinks and food at this hotel was amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lsingh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Now Amber from Dec 23-Jan 9th. We really enjoyed the resort. We are a family of 5 and had connecting rooms ocean view. Rooms were new and modern and always clean. Great views of sunsets at night and saw dolphins swimming most mornings as we had coffee on our deck. Service was very good at restaurants and pool. Our favorite restaurant was the Italian with Rosa as the host and Manuel and Roberto as waiters. Gustavo and Leonardo were excellent poolside waiters always making sure we had everything we need. We will be returning to The Secrets side of the resort in February. We look forward to another great trip this time without our kids :)
I would definately recommend this resort. There is something for everyone here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy_5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked this resort as our Honeymoon trip and the beginning of a new life. We had a wonderful experience at this resort from the moment we check in to the time we checked out and all the staff at this resort goes above and beyond there expectations to make sure the guests have a wonderful time.

To begin with we arrived a day late due to a miss-connection in Los Angeles and when discussed this issue with the hotel manager, they went above their duty to get in contact with Expedia and work out a solution so we get our full 7 days at this resort at no extra charge even though we checked in a day late which would make it only a 6 night stay according to the original booking. It took a few hours but the hotel manager was patient and helpful to get this resolved, and instead of making us wait they had us sent to our suite to begin our vacation.

When we got to the room, we were welcomed with a bottle of champagne with fresh fruits and they had rose petals all over the bed with a huge welcoming sign which said Honeymooners. The Now amber is connected to the all adult Secrets Resort and is relatively BIG. The grounds are relatively new & kept spotless w/ detailed to cleanliness, I saw workers around the clock working to keep the resort clean and spotless. The grounds were beautiful with plants and trees.
Resort location - The resort is approximately 20 min cab ride from PVR airport located south of Nuevo Vallarta and the entire drive to the resort is through the town, with stores, restaurants, bars, Clubs, malls and a lot of other neat stuff to see and do. The people in the town are friendly and it’s safe to be out in town any time from what we experienced.

Check In - Check in at this hotel was excellent, Helped by Carlos & within minutes we were on our way to our assigned our, we were given a swim out room on the main floor with a Jacuzzi within the bedroom and really close to the main swimming pool and the beach. The beds were really comfy and room was decorated to welcome us as honeymooners.

Staff - We found the staff at now amber to be excellent, really friendly disposition of all the servers and other employees more than made up for this. Especially commendable were the beach attendants who constantly came back around for rounds of drinks for us and the maids who did a wonderful job every day with room service and turn down. The weather was sunny most of the days besides one or two days when it rained but it was clear before you know it. The entertainment staff was incredible always kept every one entertained and involved in activities.

Food - The morning buffet at Now amber was really excellent. It is hard to keep a buffet interesting for 21 straight meals, but the cooks did a great job of mixing it up. Especially notable was the variety of dishes, which seemed to change almost every day especially for breakfast since at night time we would eat at one of the speciality restaurants within resort.

Beach - the beach at now amber is narrow since its connected to Secrets Resort. There is really just room for a few beach chairs and a volleyball court before the sand slopes off to the waves. The surf here is really strong at times which makes it near impossible to swim in the ocean but the water was nice and warm to get into and make sure you wear sandals since a lot of rocks and pebbles were present at this beach compared to Caribbean beaches.

Rooms - Rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Each room had a balcony and we had booked a swim out room along with a Jacuzzi which was in our bedroom. Wonderful ocean view rooms if you stay on a higher floor.

Spa – We booked a body exfoliation and a 45 min massage in the hotel spa which was a perk we received with our honey moon package and it was once of the best experience I have ever had, however if someone wants something more reasonable, there is a massage place literally right outside the resort doors calling Healing hands which charges $25 for an hour massage, and that was worth the money as well since we experience both the spa and the massage at Healing hands.

The lobby at this hotel was always busy day or night, every day people would go and watch the sunset sitting in the lobby and enjoy a few drinks. If you get a chance, make sure try out some of the excursion, we did an excursion to Los Celestas, Rhyme of the night and the best of them all was the Outdoor adventure it was worth the money spent and we got a deal where we booked two excursions and got the 3rd one free.

We made a trip into Puerto Vallarta town one day and it was wonderful, a lot of shops to visit and restaurants to eat local food along with some neat souvenirs to be bought, make sure you spend a day in town, its old but really neat to walk around and experience the local Mexican life.
All in all, we rate now amber 5 out of 5, a well-deserved score. Everything from food to service was well above our expectation. Would definitely visit again but will try Secrets Resort next time.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have the best Ocean view.. Wonderful Sunsets at the Lobby Bar!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ajaz_K007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our family just returned from a week at Now Amber and had a fabulous time. The resort is situated nicely only about 10" away from the airport and 10" from center of town.. Check-in was smooth and our room was ready on time; we stayed in the main (non-Preferred) building. (My in-laws who were travelling with us stayed in the preferred building; they liked having the lobby-area food and "personal" bar nice but otherwise, the rooms are identical except tor the preferred side having an outdoor whirlpool). We thought the restaurant selection was excellent with only one (Himitsu) requiring reservations; the buffet food/selection was quite good as well. Outdoors, there is plenty of poolside space and chairs available; the activity staff is very good and there is lots to participate in, if one wants to. The whirlpool area was initially occupied constantly by kids, despite signage, but towards the end of the week, there were only adults in it so I imagine someone complained to the staff. The beachfront is narrow but there are, again, plenty of chairs with palapas. As noted in other posts, the ever-present beach hawkers are a bit annoying, but a simple "no gracias" and they leave you alone. If you wish to wade/swim into the ocean, would advise bringing water shoes as the small rocks that are there are slippery and hurt a few folks that were not aware of their presence. I have to give a special shout-out to the kids' club staff and program; our 7 year-old had a great time with them. The kids club is available from 10am to 9:30 pm each day (until 11 pm on Fridays) which allows the grown-ups to go to one of the adult-only restaurants if desired. Our 11 1/2 year-old son enjoyed their programs as well, but it is best designed for the slightly younger set. The service overall is really excellent throughout the resort and we were overall very satisfied with our stay and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Lobby level (3rd floor) can be loud due to nightly musicians until 11pm.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoyadoc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews