We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveller rating
422
388
154
61
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
388
154
61
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bakal restaurant marina area main building high pressure ocean view rci exchange short walk to the marina timeshare sharks sunset bar restaurants and shops bedroom unit sales pitch living area the check in process smaller resort nice resort tacos
Filter
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great place to go and relax. My family and friends have been comming here for the last 11 yrs in fact we had my niece's wedding on the beach along with 50 family members and friends attend. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. After visiting for many years the staff and even the venders know us by name,so nice. What is nice,you are steps from the Marina and it's shops and restaurants and if you need to go in town, the bus stop is directly in front. We will be there March 12-22 2014 see ya.

Room Tip: We have been visiting here for the last 11 yrs, this is very family friendly. My niece had her wedding and reception on the beach and the staff were fantastic in helping. We will be back March 12-22 2014 see ya!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have stayed at many different types of hotels and resorts in many cities, and this is our favorite. It is a boutique style resort which offers amenities comparable to a mega-resort. This is our second stay, and every staff member we've encountered has been friendly and willing to help in any way they could, from housekeeping's Yolanda to the bartender Cesar. The beach and pool are well maintained as are the beautiful grounds and units. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath both times which could have easily slept 8 people. Any food that we ordered at the resort was outstanding including the Christmas fiesta. The prices are competitive with those at similar restaurants across the street at the marina and even lower than the much reviewed and very disappointing Victor's. There are several two-for-one offers on buffets, drinks, pizza, etc. which makes it very affordable. They do push the timeshare presentation when you check in, but if you don't want to attend they leave you alone about it. We chose to go this year and it was a 5 hour commitment that netted us over $500 in shows, cash, and discounts to our bill. Our 21 year old daughter even looks forward to returning-there's something here for everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenienehohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We have visited all Mayan locations in Mexico and came to a conclusion that this is the best.It is not as fancy as Mayan Nuevo Vallarta but it has everything. The beach is great and you can swim in the ocean which is not typical for other Mayan resorts. The staff is wonderfull, very polite, helpful and flexible. All the personnel is great, they make so little money, but always smiling and ready to do everything for you. There are not many restaurants inside the resort, but every day they have breakfast and brunch buffets 2x 1 (280 pesos which is less then $25 for two). Three times per week they have dinner buffets 2x 1 which is 300 pesos. Very reasonable. Try seafood plate for 2 in the Pool bar for 350 pesos and you won't be dissapointed. A lot of food. Marina is just 5 minutes walk with plenty of restaurants to eat. OXXO grocery store accross the street and if you want to go to Walmart it will cost you 60 pesos. The resort is extremely clean and friendly. BUT NEVER EVER GO to VALLARTA GARDENS for presentation, even if the street or beach people offer you $500 cash. It will never happen. We went but didn't get nor breakfast neither money. IT'S a SCAM!!! The only reason I gave 4 Stars to the resort is that I would have a spa and massage inside the building not next to the pool. They Don't have a SPA facility on the premises. Also if you are member, the gym and safe are free for you. If not, you have to pay. I don't thing this is right. So, enjoy your vacation in this wonderful place!!

Room Tip: Try to choose the pool or ocean side of the room. The marina side is noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Undecided7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

As a timeshare owner at the Mayan there are a few things you should know. All the properties are gorgeous, the people are polite and courteous, the cleanliness is outstanding and their willingness to please is exceptional. That being said, this all comes at a cost. The Mayan's buffet breakfast costs over $30 per person (worth about $17 at best), lunch for two about $35-$60 and dinner (are you sitting down) $70-$130. Drinks at the pool $8-$9, beer $5 and soda $3. What probably is most surprising is the food's presentation is gorgeous, but the flavor is a major disappointment and leaves your mouth's pallet feeling cheated. My advice, take a cab and explore the restaurants in town, although they may only be slightly cheaper (including taxi fare) the food will be much better...guaranteed!

Room Tip: Studios are okay for sleeping but crampted for socializing.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Nick N:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace.We are very happy to learn you like all our properties, you have perceived the warmth of our staff’s service and you can attest to our compromise to maintain the highest possible standard of cleanliness, which we know our guests expect when staying at our properties.

Comments like yours are an incentive to continue perfecting our performance. We are certain our culinary experts will gladly receive your feedback, as they always look to please our guests with their creations.We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the nearfuture.

Warmestregards,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at this resort in October 2013 and enjoyed our stay very much. We had a nice room on the 7th floor with an ocean view. We had to agree to attend a timeshare presentation with a free breakfast to get this room. Again, they tried very hard to sell us a timeshare, but we did not buy. This vacation in PV was for some well-deserved R & R, not timeshare hunting. Staff was very accommodating. Whatever request we had was taken care of in matter of minutes. The gym on the first floor opened at 6 am and we made good use of it everyday. If there was a down side to this resort, it did not offer free wi-fi. Housekeeping staff was awesome...Hersey Kisses on the bed every evening. Nice. I would definitely stay here in the future.

Pros:
Nice room
Beautiful grounds
Sparkling pools
A short bus ride to Walmart & Sam's Club (about 65 cents)
Safe (vault) in room
Kitchen with utensils
Friendly staff

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantaClarita_CAJakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews