We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #26 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just right!”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Stayed at Mayan Palace for a long weekend earlier in the month. Older property, but very well cared for, with everything you need. To respond to earlier negative reviews, we had all the ice we needed at no charge, and we were not charged to use the room safe. Location near the Marina is perfect for people/boat watching, shops, spas, and many restaurants. We ate at Victor's, Tequila and Guacamole, and Angelo's Chophouse. All were great meals at a very reasonable price. (most expensive was $25 per person including drink). Most of the restaurants post their menu and specials outside, so you can walk and check the menu's to see what sounds good. Some of the hostesses will even barter a little for a free drink, or dessert. Resort is very quiet, and relaxing. They have some activities, water aerobics, yoga, beach volleyball, bingo, and horseshoes. We had room service one evening, which I would recommend everyone doing at lease once. They bring the whole restaurant to your room table, Little bottles of ketchup, mustard, mayo, butter, bread, salsa, cloth napkins, even a fresh flower. For 2 of us, soup, sandwich, and fries, with tip was less than 300 pesos. To summarize, the Mayan Palace is not a new, huge, bopping resort. But it is comfortable, relaxing, and a good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAGJFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    312
    122
    51
    62
See reviews for
269
297
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Not sure what to think of the other posts but we were not nickled and dimed. We got ice anytime at no charge and the safe in the room is free.
We have been coming here for 8 years and as usual the staff is very helpful.
A couple of new things since the last visit is they have wireless internet in the room (yes, you pay for it), they have the three major English channels on TV and there are less timeshare people on the street (although watch out in the marina).
Rooms are clean and comfortable. The only problem this trip is the heater on the pool was broken but the lower pool is still warm.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglasC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The grounds were very well maintained and pretty, but there was no direct path to anywhere. The routes were long snaking paths. A one bedroom that sleeps six, we were four, and only one full bathroom is stretching it. This season has been cool to cold and this was the coldest pool I have encountered in nine years of Mexican travel. Staff were pleasant and very helpful. It all goes back to the room, it was not a PALACE. A better value can be had at a Motel 6.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjlivesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Mayan Palace near the Marina in Puerto Vallarta. It was very pleasant. I've read some bad reviews on this resort and I wonder if we were at the same place because we experienced nothing negative on our stay. From check in to check out the service was great. I did not feel that the restaurants at the resort were over priced. The resort was much smaller than other Mayan Palace resorts and we felt that was a plus. It was very convenient to the Marina where there were many shops and restaurants.
All in all we had a great time and will return again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
449 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We checked into the Mayan Palace in the Marina of Puerto Vallrarta without difficulty. The check in process was smooth and without a glitch. We were on an RCI exchange. We were in a one bedroom unit overlooking the entrance, no view essentially as is typical of exchanges. This was not an issue for us. We drove so we did have to pay for valet parking and due to being an exchange we were told would have to pay for use of safe which they never billed us for. Either way we found the valet worth it for the safety and having our car in covered parking. After check - in they of course asked us to go to a member's update meeting ( timeshare pitch). We did go as we had some questions and were given member bands ( we are members) and also 3000 peso room credit, plus a 10 % discount and promo tours. We must be crazy Ugh LOL.

Our room had a living room with 2 couches that pulled out to make beds, a small TV, 2 lamps, end tables, a side chair and large coffee table. Small balcony off living room. Connected dining room had table with 4 chairs, and the kitchette off that with a variety of appliances, pots, pans dishes, sink, coffee maker, blender, toaster, microwave, etc. We did not need anything essentially. The refrigerator was the small apartment size so might have liked a bigger refrigerator. Ice was available throughout the resort, every other floor. The bathroom was off the bedroom and also off the kitchen, connecting doors with a seperate and second sink and vanity between the kitchen and bathroom entrance. Thus we had 2 sinks, 2 vanities, a toilet, tub with shower and these were stocked daily with shampoo, soap, lotion, shower cap etc. Bio spa brand.
The bedroom had a large closet with another large closet in vanity area off kitchen. King size bed with a firm mattress, Tv and in room safe,sliding doors onto a small balcony. The whole unit was a good size and was maintained very well with nice decor.
Bottled water was in room but use of it would incur a cost of 20 pesos for 1.5 liters, quite expensive. There is an Oxxo, jut up the block or a Grocery store in the Marina, we shopped there for groceries. Internet was 70 pesos for one hour or a daily charge of 170 pesos with your own computer. We opted out on this. The service was excellent from the maids, to room service. They even had turn down service each night.
There is a gym on site and it has treadmills, elyptical machines, free weights, and many other options. There is a charge of 200 pesos for the week or 50 pesos per day/person.
There are a few restaurants on site and we did eat at one a few times, Bakal and got ice creams at Balance Cafe across street also part of Mayan. The resort uses a no cash policy so you have to charge your expenses to the room or pay by credit card. We found the prices at Bakal to be on par with other restaurants in the Marina, even having some deals on certain nights ie; Dinner Set menu, Mon. weds., friday soup or salad of your choice, 5 main course options and dessert. We ordered 2 for one pizza room service 2 times throughout our stay it was 140 pesos for 2 thin crust pizza's. very good. Dining out can be done on site or just a short walk away in the Marina with a lot of restaurants or via a taxi into town. Many, many options and varied prices.

The grounds of the resort are beautiful as is the case with all Mayan properties. Lush greenery, waterway, pool and ocean. The beach area is quite small with few chairs. There is a lounge type place right on the beach, nice for a drink and relaxing. This Mayan is much smaller than the one in Nuevo Vallarta but we liked it a lot due to the smallness and close proximity to Marina, shopping, restaurants etc.

The presentation was out in Mayan Nuevo. We did end up upgrading to a Grand Bliss, much like the Grand Mayan but larger units with golf and spa, parking and gym benefits included along with 8 month span for booking etc. No maintenance fees unless use. The sales pressure was not too heavy but of course might have been different if not upgrading. We utilized our 3000 peso credit for eating at resort and lo and behold we had a credit at end of stay which I had to use in gift shop, how sad!!! LOL.

We spent most of our week stay in PV, walking the marina, shopping, using the gym, resting etc. The weather was a tad chilly so the use of the beach was not ideal for us. The Marina really comes alive at night. Lots of people out to eat, drink and have fun in early evening. You can go up into the lighthouse for a drink and check out the view of the marina and beyond. The boats and yachts in the marina are a sight to behold. We did notice a foul smell at times when walking the malecon in Marina and unfortuantly it would be a turn off if it was dining time.

We ate at "Sticky Fingers Grill House" one early eve. Hubby had wings in teriaki ( approx.) 15 for 85 pesos, and a beer. I had coconut shrimp on a pineapple slice, with rice and Mango sauce, included 8 large shrimp for 170 pesos and also had a coupon for a free margarita. they have a varied menu from hamburgs to lobster etc. Food was good and prices on par with rest of Marina. We enjoyed our time there with good service and people watching.

We stopped at Balance Cafe many times for an ice cream cone and they were delicious with a variety of flavors some very unique. They also offer sandwiches, coffee etc.

We spent a lot of time chatting with timeshare off site salespeople, tour guides, shop owners etc. We did partake of a few timeshare sales while there, looking for a fractional, true fractional ownership not in pre-construction, we did get some great gifts ie: cash, added to our knowledge of sales and what is being offered, pricing etc., got to see some resorts we plan to exchange into or not, and no we did not buy any other timeshares though we did come close at one but lo and behold at the very end we found some discrepancies so the deal was off. We did not find any legitimate fractionals we were interested in and most were just marketing a vacation club or timeshares under the name of fractional. We learned a lot, helped a lot of off site sellers and enjoyed most of our time, of course this would not be recomended for a one time or first time trip to PV, we go many times a year so thus have much vacation time.

We also ate at and made great friends with some workers at "Gazebo" another restaurant in the Marina. They have soups, salads, seafood, fine cuts of meat and 2x1 margarita specials. We both had the Lobster Special. This included a baked lobster ( warm water variety, I prefer cold water), giant shrimp, fish, rice, & veggies. We each had a few drinks margaritas and beers and we also had an excellent dessert which is an absolute must try. Avocado Pie, sounds absurd but is delicious. Like a cold ice cream pie with exceptional flavor surprising both of us. The meal wa svery good, cooked perfect and the service by Oscar and Luis was fantastic. We will return here again for a meal and the pie for sure.

We walked the beach one day and visited many vender friends we know and folks working at Velas Vallarta where we vacation frequently. The beaches in the Marina are nice but many are somewhat rocky.

At the on site restaurant "Bakal" we had a variety of things. One night we went to Mongolian Buffet ( 190 pesos including dessert variety), which was excellent. Well worth the price. Another night we got the Dinner Set menu ( 149 pesos each, good deal) and another night we just ate off the menu. We enjoyed a very tender beef filet with potatoe and vegetables, bread etc. for 205 pesos and a tender Rib Eye for 285 pesos, slightly expensive but on par with Marina prices and very good and tender, not always the case for meat in Mexico. They had a shrimp turnover appetizer that was very different. The service was very good and the atmosphere was good as well looking out to ocean or at grounds of resort.

This first week went by pretty quickly but we also felt relaxed at end of week as we had time to just chill, sleep and relax. We checked out of the Mayan by 10 am, the check out time. We had done express checkout the night before so it was simple just turn in keys and get car. No discrepancies in bill. Off we went to another hotel Casa Isabel for the night and a few days in Nuevo Vallarta at Paradise Village.

All in all I would highly recommend this resort to all ages and physical limits including the handicapped. The location is good, the service great, acommadations very good and prices all within par for the area. We will definatly go back to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Marina even with our new Grand Bliss upgrade. A very relaxing vacation indeed!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bezerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Cloud, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

First of all, I want to start off this review by making note of the review below me and the comment regarding buckets of ice and being charged. I took the sign on the ice machines to mean that if you preferred bagged ice- you could have one a day or more for extra charge. There was nothing on the ice machines that had you enter your room number or anything that they could actually keep track of your ice tendencies. Maybe they had a hidden camera, I doubt it. Moving on...

Our suite contained one bedroom and an additional lockout room with two beds that was adjoined to our main suite. Checking in was a breeze, was asked about the time share- said no thank you and that is the last that we heard about it. Our rooms were very clean with maid service twice a day including turn-down service. We took a cab to Walmart to stock up on food for the week and had our groceries brought up to the room for us which was nice since we had a lot. Every single staff person- with the exception of the time-share workers- always greeted us with a friendly hello and a smile. We exchanged money at the hotel- lower exchange rate- yes but extremely convenient and if you plan on taking money out of the ATMs- the hotel's rate is actually better if you figure in the ATM international fees.

Pool area: Nice, but it seemed like a lot of the chairs around the pool had shade on them at least part of the day. The upper "adult" pool was in the shade until mid afternoon so that was kind of a bummer because those seats were really nice. Regardless- we all came home extremely brown! Happy Time is from 11-12 and then from 4-5. Drinks for 6.50 in a larger glass or you could split it into 2 different glasses for 2 people. Drinks had a pretty good kick to them and of course were tasty. Our favorite waiter was Gilberto- always so friendly and fun to talk to. We ate dinner at the pool bar one night- which was good. We also had Nachos con pollo around the pool one day- really good. On Tues and Sat it is 2 for 1 pizza at the restaurant. This pizza was SO good- it was brick oven pizza so the crust tasted amazing. We were really impressed with the pizza and it was by far our cheapest meal on our vacation- traveling with 6 people!

We went to the beach party on Tues night which was fun with decent food, all you can drink and a mildly entertaining show. Something fun to do where you don't have to leave the resort at all. Other places that we ate around PV and the marina were: Victors- go there for the experience, Mr. Creams- great breakfast, PortoBellos- good Italian, El panorama- awesome views and pretty good food, and Pipis- strong margaritas and great guac.

Overall- the hotel is older but we thought it was very nice and clean and nothing too fancy. The beds were a little hard but we slept fine all the same. I'm not a well-seasoned traveler but I've stayed at nice places such as Hiltons, Marriots in and around Mexico in addition to Palace Resorts. Although this resort lacked the luxury of the other ones- it was still a wonderful vacation and I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peca0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Just got back from this resort and would not go back. The resort was nice, the people working at the resort were nice and that is the two best things. This is the first hotel I have stayed at where they try to charge $30 to use the safe in the room. I thought that was one of the most Ridiculous charges I have ever seen. Their exchange rate was also lower than the banks in town. Every hotel I have ever stayed at in the past had an exchange rate comparable to the banks. They also have a sign on their ice machines allowing you to get one free bucket of ice a day and anything after that would be an extra charge. I felt the hotel was trying to nickel and dime me my whole stay. We refused to spend any money at the resort because of this. They also charge $15 a day for wi-fi. I thought that was a little steep. I feel if you are a owner there they probably take care of you, if you are not they treat you like a second class citizen. I have also heard multiple horror stories about their sales people getting up in peoples faces acting down right rude when they refuse to buy a time share. I will not go back to a Mayan resort because of the way they try to squeeze every last bit of money out of you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cole411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#43 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#105 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Property: Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Wyndham Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing