We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing low key environment”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #30 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We very much enjoyed our time at the Mayan Palace. It is a smaller resort and we enjoyed that it was easy to get to the pool and the beach. We didn't partake of the planned activities and games but they were available and people seemed to be enjoying them. I think any place you stay at the marina you must be prepared for weddings and parties that can go on until midnight or later but they really didn't bother us and were at adjoining resorts and not the Mayan Palace. I agree with other reviewers that the furniture was a few years old but everything was spotless and they were constantly painting and maintaining things. I think this was because we were there at a slower time during the high season. Everybody was very helpful and attentive. The only complaint I have is that they charged for internet- about $7/hour and a commensurate amount per day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edie108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Edie108 :
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and we are grateful for your kind words about our overall staff’s service, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

We are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and this is very useful to us.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Mayan Palace in Marina Vallarta is a lovely small jewel . Check-in was seamless except for the usual time share deal making which is a bloody bore. The common areas of the property are beautiful and very well maintained-the guest rooms could use a bit of an update, but certainly they were clean and well appointed-the linens were fine but in need of an update as well. The real jewel in this property's crown are its staff members who (timeshare sharks notwithstanding) were polite, courteous and hard working without fail. It would be nice if the pool were heated. and the music around the pool not quite so loud. All in all this property is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maxlolasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear maxlolasf :

Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at Mayan Palace.

We really thank you for your kind comment about the staff and the service they provide.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We wanted to stay closer to downtown on this trip and were not disappointed. The Mayan Palace is a smaller version of the much larger resort at Nuevo Vallarta. The staff was friendly and the resort was very nice. Easy to get to the pool and to the beach and was not over crowded. We enjoyed a very low key, relaxing vacation. The one complaint I had was the timeshare presentation. We had been to them before and like to see what is new and enjoy the "bribes" they are willing to give you for attending the presentation. This was by far the most aggressive one I had ever been to. They would not take no for an answer and I am a timeshare owner! The sales people were arrogant, rude and very aggressive. The 90 minute presentation took 6 hours! We lost a day of our vacation. I was livid! Never again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenmom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Sometimes you want the reeeally big resort for fun and entertainment. Sometimes its nice to get away to a smaller resort that has everything you need without the noise and commotion. Yes, we went to look at the NEW Nuevo Mayan Palace, very nice but thanks anyway, not for us this time. This charming little jewel is within walking distance to the marina with restaurants and small grocery stores for everything you need. The concierge gave us great tips on restaurants (our anniversary too). You can take a taxi very inexpensively to the old town or shopping mall so we didn't even rent a car. The lobby is lovely with a charming view of water with ducks and a patio that extends over it with chairs and tables under shade. The pool was almost deserted as we were there the last week in August and they were closing for the month of Sept. to "update and refresh" the place. Our room was nice and no complaints. Perfectly adequate and comfortable by our standards. The outdoor pizza place with wood-fired pizza was our favorite for a light dnner or little lunch. There is a bar with lounges and curtains that blew in the wind during the day right on the beach which made it a really nice spot to relax too. When we heard this was the "old" Mayan, we didn't expect much but we were rewarded with delightful surprises as far as location, amenities, decor, staff and comfort. Oh, beware the timeshare salesman across the street. He dogs you everywhere you go and flat out lied to us about a few things. But now we know and Definitely we will go back !!

Room Tip: The higher the better. We were on the street side but if you get up high enough you can see the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C.C. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear C.C. W :
Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are also happy that you consider our resort to be beautiful and you selected it to celebrate such a special occasion, happy belated anniversary!

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at this Mayan Palace in December 2013 for a week. It should be noted that there are 2 Mayan Palaces in Puerto Vallarta, this particular one is the oldest one & is much smaller than the newer one. The newer one has a lot of their different buildings with the different timeshares on it's property. The older one we stayed at was much smaller & more relaxing. We did go to the other one to check it out & if you have children then that would probably be the one you would want to go to as it has a lazy river & like I said it is just so big that it would offer more for the children. Since I am older & have a little trouble walking the older Mayan was perfect for me. There was 5 of us that stayed there, ranging from age of 40's to 76 and we all agreed that we were happy that we chose the smaller Mayan. Some did water acrobatics ever day and some played bingo every day. We cooked breakfast in the room every morning & usually ate lunch by the pool. Then dinner was on the patio where every evening the resort next to us set off fireworks. If you dined at the buffet between 6 & 7 pm it was buy one dinner & get one free. They gave you a different complimentary cocktail every night we were there which was really good. This resort was about a block from their marina & one night we walked down there where they have shops & restaurants. We ate at a Mexican restaurant where they made the guacamole fresh at your table & you could have it spicy or mild anyway you wanted it, it was delicious and the rest of the food & drinks were good too. You only had to walk about 2 blocks to catch the local bus which runs all the time about every 10 minutes, they have good bus service like Honolulu, Hawaii. I was really surprised & if you tell the driver where you want to go he will let you know when to get off. I should say the buses have signs on the front saying where they are going. We took it down to the Boardwalk one day to shop & just sightsee. Saw some whales jumping out of the Ocean that day. We also took the bus to Wal-Mart to buy groceries and then took a cab back to the resort. Everyone at the resort was very accommodating, we had good food by the pool & the restaurant. The hamburgers were especially good, and of course the Miami Vice drinks were also good. They had the 2 for 1 drinks at certain times during the day. Oh they also have the ceramic painting that you can do, that is a lot of fun, they have a large selection of items you can paint, and you can paint as little each day as you want & then go back the next day to pick up where you left off. When you finish they take it home & touch up all the outlines you might have messed up & they put little details on it for you & then seal it. We love doing this, it's relaxing & fun. The children love this too. They also provided us with complimentary airport shuttle service from the airport & they were waiting for us when we arrived. We did arrange for them to transport us back to the airport too. We all thought Puerto Vallarta was beautiful. We usually go to the Mayan Palace Riviera in Cancun which we love, but this was a nice change & I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mykiacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear mykiacat :

We are glad you have decided to post a review as it helpful to further enrich our performance and give other travelers a better idea of what to expect. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, you perceived the resort’s cleanliness and took advantage of the promotions available during your stay.

We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you and your loved ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

In all of our past stays i would have to say that this resort has always done a fantastic job in following through on all the services provided at the resort. This resort is always maintained and upgraded. Service is second to none. As a member we have gone to the owners update and have thought all the information to be benificial and useful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Carl S :
We are gratified to hear about your visit at Mayan Palace. and we are delighted to know you liked the facilities and accommodations. Thank you as well for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you and your loved ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed the week before Christmas 2013. The complimentary airport shuttle arranged with the concierge by email was a Godsend! We walked straight through the 'shark-tank' looking neither left nor right and on passing the final set of doors the first person we saw was holding a Vida Vacations board - we were placed in a taxi within seconds and were going through the check-in process within 30 minutes of the wheels touching the runway!! Got passed to the timeshare team who offered a "member update" presentation. Declined politely but firmly. You don't fly all the way from the UK to waste a day of your vacation! We were not troubled by the salespeople again during the week.

Mayan Marina is a beautifully kept resort which is much smaller than the huge Mayan complex at Nuevo Vallarta, which for just the two of us was a plus. As other reviewers have said, the location was one of the best features. A stroll from all the restaurants and shops in the Marina; a cheap and regular bus service to downtown; even taking taxis from here won't break the bank. They're fixed price as well, so no rip-offs on that front. We didn't eat at the resort, preferring the eateries nearby. Early evening there are some great deals at the marina - Restaurant Brasil did an awesome steak or ribs wood-cooked, and their Brazilian take on the Margarita was to die for!.

Lazing around at the pool or the beach was a lovely way to spend the afternoons (weather was perfect) and the 2-for-1 cocktail hours passed all too quickly. Avoided paying 1-for-1 (and the waiters helped us time our purchases!) which is too expensive in our opinion. Penny-pinching mentioned in other reviews was disappointing. Even the bottle of water in the room on our arrival found its way onto the bill:( For Wi-Fi we visited the café across the road, where it's free, rather than pay the hotel price - we could get breakfast for the same money!

RCI reviewers remarking that they got a poorly placed room unless they attended the presentation may be being paranoid - we're Mayan members but still wound up in a street-facing room with nothing but trees to look out at. Since we only used the room for sleeping we didn't make an issue of it. Disappointed that in a suite there are no coffee-making facilities; larger units have kitchenettes, of course. The Oxxo concenience store just across the road dispenses a very drinkable Grande Americana for just 17 ptas, though.

The highlight of the visit was the whale-watching excursion (reviewed separately at Vallarta Adventures). We've been in whale-country on a number of occasions, but always at the wrong time of year - not this time :)

We'll definitely return, although next time I think we'll book a larger unit. Although there were some niggling drawbacks the plus points for this resort one the day

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bob831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Bob831 :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay with us at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our drinks options, and took advantage of the promotions available during your stay.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#29 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
723 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#36 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £72 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Wyndham Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing