We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,074)
Filter reviews
1,074 results
Traveller rating
412
383
153
60
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
383
153
60
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bakal restaurant marina location main building high pressure ocean view rci exchange sales presentation timeshare sharks sunset bar restaurants and shops bedroom unit sales pitch living area the check in process smaller resort nice resort city tour
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 1,074 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Bad:
Check in took forever. Do not go to the Timeshare presentation they offer unless you truly want to upgrade what you have or buy one! Took up half of our day, they said it would only be an hour, and it was a great day to be in the sun, we were really bummed! The concierge never seemed to be there when we had questions and when they were there they pretty much just looked stuff up on the internet, no personal opinion, suggestions or offered experience which is what, in my opinion, makes a good concierge. The overall furniture and decor including rooms, lobby, beach chairs, etc. needs updating! The beach vendors are very annoying, they were relentless and we were just trying to relax. Be SO careful on the marble floors throughout the hotel, it is so slippery!! Hotel is a bit far away from the downtown/boardwalk area so you will need time and taxis to explore.

Good:
The best part about the hotel was the staff! We loved the pool! The pool staff, happy hour, bingo! A BIG shout out to Hector for making our pools days the best! The lady who cleaned our room was so sweet! Roberta at the front desk was very helpful and always very friendly when we saw her. She had suggestions and knew how to get us help to get set up for anything we wanted to do. The restaurant on the beach is great, relaxing, luxurious atmosphere, fun for karaoke. The city is great! Get out and explore, try new foods! The free city tour through the hotel was awesome for this! The marina is walking distance from the hotel which was nice for trying new places to eat. The hotel has a beautiful view when you walk in and also from the pool:)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paige K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We will gladly share your feedback with the staff mentioned, as working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us. The same way, it is pleasing to find out you liked the portions of our food options.

On the other hand, we are disappointed to learn about the inconveniences experienced during your visit since we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence.

Your feedback will be taken into consideration as our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

With all good wishes,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Jessica at the front desk was awesome! She was our go to gal. No AC in lobby so very uncomfortable for guests. Room was clean and staff was nice. Concierge was never there when we had questions. DO NOT sign up to attend the Timeshare presentation. They say it will only be an hour but expect to be there for 3-4+ hours! Be careful not to slip on marble floors. Hard to tell water is on them. The elevators did not work and we had to share with cleaning staff. Only one restaurant was open. Take a taxi vs the bus. Would not recommend staying at sister resort the Nuevo Mayan Palace. Very far away from town, too big, taxis dont want to go there. Too much like a disneyland resort. Overall the stay was nice but they could improve on lots of things.

Room Tip: Looking towards the ocean overlooking the pools from the other resort was a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Guest:
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are happy to receive your kind comment about our staff, as they always look to exceed all our guests’ expectations. We are certain Jessica will gladly receive your feedback.

On the other hand, we regret that your stay was different from what you had expected. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. With that in mind, your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas.

Your feedback is always welcomed.

Warm regards,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

All of the food at this resort is up and beyond The Best!!!!!!We have been to all of theses except for the one in Puerto Presno and for years we have been going.They can be a little pricey but you get what you pay for plus in the units there are frig,s and micro,s so leftovers-No Problem.

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank icgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, General Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear guest,

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay
We are also happy to learn that your meals were enjoyable at our Restaurants. We are certain our culinary experts will gladly receive your feedback as they always look to please our guests with their creations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely, Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Two girlfriends and I spent a week here. The resort is on Bandaras Bay with beach access right from the pool area. Water was warm, no waves though due to it being a Bay. The resort is small but beautiful and has most everything you need. The onsite restaurants are very affordable and the food quite good! The staff/service is excellent and the Joya staff was fun getting you involved in activities like water aerobics, bingo, water volleyball, beach volleyball, yoga, dance comp, etc. They don't have kayaks or paddle boards to rent but we walked down the beach to another resort and rented from them. We stayed in a 2 bedroom with 2 baths, kitchen and balcony. The pool area is beautiful with an adult only pool with a swim up bar. Iguanas roam around the grounds and are fun to see. Kudos to all the staff for making our vacation so enjoyable! I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank JeanieKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, General Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay.
We are delighted to find out that you enjoy our restaurants, our activities and the service.
It will be our honor to welcome you once again at the Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta.
Sincerely, Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We just left the resort today and want to say that it was such a wonderful experience. The resort is right on the beach, very clean and the staff was so personable and friendly. One of the waiters that work the pool area was one of the best and we loved getting to know him. They all work so hard but Oscar took such amazing care of us and took the time to get to know us. He remembered our names and what we liked to eat and drink. He truly made our trip unforgettable. The resort is very close to the marina. We walked there every morning for breakfast and evening for dinner. Such a wonderful trip! Thank you Oscar and Mayan Palace!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Crrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, General Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear guest,

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay.
We are also happy to learn that one of our waiters took good care of you and that made you enjoy your trip even more.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely, Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews