We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveller rating
411
382
153
60
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
382
153
60
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bakal restaurant marina location main building high pressure ocean view rci exchange sales presentation timeshare sharks sunset bar restaurants and shops bedroom unit sales pitch living area the check in process smaller resort nice resort city tour
Filter
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed with friends and family for one week. We stayed in a great two bedroom suite. We did not have a great view (mostly parking lot and a bit of the marina). The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The pool was quite nice, though I prefered the beach areas and best of all a lounge like area over looking the ocean. Day bed/couches were awesome to lie in and the view at sunset is perfection. I only ate one meal and it was a pizza (wooden oven/good). Like most people mentioned I did eat a Victors in the marina area. The OXXO across the street had lot's of snacks, juice, water and surprising great wine from Chile at excellent price points. I didn't care for the cocktalis at the hotel. Very sweet and full of sryrup. Drinks are pricy, without happy hour.
There were various specials each day but the signage around the hotel was very confusing (up on the wrong day). The resort was vary nice but very quiet....too quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckworths5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Had fantastic time staying here. Overlooked the ocean and Puerto Vallarta. Sunsets wonderful and very convenient to Puerto Vallarta and to the Marina. May very good restaurants at the Marina. Maid service every night and our two bedrooms were immaculate. Service absolutely first rate. All staff treated us royally.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just got back this Monday. Nice resort, everyone makes you feel welcome, But my God be careful with the lady by the name Stephanie (from Canada) to be more exact. After I checked in I was guided to go the next counter to get my wrist band, but its only a trick they want to sign you up to go to the stupid time-shared presentation, everything was fine until then. So I accepted to do their presentation and I was promised by STEPHANIE that if I did not like my room that I was assigned to me, to give her a call and she will get me something better. well did it happen? no no at all I called her she will no pick up at first and then I called the front desk, they said she will be the only one to talk to, so they just keep going back and forth, what a horrible thing to do, I never asked to be moved to a better room. she offered , she only offered that so I would not say no to her waste-of-time presentation. On the other hand, they charge you for everything. I could not believe that for a week of WiFi service is almost $100.00 american dollar unbelievable and of course I didn't get the service. Their prices are just too much.

Room Tip: no comment
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Joe B :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to find out that you enjoyed our resort.We really thank youas wellfor your kind comment about our staff, as this is what we strive for every day.
For that reason, we are shocked to learn about the inconvenience experienced during your stay. This highly exceptional occurrence will be shared with the appropriate area since we strive to make each and every one of our guests feel cared for, appreciated and respected.

Sincerely,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Spent a week last of October. Check in : while providing credit card and I.D. Now before you get key cards you have to go to adjacent sales desk. Lady handing out tour and presentation info was interrupted by my plea. We do not want anything as we are "owners". To which I was abruptly told,"just let me do my Job!!!" We walked away to return to reception desk to claim key cards.
For my forthcoming to sales, we were given a street -facing set of rooms. That would have been fine but it was adjacent to Beer and Pizza restaurant across the street. Construction banging started at seven each morning. Rooms had new furniture which was nice.

Grounds and pool area was well kept. Lots of iguanas running around looking for pineapple garnishment from tropical drinks served in pool area. Signs on adjacent grounds said "Please do not feed the iguanas!"

Drinks and food were spendy unless you go for 2 for 1 which ocurrs in restaurant on weekends and daily between the Pool Bar and the Beach Club Bar with an hour in between happy hours.
Beach Club bar was nice with Bali Beds and pillows to lounge about while slurping drinks. Bartello, the bartender was great with his service. Pool and restaurant staff were friendly and efficient.

Was told by a lady about my age that her son was coming in the following night and was looking forward to eye candy around the pool. We both agreed that it was more of an AARP crowd

Short walk to XXXOOO convenient mart for water and liquor, pop etc across the street. Bus stop into town also just down the street. I think it was seven pesos each way.

Walk into marina area is a half block away. Great food at Victors, La Terraza (Italian) and Chappys Sports Bar. Victors has the best breakfast value. Lots of choices for sixty pesos. From the afternoon on at Victors when you order a drink or a beer you get a free shot of tequila.

Over all, the mixture of on-site drink and dining coupled with a short walk to Marina area spots or even the Pacifica Cafe across the street for a cheap meal with free wi-fi was a pleasant stay. Walk off a few calories and have a Corona or Pacifico after dealing with the rude Vida sales staff!

Room Tip: Take a Prozac and go to a sales presentation!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear J H :
We are grateful for your taking the time to review your stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to find out you liked our facilities, the refurbished accommodations and appreciate your kind words about some of our staff.

However, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Rest assured your comments will be shared with the appropriate area as we strive to make each and every one of our guests feel cared for, appreciated and respected. We are grateful for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

With all good wishes,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just got back in a few hours ago from the Mayan Palace and I agree with the other reviews. Nice property and many helpful and nice people working there, but they really do nickle and dime you to death. Parking, room safe, wi-fi all cost plenty of extra money. And avoid the Vida timeshare presentation if you can. It took over 5 hours to get through, after at least 5 different reps tried their lines on us. It wasted so much of our day and the perks were not worth it at all. Very high pressure. Watch outside the Mayan also, since there are vulture timeshare reps out there to get you into their presentations as well. This was a free trip for us but ended up costing quite a bit in the long run. Probably would not return.

Room Tip: You can try asking for an ocean view room, but probably will not get one. We were informed that these are for "members only" but if we bought a timeshare they could probably upgrade us.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear jwtravellers:
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace, and we are delighted to know you liked our resort. Thank you as well for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.We would like to point out as well that our prices are extremely competitive compared to other resorts.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews