We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Now Amber hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay at Now Amber hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

First time visiting PV , but I stayed here with my wife for a wedding. We only stayed 3 nights but overall the hotel was very clean and the rooms (we stayed in a junior suite) were fantastic. Double sinks, walk in shower and tub. Would definitely come again. Food was good too. My only issues were the gym wasn't all that great in terms of availability of free weights/machine and that the swimming pools were closed after 7PM even though there was still plenty of light.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JT_NYC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,759
    615
    197
    69
    45
See reviews for
1,143
908
41
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a Family Reunion vacation with a total of 19 adults and 4 kids. The resort was absolutely AMAZING! The pools were great, and the view from the resort was ASTONISHING! Our group would love to spend nights after dinner in the lobby overlooking the ocean. The rooms were clean and housekeeping did an amazing job in keeping the room clean twice a day! It was tough getting to and from our suites because one out of 3 elevators weren't working and another elevator had a overweight alarm issue. Our rooms were on the top (15th) floor so it would take a while to get to the 3rd floor (lobby) or 1st floor (pools and restaurants). The service from the entire hotel staff was great! They easily recognized our group after the first day! Overall, this resort exceeded our expectations. We will definitely stay at their other resorts around the Caribbean. WE DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS RESORT!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nabeel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the moment you arrive to the hotel Now Amber in Puerto Vallarta, you feel at home. Talk about customer service. Extraordinary, Excellent, Magnificent and wonderful. I would definitely go back to the hotel again. The quality of food was very good, great level of service, very friendly people. The hotel is beautiful and very elegant. It really doesn't matter if you stay at the Secrets or at the Now, they both offer a lot , and they both are incredibly beautiful. The view from the lobby its unique and incredible. I strongly recommended this hotel to anyone that wants a great experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was the first time we had travelled to the Pacific Coast of Mexico following 6 previous holidays in Cancun and Riviera Maya. Now Amber is a 5 star hotel and it was the odd little things that proved it. Nothing was too much trouble, my daughter wanted French fries instead of mashed potatoes with her steak, no problem, we wanted our room cleaned in the morning instead of the afternoon, no problem, etc. The staff are incredibly attentive everywhere and we actually tipped more than we have done in previous hotels where tips ensured better service. The towels are laid out on the sun beds, of which there are plenty, so there was no worry about losing your towel card and paying $50 if it was misplaced. There were some young children but there is a separate pool for them and they didn't bother us at all. We also didn't get bothered by the timeshare people, an invitation was put on our door which we just ignored and that was it. The beach vendors have a roped off line that they are not meant to cross and although we were sat between the pool and the sea and had to walk through them to go in the sea, they were fine with a no, thank you.

The food in the 'proper restaurants' as opposed to the buffet is wonderful (and I am a fussy eater), the buffet in the evening is less impressive (but good quality still) in that it tries to be all things to all people and we only used it occasionally. The sea is a little rocky but no worse than Riviera Maya last year and it was very warm. We only saw one show as we stayed in the restaurants every evening, drinking wine and chatting, and missed them! It is the rainy season at the moment and we had a few overcast days but it was in the evening that we had some quite spectacular thunderstorms and so they weren't a big problem. I saw a few dolphins in the bay but apparently Dec-March is the time to go if you want to see lots of whales and dolphins at close quarters.

We did do some scuba diving but that is run by a franchise, if you have any queries about that, please message me directly or even if you have any other questions I will be happy to try and answer.

I would highly recommend this hotel, very impressive!

Room Tip: Above 3rd floor for a proper sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We would stay at Now Amber again in a heartbeat! This was our first experience with an all-inclusive resort, and we certainly were not disappointed!

The incredible service began the moment we stepped off our shuttle from the airport and were greeted by a large group of resort staff kindly welcoming us with cold wet towels and champagne. Bell hops were right there to find out which luggage was ours so they could take it to our rooms for us.

Check-in was quick and easy. We did meet for about 10 minutes with a hotel rep in order to receive our $200 in coupons for "extra" hotel amenitites (spa, private dinners, "fancier" bottles of wine, etc), which we never did use. She tried to pursuade us to attend the vacation club presentation, which we passed on.

The only really negative experience we had with the resort occurred when we actually got to our room, which smelled very strongly of mildew. Within a half hour after speaking with someone at the front desk, we were set up in a new room on the top floor, which was beautiful and mildew-free. I will note that a couple days later, when friends of ours arrived, they were put in the same mildewy room and had a more difficult time moving into a new one.

The resort is gorgeous, particularly the lobby bar area and pool area. The pool area is huge, with about 3-4 pools (one with a nice swim-up bar!) and a whirlpool. We spent a ton of time by the pool, relaxing and taking part in the constant activities that were going on (blackjack/poker, crazy pool games, tequila tasting, etc). You could choose to be as involved or not involved as you pleased. There was always something to do! The pools were pristine, well-kept, and there were always servers around to bring you drinks. A couple buffets of food were set up poolside for you to grab whatever you wanted to eat during the day, along with a grill to-order. We had a couple very nice lunches poolside at Castaways as well.

We were a little disappointed with the beach area, which as some others have mentioned on here, is extremely rocky. It actually hurt my feet to go out into the water, so I did not stay in too long. The beach is also full of vendors who stand there all day long and are very aggressive, but there seems to be a clear line they can't cross to the chairs.

I was a little weary of the quality of food after hearing some reviews of other all-inclusive resorts, but this was not an issue at Now Amber. We had amazing dinners at the Italian, Japanese, and French (at Secrets) restaurants, as well as plenty of good options at Castaways and the Carnivale buffet. As with many buffets, some items were just "okay"...some were really good. The buffet did a Mexican night that was delicious!

Drinks were in abundance, although often, mixed drinks were not poured very strongly. Just ask for a double. Liquor brands were premium, with even more options at Secrets and the Preferred Club bar. Surprisingly, they give shots too! It was also fun to drink cervezas and water out of our room's mini bar and not get charged for it! There also was a cute coffee shop with many offerings and snacks throughout the day.

Nighttime was a little chill around the resort, which was fine by me. There was a show of some kind every night (Fire was our favorite) and live musicians in the lobby bar area. We did go to the nightclub one night, which was attractive, but there weren't too many people there.

We were able to book our excursions at the hotel through the AmFar/Apple rep, who gave us the same 3 for the price of 2 deal we saw on Vallarta Adventures' website (Las Caletas is a MUST!!!). Additionally, we were able to grab a 50 cent bus about a block away from the resort to take a fun trip downtown. It's quick, safe, and cheap!

The best compliment I can give is to the employees at Now Amber. The service was impeccable everywhere we went. The porters, restaurant servers, bartenders, concierge...these are the people responsible for making our experience at this beautiful resort as special as it was. Please remember to tip them if you are happy with their service. My understanding is that they receive very low wages, and these tips make a world of difference to them. Mostly, they truly deserve it!

Room Tip: Higher floors seemed more quiet with even nicer views. Stay away from 1953 - it has a mildew problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VioletP756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

What's not to like about the NOW Amber Resort in Puerto Vallarta. I recently returned June 28th from a week of fun and relaxation. I traveled with my two daughters, ages 20 and 23. We loved this resort! Here's why....

Check in/Out-quick and efficient

Room- stayed in the Preferred Club Section, 4th floor with plenty of space, full bathroom with Jacuzzi and shower. Greatest amenity free calls to the US (land line, not cell) and 24 hour room service

Restaurants-three A La Cartes that we enjoyed, Capers (Italian), Tamarindo (Mexican), Himitsu Adults only with the Tepanyaki table

Pools/Beach-loved that there were plenty of chairs with towels rolled on each chair to indicate that it was available. Yes, no towel cards or even towel hut. Used towels were placed in a towel bin with several located throughout the pool/beach areas

Entertainment /Staff-loads of fun-filled activities during the day and evening. We enjoyed the beach and pool area with staff like Leonardo and Gustavo who kept the drinks coming. They were full of energy and very accommodating. Shout out to Senorita Irma, our Spanish instructor. She went out of her way daily to say hello while we were there. The evening shows were enjoyable also. We really loved the Fire and Pre-Historic Shows

Lastly-visit the Secrets next to the NOW to eat at the Bordeaux. The food was excellente! You will need a reservation and it's adults only but boy was that food goooooood!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My friend and i just came back from a short trip to PV. Since this is our first time in Mexico, we were so lucky to have booked this hotel. We simply couldn't believe the professionalism and energy of the staff. Everyone was beyond friendly and fun.
Special thanks to the Entertainment team!! Especially Jesus, I have never met anyone so genuine and multi-talented. There is simply nothing this man can't do! His amazing attitude and enthusiasm was brighter than the blazing sun of Mexico. Jesus! You're the best! You truly made us feel at home.
Rafael was also one of the sweetest guy ever. His bright and charming smile and up-lifting personality was nothing but a cherry on top to our trip. He was very attentive during all the activities and we always looked forward to seeing his big smily face all the time! It's contagious! :)
Irma simply hosted the best water aerobic class! We never failed to get the best workout with Irma leading the classes. Super fun. Truly a strong lady full of energy!
And last and not least, Ricardo...what a guy! This man defiantly knows how to charm a lady! Ricardo was fun and lively and he never failed to make us laugh and feel special.

Overall, our stay was simply beyond amazing. The staff definitely made it ever harder for us to say goodbye. We only came back from our trip yesterday and I miss it so much already. I will most definitely stay at Now Amber again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Silky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.0 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
2.9 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,592 reviews
8.8 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Property: Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing