We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Lovely Slice of Paradise”
Review of Casa Tres Vidas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Tres Vidas
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Very Lovely Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

How does one begin to describe the perfect week? Casa Tres Vidas was from start to finish one of the most enjoyable vacation experiences I've ever had. From the warm welcome we received from Roberto and Daniel on Saturday, to the impeccable service, friendliness, food, accommodations, locations, etc. it was perfect. My husband and I stayed in Vida Mar with my wonderful aunt and uncle...the place was way to large for four couples, but we were all in a place BEFORE CTV where we needed some peace, quiet and space from our busy-bee lives. Pablo our chef made us incredible breakfasts and dinners..we ate out for lunch and once for dinner on Sunday evening (when the staff is off) - there is really no need to leave the Casa for anything. Daniel made us fresh guacamole, salsa and margaritas every evening before dinner. Angelina kept our villa spotless. The beach was clean and beautiful, and although it was a bit rough to swim and snorkel in our little corner of Banderas Bay, we enjoyed walking up and down the beach and frolicking in the shallows. The location is also fantastic - we walked to old town several times, but ended up usually taking a quick taxi ride in and home. We enjoyed a day trip to Yelapa (thanks Jose for the advice) which was fantastic (even saw a mama and baby whale on the way home in the water taxi!) and a zip line trip to Los Veranos - fantastic. Otherwise, we chilled at Vida Mar, which is the lowest of the Villas (closest to the beach) with a lovely view of the bay, great open common areas, a rooftop patio, and plenty of nooks to tuck away with a book or a nap.

I found Casa Tres Vidas through LuxuryLink.com - what a great find. I rely upon LuxuryLink to find unique properties that I might not otherwise risk a lot of money on. I have been really pleased with the quality of properties available on LuxuryLink, as well as the prices. Casa Tres Vidas is no exception. We are looking forward to our next visit, and hopefully bringing lots more family and friends (gosh, I sure would love to rent all three villas!)

I want to personally thank Daniel, Pablo, Angelina, Roberto, and Jose for their kindness and warmth. In and of itself, Casa Tres Vidas is a fantastic getaway, but the staff made it a truly magical place for us.

Room Tip: All of the villas are lovely. Vida Mar has a fantastic master bedroom, the other rooms are huge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_SeaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I doubt if I can describe the tranquility, beauty, delight and zest of being here with 7 good friends. Sharing one of the hillside/seaside villas gave us plenty of room to relax in the comfy bedrooms and huge common area. The sit down chef-prepared breakfast was spectacular. There's more: a sit-down, chef-prepared dinner each night after the beautiful sunset and relaxing on the terrace. Just us, our own dining area. Small spa pools for our own use. Our own beach. A pleasant 15 minute walk to the Zona Romantica or just stay put. Excellent staff, location, rooms, views, beach, ambience.

Room Tip: check their website to find the one that suits you. You can't go wrong. If you don't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rev_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We just stayed in Casa Tres Vidas for the 12th time. Once again it was the most relaxing time of our year. We have been lucky to be able to visit Hawaii, Morrocco, Jamaica, the Caymans, St. Maarten, Puerto Rico, cruise the Carribean, etc., yet the place we choose to return to year after year is Casa Tres Vidas. We have also stayed at the sister property next door, Quinta Maria Cortez, a most amazing B&B.

I am writing to describe the typical attention to detail you find at Casa Tres Vidas that you usually only hope for at other places. My wife recently received a very nice Sworovski pen from one of her best friends and she was really pleased with it. After we checked out she realized it was not in her purse so we called the manager's office to request help. They could not find it, but emailed us about a week later to say they had found it buried in the cushions of the sofa, and would be sending it back to her. THAT is customer service!

Since I am already writing a review (my first ever, even after 41 years of international travel) I feel I should also depict a typical week at the Casa: hugs from the same staff we had on our first visit 13 years ago; total relaxation in VERY spacious and elegant but comfortable surroundings; a private chef willing to offer suggestions or follow your ideas (we opt for one Chef's surprise night and have always been greatly pleased); superb service by the house manager, who also serves at bartender and wait staff, and the best weather in the western hemisphere: consistent temps from 82 - 84 degrees farenheit, a slight breeze and low humidity.

On Sunday nights, the staff is off so we have a tough time picking from one of Puerto Vallarta's tremendous restuarant options. We love Trio, Vista Grill, La Palapa, Barcelona Tapas, Maximilliano's (the best Austrian resturaunt outside Austria I have ever found) among many others.

I feel I must address the negative publicity Mexico has received over the last few years. Though the country no doubt has its problems, we have never had one issue in Puerto Vallarta that would make us feel unsafe. There is no violence or obvious drug dealing, we have never had anything stolen or been accosted by anyone. It is our winter refuge, has many American and Canadian residents, a lively art scene, and we plan on returning for many years, especially to our home at Casa Tres Vidas.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We spent a week at Casa Tres Vidas during the Christmas holiday and it was pure paradise! We stayed in the middle villa - there were 7 of us and we had plenty of room. The accommodations are spacious and comfortable. The beach is picturesque. The staff are top notch and really make the stay perfect in every way. Eduardo is a fantastic cook and had no problem accommodating our varying eating styles (vegetarian, meat-eaters, vegan). Daniel is a delight and made every meal a wonderful experience. The fresh guacamole and frozen drinks every afternoon were delicious. Roberto and Jose also went out of their way to make sure things ran smoothly - helping us organize transportation for a day trip, arranging for jet skis, getting cabs, etc. We were traveling with 5 kids ranging in age from 16 through 21 and they also thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We definitely hope to return to Casa Tres Vidas in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed for a week at the beginning of October with 5 friends. This was the best vacation I have had in Puerto Vallarta. The villa and the staff were all so amazing! There are three villas and we stayed in the middle villa which was close to the beach and had amazing views. Having your own private pool was great and everything was so clean and well taken care of. The staff accommodated all of our food and drink requests and made this a very special vacation. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

After our fifth year in a row staying at Casa Tres Vidas, I thought I would provide an update to my first review.
Our crowd varies from 10-15 folks and we usually take all three villas. CTV is ideal for this kind of vacation for reasons noted in other reviews, but I underscore the flexibility of accommodations, having a full hotel staff and amenities, excellent food, and the overall value.
To elaborate
• We always choose the end of June/early July for a two-week visit. The town is quiet and off-season rates apply. While this time of the year is the official rainy season, the weather has never spoiled our good time – even with a tropical storm. While it may rain, we have mostly sunny days, and the site works for all changes in climate. Thunderstorms are a fabulous show from the Alta Lounge.
• Everyone gets a spacious and well-appointed bedroom and neat bathroom – Each is very different and gets assigned based amenities and personal preferences, and we price them accordingly.
• There are a variety of common spaces (decks, lounges, pools) where one can relax alone or congregate – or where you can be alone without even being in your room.
• When we are here we are home while also being away. There are times when you feel like you are renting a home – I mean, the entire 8 floors and beach feels exclusively yours – but ¬– there is this great familiar hotel staff (which has not changed in five years) that professionally meets your every need. Plus, sit-down formal group dining for breakfast and dinner gives it that ‘away on vacation’ touch.
• Despite our communal dinner habits, our group’s dietary preferences vary greatly – vegan, vegetarian, carnivore, those who will eat just about anything, no cilantro, no eggs, extra spicy, mild, and none of this appears to be a problem to the staff – actually it is more a matter of pride for Eduardo to meet the challenge. The chef(s) can and will cook anything and, to their delight, more and more we have explored more classic Mexican meals. On Sundays when the staff is off we cook for ourselves – but still insist on a formal dinner setting. And no stomach issues in five years. Note that we have been coming to PV since 2000 and have eaten in many great restaurants, but rarely venture out now.
• Other habits vary – we have diverse tastes in cocktails (we run a full bar, it seems, and Romero has become an adept bartender). Cocktails at 6, dinner at 7 – and we ‘dress-up’ for dinner – meaning collared shirts (no tank tops) for the men. We have several smokers who self-relegate their consumption to several outside areas – no one smokes in their rooms. One couple sunbathes in the nude on the upper cabana on Vida Alta – ‘Lizard Lounge’ – designated clothing optional (by us). Another couple always rents a car and takes daily and even overnight excursions into the countryside – CTV is their base of operations. We read a lot (hard cover, soft cover, Nooks, iPads, and Kindles and bring DVDs and iPod devices. WIFI/Internet service is excellent. Key to the culture here is that no one feels compelled to do anything. For most of us our annual visit to CTV is a time to get lost in just mindless relaxation. Hence, despite CTV’s proximity to town, we rarely stray from the compound. It is a lazy time and, aside from breakfast and dinner, an unscheduled time. It feels like being on a cruise when you are ‘at sea’, except that you can jump off anytime.

We shall be returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brklynguy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Casa Tres Vidas is a charming, well-appointed villa (3 villas, actually) with beautiful views and an amazing staff. The meals were delicious and the service is really excellent. It's very safe and the staff will shop for you if you want to prepare meals for yourself in the kitchen. The bedrooms are air conditioned and comfortable, the pools are clean. It's a great deal and again, can't say enough about the wonderful, kind, helpful staff.

Room Tip: The one bedroom in Vida Sol with 1 king bed instead of two has no windows. It's quiet but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#29 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quinta Maria Cortez
Quinta Maria Cortez
#4 of 73 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tres Vidas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tres Vidas

Property: Casa Tres Vidas
Address: Calle Sagitario 132, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terraced down a hillside to Conchas Chinas Beach, has three individual villas each with private pool, heated jacuzzi, living room, dining room & kitchen, set on a stunning private cove. 3 & 4 Bedroom Villas that can be combined to create a 6, 7 or 10 Bedroom Villa. Fully Staffed with maid service, english speaking house man & Private chef. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tres Vidas Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing