We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villas Loma Linda”
Review of Villas Loma Linda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villas Loma Linda
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villas Loma Linda”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

After being harassed and goaded by the "Public Relations Staff" at the Puerto Vallarta airport (whom doubled as time share sales people) and paying an enormous amount of 260 pesos for a 20 minute ride, we finally arrived at Villa Loma Linda front lobby. We were hastily shown to our room on Saturday afternoon by staff member who did not seem to be a regular employee. After being shuffled up and down the stairs (carrying my own heavy luggage) we arrived at our studio suite sweating and tired. Our basic review of the room was small but cosy. The view of the bay was outstanding and we spent quite a few evenings sitting on the balcony watching the sunset, the boats and the birds ending their day. One issue we faced on a daily basis was the noisy traffic right below us on Highway 200. The room lacked counter space for food preparation (even though we had a gas stove and sink). We were forced to improvise on placing the toaster and coffee maker in other areas of the room. The ceiling fan needed a good cleaning. We were afraid to use it for dust on it. The air conditioner was appreciated, but the air was blowing directly in our path. The staff (especially Jose) and the office administrator were very accommodating and friendly. The pool area was good but very quiet. We missed having a bar for refreshments during the day or evening. The water in the pool was extremely cold. The big gripe we had with the villa is the amount of climbing up and down the pathway to get back to the villa suite. We would not recommend this resort to anyone who has mobility issues or find it hard to climb hills or steps.

Room Tip: No Fitness Centre and request upgrade to a bigger room if you come in December.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Villas Loma Linda for a week in October. We found the place charming, well kept, and clean. It is a small resort, near the center of Puerto Vallarta in a great location. The pool area is very nice, and it has a second smaller pool up on a roof top patio with a fantastic view.

The only 2 negative things we would need to note, are that, if you stay there in October like us, or in the summer, P.V. is very humid and pretty hot, so, you should book one of the units that has air conditioning since the bigger units do not have A/C and we found it quite difficult to sleep at night in our 2 bedroom. This would certainly not be a problem in the winter months in high season when most people travel to P.V. The other thing, is that the resort is situated right up from the highway, and with the windows open, and at the pool area, it is quite noisy from the trucks and buses.

Lots of steps.

Room Tip: If you need A/C don't book a 2 bdrm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrie_and_Stephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

let me start off by saying i love hotels - i spend a lot of time at the hotel when i travel relaxing. and loma linda has a lot of great qualities that really impressed me. there were, however, a few items that i think you should also be aware before staying here...

first of all, my friend and i stayed in unit C6. it was magnificent - second from the top in the building and had the most amazing views from the front bedroom and the patio. i cannot even begin to describe how beautiful the views were - and the sunset from the patio was amazing. the entire patio is covered which was very beneficial during the day that it just rained and rained and rained. the jaccuzi on the patio also was a great place to relax - i started and ended my day in the jaccuzi.

as others have said, you open all the doors and windows and it is open air living. i found the unit to be extremely clean and everything in tip top shape. i loved the fact that each unit also had a purified water bottle available for use - it was a great touch. the units were huge - C6 was a two bedroom unit with a king bed in the front and two twin beds in the back. the living room was big enough to comfortably accommodate myself and my six friends (who were in other units) when we were forced to spend a day indoors because of the torrential rains.

there is no daily housekeeping which is fine. but just be aware you have to make your own bed every morning. there is a way to exchange towels every few days, but we did not bother to take advantage of this service.

it is quite a climb from the pool up to C6 - but you can survive. just know there are lots of steps - not good for those who cannot climb steps easily. and the walk down to the beach is fairly easy (although again lots of steps) - but definitely pay a taxi to bring you back up at the end of the day - i did the walk up once and continued to sweat for 20 minutes after reaching the top - it is worth the few pesos to have a 1970s taxi bring you to the top. consider it helping support the local economy!

so what is the major caveat? there is NO air conditioning in the two bedroom unit i was in. it is my understanding that the one bedrooms have air conditioning but the two bedrooms do not. even though we had all the windows open and the ceiling fan at full blast, i was not sure i was going to make it through the night. nothing is worse to me than being hot when trying to sleep - and the heat and the humidity of september almost made me leave and go to another hotel. i toughed it out through the night, and it luckily cooled off a little for the remainder of the trip. i am sure in the winter months that air conditioning is not as important, but i really would have liked it.

if you don't mind an off the beaten path place to stay, i would highly recommend this place - you really get a great value for your buck and some spectacular views. i want clean accommodations, and this place delivered on that want.

Room Tip: get a room in the C building - those all have jacuzzis on the patio - and the rooms are C1 to C7 - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFOFLYBOY, General Manager at Villas Loma Linda, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thanks Bill for the nice review. I happened to be at Loma Linda for the time period you were there staying in C-5, the villa below you.

You and your friends happened to have picked probably one of the hottest, most humid times you could be in PV. We had the tropical storm Manuel approaching and Hurricane Ingrid racing across Mexico to create the perfect storm. I personally have been in PV during September for the last 14 years and I have to admit it was one of the hottest most humid Septembers I've ever experienced and I like it hot. While it is true that most of the 2 bedroom villas do not have air, there are a few that do and 90% of the year AC is not necessary due to the ceiling fans throughout the villa and cooling ocean breeze. The one bedroom and studios all have AC.

In regards to making your own bed. We do provide maid service daily except Sundays and public holidays. Towels are changed on Sat, Tues, Thurs and can be exchanged at anytime upon request.

So thanks for joining us, I was told you and your friends were great guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I have never understood why people go to foreign countries and stay in the fancy all-inclusive hotel's.... Don't we want to interact with the people, culture, and get a real taste of that country?

Villas Loma Linda is the best kept secret in Puerto Vallarta! It is far away from the tourist infested area near the airport. It has been a time share in my family for almost 30 years. We used to fight over who would get it each year...

We go to PV in September which is considered the winter time for PV. It is amazing at night as the thunder crashes over the ocean and the lightning lights up the night sky like fireworks. We LOVE it! The storms rush in and rush out so quickly ..leaving a perfect paradise filled with lush tropical greenery and singing birds. Some mornings.. when I am up early I can usually find a gecko or an iguana sunning themselves by the pool or waterfall.

It is so beautiful. Traditional Mexican architecture with large open area's throughout the spacious open unit's. The kitchen is quite large, we cook a lot of meals at "home" while we are in PV. Usually one person is working the blender for the best in-house Margaritas.. while another is brewing coffee and/or preparing a meal. There are views of the ocean and jungle's from every window or door. Large verandas boast Jacuzzi's, bars, barbeque, and seated bench area's for eating , reading or sunning. Most unit's have large umbrella's and somewhat enclosed patio's.

There is a large pool below us and another on the opposite building roof. The large pool is natural salt water and has an adjoining Jacuzzi and waterfall.

The gardener's are always planting lush plants and trees. making it a true Paradise. Seriously.. this is my escape when life gets to be tedious!

Sylvia runs the front office and is always attentive and accessible. Jose is usually at the front desk and calls in reservations for the tastiest of restaurants. ( my favorite is Café de Artiste ), He is on hand for any excursion or reservation needed. Edgar is the best masseuse , ever. After a long day of boating, diving, or crazy antics on the zip line.. he just melts your over-worked muscles into oblivion!

Villas Loma Linda is Beautiful, Spacious, near the beach, completely safe, and so much fun.
I come here with family, or.. I come with a fun group of friends.

It is ALWAYS the perfect get-away!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Had a great time here. Beautiful property. The floor plans are spacious and there are so many folding doors in the living and dining areas that open up to beautiful vistas. 5 minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the pier. The help was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have come to VLL every year since 1990. It is so homey, good service, always cleaned to perfection, all the staff is great, and like last year had some problems during rains, and got moved to another unit. Sadly to say that 2014 will be our last year as timeshare owners, but will still have access if we want it.
Quiant, lots of room, private in the older part of town, but easy access to bus system, good walking to town, Malecon, or beach. Their most recent remodel of infinity pool, lower pool, and updates to some of the units, makes it even more cozy.
Their only set back is no A/C, which is okay except in the summer months. The one bedrooms are very nice, and can sleep up to 4, the 2 bedrooms are up to 6. Worth it if you want to be away from the busy hustle of downtown.

Room Tip: The best rooms are B6, C6 and top of A building. They all have great veiws of Bay, and nice breezes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berenice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I just returned from a stay at Villas Loma Linda. Jose who checked us in was pleasant and helpful. Be prepared to pay an $80 maid service fee and $50 deposit in cash. Nearly wiped out our cash supplies on hand. The resort is a little dated Jose offered to trade our 1 bedroom for a studio with a view of the water. Nice unit but quite loud. The traffic noise goes day and night. After a while you adjust. The pool was nice but the beach more beautiful and warm. The views from the roof of this establishment are wonderful and might even include whales. Many guests own time shares here and return year after year so know each other but are friendly to strangers The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: The ones with the view are best but higher up probably is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelor1757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#41 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Terraza Inn
La Terraza Inn
#43 of 90 in Puerto Vallarta
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amapas Apartments Puerto Vallarta
Amapas Apartments Puerto Vallart...
#16 of 90 in Puerto Vallarta
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
V Azul Luxury Vacation Rentals
V Azul Luxury Vacation Rentals
#3 of 90 in Puerto Vallarta
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Loma Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Loma Linda

Property: Villas Loma Linda
Address: Hortensias # 37 | Fracc. Amapas, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Villas Loma Linda Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing