We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the con artist manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Estancia San Carlos
Ranked #81 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of the con artist manager”
Reviewed 7 April 2009

I made a reservation in advance, over the phone, at this hotel starting on a Saturday, for three nights. I was told the rate was x amount per night. When we arrived at the hotel, the manager asked us if we had a reservation and at what rate. We told them, and without even asking our name or checking, he said that was the rate for the first night, but the subsequent nights would be higher (he asked 50% more!!!) because high season was starting... I complained that nobody mentioned that when we made the reservation, but he did not care to listen. We walked out and found a similar hotel at an even lower rate just one block away. I guess it was not high season after all... Stay away from this chater!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank jballesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Lambton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We have stayed at the Estancia San Carlos twice now, for two weeks in 2006, and came back in 2007 to stay six weeks. We loved the location, the staff, everyone was very helpful and friendly...and the price is right.
We have two little Chihuahuas, and they were made to feel very welcome. The maids are hard workers, and they are always quick to smile and say hola. The laundry facilities are inexpensive and quick. Short walk to the malecon, restaurants, beach and grocery store.
Nice, clean spacious rooms. We want to go back there in 2009.

  • Liked — Location cleanliness
  • Disliked — noisy sometimes
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2007

My family and I have stayed at the Estancia San Carlos on two separate occasions. We drive from Idaho to PV and are looking for a safe central location to park our vehicle. San Carlos fits the bill perfectly. This is definitely not the Ritz Carlton, but honestly who wants those old fuddy, duddies? I go to Mexico to be in Mexico, I love the culture...

The staff is wonderful, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are apartments, we stayed in a spacious two bedroom apartment, and loved the courtyard where we could easily see our two little boys playing below in the pool. We stayed for nearly 3 weeks, and yep the laundry service was awesome!!

The beach is only a few blocks away, a grocery store with lots of American products (Rizo_) is just a block away, wonderful taco stands, ice cream shops... and the fish market where the seafood is delightful, right in front of the grocery store.

PV is charming, old Mexico, the people are wonderful- the beaches stunning, the sun - perfect! Have a wonderful time!

  • Liked — Convinient, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Most everything was wonderful
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IdahoGuerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2006

We stayed at this hotel in August 2006, on the recommendation of the Rough Guide to Mexico. We were wary following the initial approach of the front-desk staff which was surly to say the least and they demanded payment in cash upfront. On the second day of our stay, there was very a problem with the power meaning very little light, no air conditioning and no running water!
Not only did the hotel fail to apologise, they did not communicate with us at all - to the extent that we had to go and ask for water so we could use the toilet!
When we decided to decamp to a hotel with air conditioning, we had to fight to get back the money that we had paid in advance, let alone any kind of compensation for our awful experience.
The Hotel Posada Rio Cuale down the road is much the same price and much better,

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Beeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2006

Bring your ear plug if you like noise you may want to stay. the pool is a real outdoor potty it is not kept the cleanest. You must beg for maid service and towel and for sure get a receipt the manager is a known cheater he likes to take you money then forgets you paid so the best of luck. Guest that have stayed for several years are not going back they were used and abused and have looked for other accom. Please beware and shop elsewhere there are a lot of honest managers out there that would be happy to have you stay

Regards BIG Jack
Linden New Jersey

  • Liked — watching the show the manager put on when he stagered late at night after a few snorts???
  • Disliked — the yellow pool and the noise
  • Tips/Secrets — don,t stay...
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 June 2006

W e were travelling pot luck to Puerta Vallarta at the beginning of this year with a little dog. The mexicans are a fussy about dogs, to say the least and we were turned down at most upscale hotels. As we went into the Zona Romantica we chanced into this hotel which is not just superbly clean and friendly, they also are fans of little dogs. We found 2 other appartments with dogowners. As far as our dog was concerned, she only wanted to leave the hotel to do her stuff and otherwise she would be dead sety against leaving.
The hotel is ideally situated, you can walk almost everywhere, the beach is nearby and we never even used the car whilst staying in PV, because there is a bus going every 10 minutes to the Marina and Walmarts for just 5 Pesos. I must mention though that it's still very loud during the weekends because of the nightclub La Iguana. We just had two Margaritas and usually slept through it. Try to get an appartment not on the entrance side.
Otherwise I can only recommend the place and it's owners.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 April 2006

This hotel was okay I have stayed in better for half the price . We found it very loud at night and the fumes from the buses and cars prevented us from having our windows open. We also found the rooms dark my being an artist made it difficult to paint. The location was central, close to all emenities. The staff for the most part were very helpful. The owner was very rude to his guests to the point of shouting and using offensive language. We stayed on the 3rd floor and to our dismay was at the watchful eye of the lady in room 6 who we felt was very curious of our comings and goings
between that and her annouying laugh which we could hear up in our room, our stay was most uncomfortable to say the least. Another visit to P.V. would definately have us seek out diffrent accomadations.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#64 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centr...
#83 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hortencia
Hotel Hortencia
#76 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#59 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#85 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plazamar
Plazamar
#70 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia San Carlos

Property: Estancia San Carlos
Address: Calle Constitucion 210, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia San Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice hotel, located in the heart of the romantic zone of Puerto Vallarta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estancia San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia San Carlos Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Estancia San Carlos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing