We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #17 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Last minute trip to PVR with 2 of our 3 kids, and what a fantastic stay at Now Amber. Staff met us as we stepped out of the cab with Champagne and cool towels. Check in was very quick and we were given a lovely double bedded ocean view room on the 8th floor. (Ocean view double is the category I booked). Room was plenty large for the 4 of us with huge Jacuzzi tub and separate shower and double vessel sink.
The resort is the family friendly, Now Amber on one side, and all adult Secrets on the opposite side. Now's pools (one with a rock slide, one with a swim up bar), all wonderful! Excellent location maybe 15 minutes from the airport, which is why we opted for a taxi...very quick and inexpensive.
Food was absolutely wonderful at all the a la carte restaurants we dined in. Asian twice, Mexican once, and Italian once. Lunch, we opted for the grill with good hamburgers, fries, hot dogs....your basic grill food and they had another buffet style area outside with more authentic food, also good.
Entertainment, very nice....really enjoyed the fire show!!
Plenty of beach loungers on the beach and same with loungers around the pool. Do recommend getting your prime local early on as they do fill up quickly by mid morning. If you don't want direct sun all day, there are plenty of umbrellas around the pool and palapas on the beach. Sand here gets hot during the mid summer months so bring your beach shoes!!
Activities are plentiful with volleyball (they hose down the sand), pool games, large chess board and the kids club and their staff are OUTSTANDING!! Our 6 year old had plenty of options to choose from and had a wonderful time.
We had a late flight on the return and the staff was more than kind to hold our luggage after check out, while we enjoyed the remainder of our stay by the pool. They confirmed us a hospitality room (we requested this) which allowed us all showers before we needed to depart for the airport.
Wonderful time and very much recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,782 - 1,788 of 3,034 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here June 6-13 and this was our 2nd vacation at the Now Amber and we loved it as much this time as we did the first visit. For this trip we stayed in the Preferred Club and the service and food there was just incredible. Our stay was made even better by the service we received from the Preferred Club staff especially Benny, who my wife wanted to take home with us! Our room was clean, comfortable & had a great view. The Jacuzzi on the balcony is a nice touch but I only used it once, the first night. Once again our favorite restaurant was the Bordeaux where we were welcomed back by name (our first visit was Dec 2012) and were treated like royalty by the staff especially Juan, Roberto (sommelier) and Alondra. The food was excellent and the service incredible. We also thoroughly enjoyed the Himatsu where we booked the Teppanyaki. Here again we met waiters from our first trip and they not only remembered us but also our names. Thank you Jorge & Ezekiel for making it a night to remember. We are so impressed by the Carnival and the food it has to offer for breakfast & lunch and again the professional staff especially Cindy and the little hostess whose name I forget. We also ate at the Tamarindo, where we find the menu somewhat limited, Castaways, which we enjoyed more for lunch than dinner and Capers, where they are willing to make you spaghetti and meat sauce the way you like it.
We are definitely big fans of the Now Amber and will return again. One disappointment was that guests at the Now can no longer use the Secrets bar and dinner reservations for Secret's restaurants must be made thru the concierge well in advance. We did also find the weather to be too hot at this time of the year and our next visit will be Dec-Feb time.
Thank you once again Now Amber staff for making our vacation special once more!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this property at the last minute, we were told upon booking we could request the Sandals next door or Now Amber upon arrival. They said they had no availability in Sandals and so we took Now Amber which was very nice. We did tour Sandals a bit later and wish they had put us in there as it was an Adult crowd, lots of action at Happy Hour, nice quiet places to tan, nice beach! At the Now Amber the rooms were very nice, our view was great. The meals were average to good, have stayed at better, have stayed at worse. The issue with the adult pool/bar was that it was overcrowded with young kids. Then of course with the pool games for the adults, there were always a million kids trying the games as well and that just got annoying as well as not understanding why the parents would put their kids in the bar pool which was obviously games for the adults, there were other "kids" pools I felt they should have been hanging in. Checked with Air Canada when we got home, as we were going to recommend this to other friends but NOT if this is standard. Well apparently it IS standard and they are not changing it despite getting a lot of feedback on that topic. They said we should have asked for Sandals, which we did so kind of the left hand not knowing what the right hand is doing!! Other than that it is a really nice resort especially if you are taking your kids!!

Room Tip: A room facing the ocean forsure but it kind of looked like they all faced the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HauserCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a family vacation of 25 people. The resort did a great job handling this amount of people all arriving togrther and departing together. My only complaint was the AC. In almost every place including the rooms it was practically non existent. It was July and very hot and humid with virtually no breeze.
The beds were fantastic. Food was good for an all inclusive.

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DianeF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely modern hotel, newly constructed & very clean & well maintained. The rooms are spacious & well appointed. Room safes are free of charge (as they should be, but so often aren't). There are plenty of sunbeds & an unending supply of clean beach towels - better still there's no messing around with deposits & vouchers etc, the towels are left neatly rolled on all sunbeds every morning & in neat stacks around the pool area - it's great.

Great not having to wear wristbands. In theory there's no reservation system for any of the restaurants, but you may be asked to return half an hour later etc during busy times. The hotel prints activity sheets daily, 1 day ahead which are left in your room each evening or you can pick up at breakfast from the main buffet restaurant. These tell you which restaurants are closed the following day, & what activities are on around the pool area & the kids club etc.

Used the kids club once as my daughter liked the look of the activities. Facilities are very good. They give you a plastic disc which is supposed to light up when your child wants you to go & get them. After a few hours I couldn't quite believe it hadn't lit up, so went to see how she was getting on. I then discovered she'd asked twice to leave & they hadn't bothered setting it off.... Needless to say she never went back!

Beach is OK but you'll be disappointed if you're expecting it to compare with caribbean destinations - lots of pebbles in the ocean with a very strong current. Not really suitable for swimming & unpleasant to paddle. Also there are lots of beach vendors peddling their wares. If you say no thanks they don't hassle you further (that day) but be aware that they're on the beach from around 9:30-5:30 constantly, set up with their large parasols etc & form a barrier between the hotel & the ocean. At the end of the day all beaches are public so nobody can stop them from doing this. Kayaks are available from the hotel at no charge - nice for a change & we were lucky enough to see turtles.

We found most of the hotel staff to be very helpful, particularly in Castaways on a lunch time - evenings not so good, but different staff on duty. The food in the Italian restaurant was pretty good but the service at times was incredibly slow. Really enjoyed Tamarind, the Mexican offering: Mariachi bands were excellent, food good, service varied from excellent to fair (ironically the best service was on the busiest night!).

Food & drink wise, a pretty good offering overall. The cafe at the back of the lobby is a nice touch if you fancy a coffee & also serves light bites, cakes & biscuits (& the girls are always very pleasant).

Overall an enjoyable stay - Now Amber have pretty much got it right. However, our holiday was somewhat spoiled the day before we left when my husband's Raybans were stolen from around the pool. Pretty sure it was hotel staff but obviously can't prove it. When reported at reception hotel staff were neither surprised nor bothered & declined to even record the incident (in case someone honest handed them in!) Disappointing end to our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank JASUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were very sad to leave this great resort as there weren't many faults (bar the scuba diving which is another matter...) My family and I have been to Mexico seven times and it was safe to say that we have never experienced such outstanding food and service. It was like dining in a 5* restaurant every night! We ended up having such fun in their that we missed the shows most nights, however the one we did get to see (fire performance) was fantastic! The staff were extremely friendly and location was fine. Puerto Vallarta was a five minuet cab drive down the road to where we spent our last evening which too was a lovely place to walk around. The hotel in general was VERY clean however the only one problem we had was the room service to which we ordered twice. the first time it was cold and the second time it was over an hour and twenty minuets late. All in all it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would suggest it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Rohan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great hotel, stayed here with my girlfriend and her parents - this was the second time I have visited Mexico, the first to the Pacific side. I was very impressed with the check in - speed plus nice little touches such as fruit and cold towels upon arrival ect.

The room was very good - big and I loved the open plan style it had - there was a reasonable sized balcony as well. The room consisted of; double bed, jacuzzi bathtub, separate shower facilities (with seating facilities), closed door toilet and wardrobe space. The rooms are very good and it is lovely to sit on the balcony at night and in the morning.

I am a foodie and the food was very good and the quality of the food was superb. There is also a lot of choice for you as to where you want to eat - which when staying for two weeks is nice! The resort offers a buffet style restaurant, again good quality but not the best dining experience to be had at the hotel, my favourite was the "Market Garden" located in the Secrets side. having dinned at "Bennihanna" seeing the hotel offered a Japanese tempanyaki style cooking i was looking forward to some of the theatrics along with great Japanese food - however there was none, this for me is the only disappointment in a two week stay which is an easy fix, for the hotel.

The staff are great and friendly and really do go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable - there is waiter service to your bed when sunbathing. As well as the entertainment staff that have activities around the clock.

In short the place is fabulous and you will not go wrong booking here, we all had a fabulous time and wished we had stayed for longer!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room higher than the 4th floor for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WhyNotSkyJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#18 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,823 reviews
5.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
811 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#13 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
8,095 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £198 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on a golden sand beach showcasing infinity views of Banderas Bay, Now Amber Puerto Vallarta welcomes families with teens and tweens as well as couples and friends. Now Amber a AAA Four Diamond resort located in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, is only 5 minutes away from the famous “El Malecón” boardwalk and just 15 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. Guests of all ages are treated to an Unlimited-Luxury® escape with lavish accommodations at 327 suites, luxurious accommodations and pristine facilities. Seven dining options and five lively bars will tempt even the most discerning palates. Family-oriented activities and entertainment will keep guests enthralled all-day and night long. And that’s not all – adults can enjoy time at the spa while kids and teens enjoy supervised fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing