We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Ranked #70 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I recently had the lovely experience of a week at Villa Azalea. Dulce and Santiago are extremely charming hosts. The food was amazing, and being pretty much the only guests we were upgraded to a suite - always fun!
We were looking to not be in the hustle and bustle of PV, and Villa Azalea was a perfect fit. Dulce suggested that with a week we'd appreciate having a rental car to explore the area at our own pace. While I was a tiny bit nervous about that prospect, we did it and had no issues at all. I'd highly recommend getting out and exploring the area, we hit lots of little spots in a two hour radius.
I was fantastic to have breakfast at the villa and then be out for most of the day, returning for dinner, but make sure you make time for at least one lunch with the garden tour! Dining in the river is quite a treat!
There were really only a couple little tiny negatives I feel like should be mentioned. The bed is very very firm, which I didn't mind so much, but my boyfriend's back is finicky and he had a bit of a hard time. A couple times we made plans to stay out late, and one night we came back and the gate was locked, we had a walkie-talkie to let Dulce know when we were back, but there was a mix up and the boyfriend ended up scaling the fence - not ideal but also one of the best stories we have from the trip. ;) After that Dulce was very apologetic and agreed to a different gate system. Only other little thing - while I'm generally looking to unplug on vacation, there was another couple there for a few nights who were very upset about the wi-fi situation. Basically, if like me you like being able to check in once or twice a week from a limited radius but otherwise are happy to not be tethered to your electronics you'll be just fine - if your idea of a great time is constant access to Facebook, just know that's probably not going to happen here. ;)
The experience was just really lovely - it definitely feels more like staying at a bed and breakfast than a hotel, after a couple days it really does feel like home, and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed lovely, for longer stays a suite was super comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eryntracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you very much for your opinion, so extensive and especially so detailed! our beds are orthopedic since 99% of our guests sleep like babies as they arrive until they leave, completely renovated, but will consider your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I personally was disappointed with what we cooked. We had been asked , and we gave suggestions of very Mexican dishes.
Making packaged pasta is not gourmet! We did make our own very tasty sauce for the package macaroni. Using Salmon from Costco , when we have amazing fish here ,makes no sense to me . We could have made something with local tuna, which we buy here ourselves so cheaply. A dessert was suggested and made by Dulce which was great, but it should have been us doing this. Recipes were promised and never given.
We had nothing but time in this isolated and beautiful establishment, I expected better.
So for me having experience cooking classes in other establishments, this was not great.
However, Dulce and son Santiago were helpful and delightful.
Though you need to know that there are extra charges for coffee and tea unless served with your meals. There was something about having a coffee,sitting on the patio early morning and watching the different birds, but we were charged for this, which was a surprise to us. I understand alcohol but coffee?
Take lots and lots of bug spray,we are still suffering from large welts from the bugs.

Room Tip: Pick a room not a suite, our friends were upgraded at no cost to a suite and it was very dark compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodjunkie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Within our Outdoor Cooking Class, one of our successes has been the elaboration of Mixiote authentically mexican carrying more than 5 different kinds of peppers wrapped in banana leaf, also pink mole that is truly a Gourmed Mexican dish and the combination with the salmon is a treat! sorry hasnt been t o the liking of your palate, but will consider your suggestion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Villa Azaleas

Four of us arrived on Friday morning for a " Gourmet Weekend". The very first thing that Dulce, the owner, asked us to do was to cover ourselves with mosquito repellent which she gave to us. As the weekend wore on we found that we really needed it because the no-see-ums were vicious. In fact, while the sun was up, we found that the only way to avoid them was to stay indoors. Not what we wanted to do. We were all bitten quite badly and the resulting welts were itchy and painful.
One of our rooms was a suite on the ground floor and was a nice room but quite dark. The other room was on the top floor and overlooked the pool, a waterfall and the creek that runs through the property. Very nice. However, the upper floor is reached by climbing up a flight of 22 stairs which has no handrail. Pretty easy for people younger than 74 but for us it was a bit scary.
The hotel is just a couple of years old and is nicely situated in lovely grounds. The rooms are pleasant and there is a very pleasant common living room with a large table, sofas, a selection of DVDs and an "honour" bar where we could buy wine, beer, water and sodas. Although Internet is, in theory, available if one sits on a particular bench beside one of the pools, I was unable to connect to it with my iPad even if my wife was able to do so with hers.
We had all signed up for the cooking class and so on Saturday afternoon we spent a couple of hours preparing a meal with Victor, a chef who travelled in from Nuevo Vallarta. It was an excellent experience and one I would recommend to any one interested in food.
Dulce is an excellent cook who uses many ingredients that she gets from her own garden. The selection of herbs and the freshness of the vegetables were wonderful. The meals were nicely served on tables on the terrace but we found that the constant clearing of plates was distracting and less than relaxing for us.
When the time came to check out I knew that we were going to be charged for the bottle of wine that we had ordered for dinner but was surprised that two beers, some water and coffee(!!) came to an additional 350 pesos. Not exorbitant but, for this type of hotel, unwarranted.
It would be a great place for a honeymoon or even a second one but the bugs will keep us away in the future.

Room Tip: To access rooms on the top floor you need to climb up and down 22 stairs with no handrail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Definitely this place Villa Azalea is considered Luxury in the middle of the Nature, is for lovers of organic and conservation of the natural resources, our guests that come here are well aware, that we do not use any toxic product, everything is organic and natural.
It is the first time that we have complaints of this magnitude , we consider it is a bit exaggerated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I am so happy we discovered this hotel and plan to return. The setting is unique next to its own creek and a small waterfall. The hotel has its own organic farm and organizes cookcing classes. The rooms are tastefully decorated in a contemporay design, are super clean and spacious.

Dulce Arguero and jer team took excellent care of us during our stay.

Robert

Room Tip: Its seems like all rooms are nice in their own right. We had an upstairs one that maybe have the nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krmesserdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I came to Villa Azalea to get away from the rat race of the city to rest and recuperate before returning to our work again. We found the perfect place: a magical organic farm that was hosted by a family and a small group of staff. Dulce, our host, made sure we were comfortable and took care of us in many small detailed ways. She was anxious to please and ready to accommodate. Her son, Santiago, was a delight to be around. He was smart, easy going and very friendly. He took us on a tour of the Botanical Gardens which was also amazing! We were lucky to be the only two guests for a few days, so we enjoyed the peace and quiet. At night, we would watch DVDs from their tremendous collection. The two best parts of the visit: 1. the amazing landscape and river 2. the delicious, healthy and farm grown food! Be sure if you lay out to sunbathe by the pool to get the "no-see-um" bug repellent. All in all, our trip was fantastic and highly recommended. Thank you Dulce and Santiago for taking such good care of us.

Room Tip: If you get a room upstairs, be sure to request a key to the security gate for access at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for appreciating our service and choose Villa Azalea for your special moments. You make us feel very motivated to continue providing our best to make every guest feel special.
See you around here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was indeed a highlight. Santiago picked us up at our lodging and drove us to this gorgeous property for our cooking class. Upon arrival he showed us and explained the ins and outs of organic farming...we then proceeded to the green houses where we wandered among very healthy looking plants to pick the veggies for our salad, a variety of lettuces and tomatoes, leeks and onions. We were then led over to a screened area to meet Chef Victor. He had posted today!s luncheon menu , arranged equipment and ingredients around a lovely old wooden work table. While learning and prepping food we were treated to mojitos while also listening to music(my favorite way to cook, music and a little toddy) grinding peppers, making stock, tasting spices, Victor guided us with both modern and traditional methods. Our sous chef kept the tools clean and had all ingredients at the ready. Lunch was served...chicken con mole steamed in a banana leaf, whitefish with a "pink" mole made with three kinds of nuts, beets and white chocolate, our hand picked salad, fresh rolls and tortillas along with white wine. All this served at a beautifully set table. Later on Dulce escorted us through the inn and invited us to sit on the balcony where we would be served dessert while gazing at the river, the vegetation and just relaxing. What a great day....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chizaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Villa Azalea is a beautiful, calming place to stay. The villa is a dramatic, modern building with very nice rooms, comfortable beds and attractive, well-appointed shared spaces. Everything is nicely decorated and very clean. There is a large swimming pool, a river runs through the property and there are organic fruits and vegetables growing everywhere. The villa is near (5 minute drive) from the Vallarta Botanical Gardens, a great place to go birding, see native plants and swim in river pools. It is also a short distance from several beaches and small towns. Dulce and Santiago were attentive hosts and they had lots of suggestions for daily activities. The food was delicious!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

To have guest like you our job is a real pleasure to meet nice people like you, so friendly and always enjoying every moment, every detail, and loversof bird watching and nature this is a true paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
6.2 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
43 reviews
11.7 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#35 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
97 reviews
10.7 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Casa Iguana Hotel
Casa Iguana Hotel
#78 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
317 reviews
15.7 mi away
Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites
Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and ...
#65 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
216 reviews
9.2 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B

Address: Calle Barra de Navidad Km. 184 | El Tuito Jalisco, Puerto Vallarta 48343, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £180 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a small luxury hotel with world class service at Villa Azalea, an intimate, secluded property, located 20 miles south of Puerto Vallarta, in western Mexico; considered as one of the best resorts in Puerto Vallarta. Come and enjoy this couples oriented hotel, designed for the most demanding travelers as it was first conceived by its owner, a Swiss entrepreneur who has invested mind, heart and efforts for years and offer us now: Villa Azalea, a place that blends elegance, nature and good taste for the most eco friendly, relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing