We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #28 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice quiet resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed with friends and family for one week. We stayed in a great two bedroom suite. We did not have a great view (mostly parking lot and a bit of the marina). The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The pool was quite nice, though I prefered the beach areas and best of all a lounge like area over looking the ocean. Day bed/couches were awesome to lie in and the view at sunset is perfection. I only ate one meal and it was a pizza (wooden oven/good). Like most people mentioned I did eat a Victors in the marina area. The OXXO across the street had lot's of snacks, juice, water and surprising great wine from Chile at excellent price points. I didn't care for the cocktalis at the hotel. Very sweet and full of sryrup. Drinks are pricy, without happy hour.
There were various specials each day but the signage around the hotel was very confusing (up on the wrong day). The resort was vary nice but very quiet....too quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckworths5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    302
    118
    49
    61
See reviews for
252
289
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Had fantastic time staying here. Overlooked the ocean and Puerto Vallarta. Sunsets wonderful and very convenient to Puerto Vallarta and to the Marina. May very good restaurants at the Marina. Maid service every night and our two bedrooms were immaculate. Service absolutely first rate. All staff treated us royally.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just got back this Monday. Nice resort, everyone makes you feel welcome, But my God be careful with the lady by the name Stephanie (from Canada) to be more exact. After I checked in I was guided to go the next counter to get my wrist band, but its only a trick they want to sign you up to go to the stupid time-shared presentation, everything was fine until then. So I accepted to do their presentation and I was promised by STEPHANIE that if I did not like my room that I was assigned to me, to give her a call and she will get me something better. well did it happen? no no at all I called her she will no pick up at first and then I called the front desk, they said she will be the only one to talk to, so they just keep going back and forth, what a horrible thing to do, I never asked to be moved to a better room. she offered , she only offered that so I would not say no to her waste-of-time presentation. On the other hand, they charge you for everything. I could not believe that for a week of WiFi service is almost $100.00 american dollar unbelievable and of course I didn't get the service. Their prices are just too much.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Joe B :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to find out that you enjoyed our resort.We really thank youas wellfor your kind comment about our staff, as this is what we strive for every day.
For that reason, we are shocked to learn about the inconvenience experienced during your stay. This highly exceptional occurrence will be shared with the appropriate area since we strive to make each and every one of our guests feel cared for, appreciated and respected.

Sincerely,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Spent a week last of October. Check in : while providing credit card and I.D. Now before you get key cards you have to go to adjacent sales desk. Lady handing out tour and presentation info was interrupted by my plea. We do not want anything as we are "owners". To which I was abruptly told,"just let me do my Job!!!" We walked away to return to reception desk to claim key cards.
For my forthcoming to sales, we were given a street -facing set of rooms. That would have been fine but it was adjacent to Beer and Pizza restaurant across the street. Construction banging started at seven each morning. Rooms had new furniture which was nice.

Grounds and pool area was well kept. Lots of iguanas running around looking for pineapple garnishment from tropical drinks served in pool area. Signs on adjacent grounds said "Please do not feed the iguanas!"

Drinks and food were spendy unless you go for 2 for 1 which ocurrs in restaurant on weekends and daily between the Pool Bar and the Beach Club Bar with an hour in between happy hours.
Beach Club bar was nice with Bali Beds and pillows to lounge about while slurping drinks. Bartello, the bartender was great with his service. Pool and restaurant staff were friendly and efficient.

Was told by a lady about my age that her son was coming in the following night and was looking forward to eye candy around the pool. We both agreed that it was more of an AARP crowd

Short walk to XXXOOO convenient mart for water and liquor, pop etc across the street. Bus stop into town also just down the street. I think it was seven pesos each way.

Walk into marina area is a half block away. Great food at Victors, La Terraza (Italian) and Chappys Sports Bar. Victors has the best breakfast value. Lots of choices for sixty pesos. From the afternoon on at Victors when you order a drink or a beer you get a free shot of tequila.

Over all, the mixture of on-site drink and dining coupled with a short walk to Marina area spots or even the Pacifica Cafe across the street for a cheap meal with free wi-fi was a pleasant stay. Walk off a few calories and have a Corona or Pacifico after dealing with the rude Vida sales staff!

Room Tip: Take a Prozac and go to a sales presentation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear J H :
We are grateful for your taking the time to review your stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to find out you liked our facilities, the refurbished accommodations and appreciate your kind words about some of our staff.

However, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Rest assured your comments will be shared with the appropriate area as we strive to make each and every one of our guests feel cared for, appreciated and respected. We are grateful for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

With all good wishes,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just got back in a few hours ago from the Mayan Palace and I agree with the other reviews. Nice property and many helpful and nice people working there, but they really do nickle and dime you to death. Parking, room safe, wi-fi all cost plenty of extra money. And avoid the Vida timeshare presentation if you can. It took over 5 hours to get through, after at least 5 different reps tried their lines on us. It wasted so much of our day and the perks were not worth it at all. Very high pressure. Watch outside the Mayan also, since there are vulture timeshare reps out there to get you into their presentations as well. This was a free trip for us but ended up costing quite a bit in the long run. Probably would not return.

Room Tip: You can try asking for an ocean view room, but probably will not get one. We were informed that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear jwtravellers:
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace, and we are delighted to know you liked our resort. Thank you as well for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.We would like to point out as well that our prices are extremely competitive compared to other resorts.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Overall, we loved the room, experienced great service from the staff that we talked with on a daily basis, great pool and activities but front desk support was lacking. This is our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and in a Vida resort on a timeshare exchange.

We arrived around midnight and very surprised by the number additional fees: per device charge for wireless internet; per person per day charge to the use the exercise room; fee for losing a towel card; fee for losing a room key; etc.... feel that we were nickel and dimed during our visit.

Agreed to go on a timeshare presentation at the Grand Mayan and one of the gift's was a 10% discount that was supposed to be applied to our final bill. It was applied to most of our bill and when we asked to talked with a manager to correct error were told that he could do nothing as well and would not be called.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Tom H :

Thank you so much for choosing our Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing yourreview about your stay. We are delighted to find out that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We are happy as well that you liked our pools and activities.
It appears as though not all your expectations were met. Your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas in order to ensure they all have accurate information so that your check-out is an efficient and pleasant experience. We would like to point out as well that our prices are extremely competitive compared to other resorts.

It will be our privilege to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I was so excited fly our son from Reno to visit us in Mexico and wanted to share a special place with him, aside from our home in Ajijic, Jalisco. We secured a week at the Mayan Palace in Nueva Vallarta. Our son works very hard and loves the ocean and swimming/sun bathing so this week's vacation was very important to him. The Mayan Palace only allows its guests to use a pool way down by the beach. The carts hauling people were mainly reserved for the other properties or salespeople. The property had a good view, except for the big mud hole, directly
in front of our windows, plus they had construction going all night long, which kept our son awake. We were charged for every little extra (300p, for example, just to use the room's safe; 975p for the week for wi-fi, etc.) and were told by the time share salesman that we had the worst property on this very large resort, but if we bought, he'd get us upgraded. You will be a bird in a guilded cage, if you go here. If you just want to stay in your room, it is nice, also nice staff. If you choose a Mayan property, choose the Grand or any other, but none of us ever wants to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevadatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Nevadatraveler1:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your experience while staying at another one of our resorts. It is nice to learn you liked the accommodations and thank you as well for your kind comment about the staff, as they are considered one of our biggest assets.

Regrettably, it appears as though not all your expectations were met.This will be shared with the appropriate areas tolook into this, since they work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.
Your comments are always welcomed.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.

Sincerely,
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#42 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#100 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#14 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#49 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Property: Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Wyndham Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing