We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dogs in town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dog House - CLOSED

The Dog House
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Fast food
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best dogs in town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was so happy to discover a hotdog stand that was open as late as the bars!! The chef Ana was very friendly and kept me laughing the entire time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokingtires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVRPV, Owner at The Dog House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to do a review. We also love Ana in our The Dog House and we get many positive remarks about her customer service. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    13
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
260 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Something good and Quick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

When you are in the modo for a dog, this is the best place i hace found in México. A local chef prepares the sausages, from basic meat dogs (which is almost impossible to find in Mexico; they are all chicken or turkey), and the great sausages, Polish, Brat, Italian, chicken And chorizo. I tried the brat with actual sauerkraut, and then a polish. They were great sausages, nothing storebought and well worth the trip to eat. My friend had the chicken sausage and loved it. Try the different sauces before slathering as many of these, chimichuri, habanero (my favorite), relish Dijon are freshly prepared. I highly recommend when looking for some thing not too formal, or fast, or just some good basic comfort food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMarkKucera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Dog is Hot and Alive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

During my January (2013) trip, I did nor realize the Dog House had opened a second location during the day and it's original location at a disco for the night crowd. Only after 30 days on TripAdvisor, I am allowed to retract my previous suspicions of the Dog House demise. THE DOG HOUSE LIVES NOW IN TWO LOCATIONS AND WAS WELL WORTH MY CONTINUED SEARCH TO FIND THE DAY LOCATION!!

The owner quickly contacted us after seeing our endeavour to find the Dog House and provided directions, as well as thanked us for our suggestion to upgrade his signage between his two locations.

The second location is a couple blocks away from the night club location towards the Banderos Bay on a side-street. The young gentleman who served us did a fabulous job of preparing two up-scale sausage dogs with all the fixings that challenge your mouth-opening! We ordered a second dog after the great taste and array of add-ons.

We also purchased some of the add-ons, such as the Dog's mustard, jalapeño sauce and relish, as they were very flavourful and nicely presented in the Dog's bottles. Great memories for our own dogs at home! Till next year!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
367 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“hot dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

the place is very clean the staff where very helpful and very friendly the guy working jonhy was a very nice outgoing happy and friendly guy and helped me choose what to eat i love hot dogs these where so fresh tastey and big with more condiments and choices then i could choose from i wish i found them alot sooner i ate here 2 times on my trip next time it will be a lot more i visited both locations and there both consisdent and clean and friendly what ever there doing keep it up cause its working mmmmmmm good

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luna6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crest Hill, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could have used more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Brat with grilled onion and kraut was very good ,but some nice hot fries would have made our day.We would go back to try other items on menu.With the tree down much easier to spot the sign.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garlen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dog House also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing