We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$315
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
US$317
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$401
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$297
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$500
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveller rating
402
378
152
60
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
378
152
60
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbakal restaurantmarina locationmain buildinghigh pressureocean viewrci exchangetimeshare sharkssunset barrestaurants and shopssales pitchbedroom unitliving areanice resortthe check in processsmaller resortcity tourtacos
Filter
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed the week before Christmas 2013. The complimentary airport shuttle arranged with the concierge by email was a Godsend! We walked straight through the 'shark-tank' looking neither left nor right and on passing the final set of doors the first person we saw was holding a Vida Vacations board - we were placed in a taxi within seconds and were going through the check-in process within 30 minutes of the wheels touching the runway!! Got passed to the timeshare team who offered a "member update" presentation. Declined politely but firmly. You don't fly all the way from the UK to waste a day of your vacation! We were not troubled by the salespeople again during the week.

Mayan Marina is a beautifully kept resort which is much smaller than the huge Mayan complex at Nuevo Vallarta, which for just the two of us was a plus. As other reviewers have said, the location was one of the best features. A stroll from all the restaurants and shops in the Marina; a cheap and regular bus service to downtown; even taking taxis from here won't break the bank. They're fixed price as well, so no rip-offs on that front. We didn't eat at the resort, preferring the eateries nearby. Early evening there are some great deals at the marina - Restaurant Brasil did an awesome steak or ribs wood-cooked, and their Brazilian take on the Margarita was to die for!.

Lazing around at the pool or the beach was a lovely way to spend the afternoons (weather was perfect) and the 2-for-1 cocktail hours passed all too quickly. Avoided paying 1-for-1 (and the waiters helped us time our purchases!) which is too expensive in our opinion. Penny-pinching mentioned in other reviews was disappointing. Even the bottle of water in the room on our arrival found its way onto the bill:( For Wi-Fi we visited the café across the road, where it's free, rather than pay the hotel price - we could get breakfast for the same money!

RCI reviewers remarking that they got a poorly placed room unless they attended the presentation may be being paranoid - we're Mayan members but still wound up in a street-facing room with nothing but trees to look out at. Since we only used the room for sleeping we didn't make an issue of it. Disappointed that in a suite there are no coffee-making facilities; larger units have kitchenettes, of course. The Oxxo concenience store just across the road dispenses a very drinkable Grande Americana for just 17 ptas, though.

The highlight of the visit was the whale-watching excursion (reviewed separately at Vallarta Adventures). We've been in whale-country on a number of occasions, but always at the wrong time of year - not this time :)

We'll definitely return, although next time I think we'll book a larger unit. Although there were some niggling drawbacks the plus points for this resort one the day

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bob831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Bob831 :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay with us at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our drinks options, and took advantage of the promotions available during your stay.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I've been to different Mayan properties in Nuevo Vallarta. This one beats all other ones just for one reason. Location.

While all others Mayan resorts are hidden somewhere on north, this one is actually near Centro and Marina Vallarta which gives you quite many food options.

You can walk to Marina Vallarta main area (Try to find a small door to the main Marina area first). Couple good restaurants that I found are
El Coleguita
Route 66 (I know it's American food, but it's better than many American diners)
Banana Fajita
There are couple more but I cannot think of.

I stayed in PV for 2 weeks (1 week at Mayan) and I needed laundry. There are laundromat near hotel in main Marina Vallarta area. 1 - 3 kg for 650 pesos and 3 - 6 kg 1300 pesos.
10 dollars for a big big bag of laundry. They are so professional, and washes came out perfectly.

You can catch a bus right front of hotel to go to the Centro. In order to get back, catch any bus that says "Marina Vallarta".

In terms of hotel, rooms are just rooms. Nothing really special about the rooms at Mayan Palace. Service is normal. There is nothing really special about the hotel anymore. But if you like quiet and relaxing hotel, this might be the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Burgerkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Burgerkim :
Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at Mayan Palace.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we stayed here pursuant to an rci exchange from our normal timeshare. We had read the reviews before our trip and of course were aware of the extra charges for the internet etc. Besides not getting an oceanview room because we wouldn't go to the presentation, which really didn't matter to us, the staff were great, service was good, food at the pool and restaurant was good. Our maid Yolanda was wonderful. We were there for a relaxing vacation and that is what we got. What we did to access the internet was go across the street, have breakfast at the little restaurant and used their free wifi. It is just unfortunate that the mayan palace chooses to nickel and dime their guests by charging the outrageous rates for the internet, room safe and second bucket of ice from the ice maker where these charges could be included within the regular room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DANA574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear DAN A :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace, and we are delighted to know you liked the pools and our food options. Thank you as well for your kind comment about our housekeeping staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We are certain Yolanda will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice hotel. Our room was a suite. It is a good location in regards to the Marina. The beach is not the greatest. Very small and not the best but it is better than no beach! Rooms were very nice and large with great views.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aoertli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear aoertli :
Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. and we are delighted to know you liked your room.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you and your loved ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

During the first week of December, we spent a week at the Mayan Palace, celebrating a "0" birthday. It was wonderful! We take sister trips, often, yet had never visited Puerta Vallarta (PV). PV is a timeshare mecca. We visited 3 other resorts--yes, 3 different presentations, but it was fine. I personally prefer the Mayan Palace at the Marina--we visited the Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta--it's gorgeous, it is surrounded by beach on 3 sides, it is most contemporary and humongous, but it is 20-25 minute cab drive from the city--its idyllic suburbia without grocery stores, movies, shopping! At the Marina, we were able to take the bus (kind of bumpy, kind of crowded). It got us to the grocery store, the movies and the mall within 8-12 minutes. Oh, and the Mayan! It's a beautiful resort, a bit older, yet lovely, immaculate, lush and colorful floral and fauna, a sparkling pool, great restaurants on site--the BAKAL, and the one with the karaoke night (however, the couple of nights we visited--we never found it "jumping.") We had read the Trip Advisor reviews and were prepared to be offered a room on the bottom floors. We were -- but we immediately signed up for a presentation and went directly from the 1st to the 5th floor in the main building. It was great! There were 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a mirrored sink just outside of the master bath. There was a bathtub in the master, but not the jacuzzi to which were are accustomed in an RCI resort. There were 2 full sofas with pull-outs in the living area, a nice dining area in between living and the kitchen (no oven or dishwasher in the kitchen, but our helpful maids took care of the dishes--unlike at The VILLAs down the way). Each of the bedrooms and the living area had their own sliding door with roomy patio. Our room overlooked the Marina--we didn't get the beachview, but on the 5th floor, the view was fine. (Neither of the patio doors locked, but we paid it no mind, and I'm the scary type.) The decor was modern--TV needs updating, the beds comfortable, all the floors marble and many closets with more than enough hangers (4 women with lots of clothes and shoes). We had room service probably 4 times: 1st day breakfast, a dessert night, and a couple of separate orders for the oddball sister of the night. ALL of the food was delicious, well presented and very timely. The portions were adequate, but being from Big D, the pieces of cheesecake just did satisfy--it was yummy, but could have been a tad bit more. Wi-fi service was a bit of a hassle, we never actually got it in our room (for $80 a week) and when we went downstairs, it was sketchy and even in the Business office, there were connection problems. Everyone was cordial and helpful--they need hotel envelopes at the service desk--oh, and get your stamps there and mail your postcards and letters. We did Morning Yoga in the open salon by the Beach and pool games in the middle of the day. We did the Paradise Village presentation on the 2nd day we were there--we got complimentary bus and boat tours (got to see one of the first whale sightings of the season--less than 100 yards from our boat--scarey!--and a discount for that RHYTHM of the NIGHT Spectacular--kind of a Cirque de Soliel a la Mexico. Once we acclimated to that pesos thing, we got around the city with little help--but when we did ask for help, it was readily available. Lots of the people understand English. I said earlier, that we often rode the bus--for short trips, but always took cabs back and at night--felt very safe. Each day that we were out, we'd be heading back to our resort and one of us would sigh, joyously and say, "Another wonderful day, girls," and we'd all agree. Unfortunately, or rather fortunately, we got to stay in Puerto Vallarta an extra night when our flight was cancelled due to the iceover in Dallas. We spent the night at the Villas, near the boat terminal--dated, very dated, but again close to everything--just down the block from Pizza Inn and SAM's and Walmart. I would go back to the MAYAN, it was a great experience.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor, main building, far end, away from the night club/sports bar. Didn't hear anything!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Maffles :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, and took advantage of the promotions available during your stay. We are also happy that you consider our resort to be beautiful and you selected it to celebrate such a special occasion, happy belated birthday!

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews