We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small resort, great service!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small resort, great service!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

This resort is NOT on the beach. But fear not! Lol there is 3 resorts in the coulda sac the right is this one the left (so directly across the way) is the plaza pelicanos grande, to which you would have full access too! Aaannnd there is a beach there! We stayed at a 5*+ in Cancun a few years ago and I preferred this place hands down! It was actually LESS of a walk to the beach here! The service staff are amazing! Especially the hotel manager!! On valentines day he went out of his way. My boyfriend asked him to get me some roses an put then in our room for when we got back that evening and did he ever! The room was also decorated beautiful and romantic. My boyfriend really likes his captain Morgan rum lol and they don't carry it there so we went and bought a bottle at the Walmart, which was only about $9 for a 26 btw!!, and the bartenders had no problems putting our room # on it and keeping behind the bar. If they seen us in the lobby bar they would go over to the pool bar, get the bottle and bring him a drink before he even had to ask for one. Lol there is so much more I could tell you about how wonderful the place is but ill stop rambling hahaha our only complaint was there was alot of locals with there young children up until all hour of the night. But that is not in the control of the resort and I fully understand that! But you def get your $'s worth here! :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia_strauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    696
    359
    113
    85
See reviews for
831
471
65
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was my 7th time in vallarta and first and last time at this hotel.
I have stayed at places with lower ratings that proved more accommodating than this place.
After checking in we went to our room and found we had a room with a view of a wall with a air conditioner sticking out of it which was pretty disappointing since we booked far in advance and requested a room with a pool or ocean view. We also found no safe we called the front desk asked where the safe is he said in the closet we looked and found nothing. We went to the front and were told its busy the safes aren't available. They provided us with a safe box in the lobby. The food is beyond gross i wouldn't feed it to people in jail. I paid over $4000 for this trip for me and my kids and expected edible food. No wifi unless you pay...most hotels have free wifi in the lobby at least.
I found huge bugs which looked like cockroaches but weren't in my bed and when i brought this to the front they said we will have someone check my room and that was the end of it no apology or moving of rooms.
The bar strana is located beside the hotel and you can expect to hear it pounding on your walls until 6 am
4 people in the room and they refused to give us more than 2 towels for bathing. The first night we were given no blankets on our beds and froze until the am when we were able to find a maid who found us a blanket.
the staff is not friendly at all they don't greet you when you come in and out and make you feel uncomfortable staying there.
this hotel has potential as its not run down and has great pools but with the nasty food and rude staff i don't see anyone wanting to stay there.
las palmas is directly next door and is 100 times better with friendly staff edible food and free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasondra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Hotel service and staff are amazing. Its the food, eat a heavy breakfast and you will be ok. This was my 2nd time in PV, 1st time was at Hacienta (4*). If u can find a good deal for Pelicanos Club then go, but we did get bored of the food fast. Even the a la carte meals were taken right from the buffet but then served all fancy. The pop served had a rubber plastic taste. Oh and people do like to reserve the lounge chairs with their towels and not use them. The massage was really good. We still love Puerto Vallarta though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekgingras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Me and my girlfriend recently stayed at the pelicanos beach resort for a week. We wanted a cheap holiday and this place met our needs. All of the staff were very friendly, in fact I didnt meet one that was very happy and helpful. Check in was great although we didnt get a very nice room with a view (our window faced a wall) at first but mid week we asked for an upgrade and recieved a room with a patio out looking a beautiful garden. There is two pools to enjoy, both with lounge chairs and a few lay down beds to get comfortable on. The hotel was kept very clean and seemed to have plenty of staff to direct any vacationers. The room came with a safe, that worked correctly, and I advise that you use it because my cell phone (that was broken anyways) mysteriously went missing mid week. Nothing else went missing other than that. The drinks were ever flowing and they had many varities of drinks to choose from. Any time I needed a drink one was quickly bought to me sometimes without me even asking. I personally did not like the food, it was the same stuff everyday, but honestly I have never enjoyed any mexican food at any resort. My girlfriend on the other hand seemed to enjoy the food so I think its all a matter of opinion. There was lots of events during the day if you like to do crafts, arobics, dancing lessons or whatever. The night life at the resort was pretty much non existant. They did have karoke a couple nights which I am not into and they also had cards another night in the one bar. We chose to leave the resort and explore the night life down town on the strip which was only a 5$ cab ride. There was pub crawls on several nights which means you can pay around $60 to get transported to 4 different pubs with all alchol included. The beach was right outside of the resort but be prepared to get bombarded by alot of mexicans trying to sell you scarfs, blankets, pipes, drugs, jetskis, jewerly, etc etc. The beach was not exactly a place you could get some peace and quiet. Anyways to sum up my opinion of the hotel I would say it is a good bargain (we only paid 855$can/ week), I would return to this resort despite the lack of night life, the phone going missing (it was my fault i didnt put it in the safe) and the crappy food. I think the good far out weighs the bad. Just go with low expecations and you will be plesantly surprised.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelennRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Let's be Clear... The CLUB Pelicanos and the GRAND Pelicanos are two distinct resort separated a few blocs apart and not related in any way (other than management). This review is for the CLUB on March 2013.

The CLUB's Pelicanos accommodation are split in two section separated by a two 2min walk across the street. Let's call it ''The Main side'' is a set of four enclosed building comprising the Reception, Rooms, Buffet/Resto area, Pool w pool bar and Night Bar. The other section let's say ''The Sea Side'' is comprise of the NON SWIMMING Sea beach, Pool w bar, Entertainment Stage/show, BBQ, and buffet brought over on some nights.

PROS: Staff is top notch, drink are cold and tasty and brought to you, tips are appreciated but not expected, relatively limited variety at the buffet however tasty and clean... in line with the 3.5 stars rating, rooms are clean and beds comfortable,

CONS:
The CLUB's ''Main side'' is enclosed within three story high buildings with a pool at the center... zero view of PV, moutain or sea... it felt a little claustrophobic. It is EXTREMELY echo and noisy at night. Do not expect to sleep well if you have a room in the half closest to the reception/buffet area... we were in room 103... we solve the problem with earplugs! GOOD ONES!. The NON SWIMMING BEACH (which seems to be the case of several hotels in PV) was a bummer for us. My 10yo son's sandal were left outside on our terrace... gone the next morning... no big deal, we remained are happy to have provided another kid's with sandals! Be smart with your valuables.

Room Tip: Pool view farthest possible from Buffet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eric c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I travelled with friends and family and unfortunately midway through the trip my iPhone 5 was stolen, I went to get breakfast and lay by the pool and came back and my phone was gone. Total bull. The resort staff did diddly crap to help me find it. And as another reviewer above stated, very defensive. the food here; same every day, breakfast was good. Won't stay there again, paying 3.50$ an hour for wi-fi is just crap. Drink service staff were awesome and very thorough, but do not reccomend staying there nor will I ever again.
Travelled Feb 23- Mar. 2

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a safe in it. No exceptions. Always lock up, all times of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

my girlfriend and i have just return from this hotel 24th-4th the place is very clean but old and dated. We had a ground level suite-Thank God cause then we had a patio, 2nd and 3rd level suites get no balconels. The pools are nice(two) both with swim up bars..drinks are good the food sucked! Breakfast was the only meal i ate everyday, Lunch was the same hamburgers and hotdogs with frys.and dinner was limited, Be ready to eat out. Small beach but staff and location do help to make this place just o.k..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.5 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Reso...
#36 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort

Property: Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Address: Diego Rivera 120 Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 minutes to downtown Puerto Vallarta, at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort entertainment is always available: all day long and beyond the sunset, there is a full activities program for all ages that suits your wish to live it up in paradise; from beach and swimming pool contests to theme nights with live music and karaoke. All rooms fully furnished with two twins or one king size bed (view and type of bed is subject to availability), air conditioning, safety deposit box, fully marble equipped bathroom and bathrooms amenities. Non beach front section, access to the beach (walking steps) crossing a private street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing