We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spring Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Club Punta Arena
Ranked #74 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Excellent Spring Break”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I went on spring break to this hotel and it was fantastic. The staff was amazing. We had a view of the sunset over the beach from our room, and the hotel is walking distance from the main strip of shops and restaurants. Overall it was a fantastic value for what we paid. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    140
    130
    67
    80
See reviews for
184
115
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This resort is "get what you pay for" style. The location is very nice and central and it is an easy walk into town. The rooms are clean and standard, but old and dated style-wise. The pools are satisfactory and the section of beach isn't bad. There are plenty of palapas and chairs at both the pool and beach, on most days. Now for the cons. The first night our plane arrived late, and we got to the resort at 9:30pm, the front desk clerk made 3 phone calls before even aknowledging I was standing at her desk, then she was curt as she checked us in. They had no food or suggestions of local places to offer us. They sent us 2 blocks away to a convenience store for hot dogs. (I am 6 months pregnant and I have an 18 month old daughter and we had not eaten since lunch on the plane, we had also been traveling for 12 hours and were all exhausted.) First impressions were not good at all. The electrical covers in our room were not well maintained. In fact the plates were falling off and things were open. I was very nervous with the set up because of my toddler. I am being realistic, because this tends to be one of the cheapest resorts in town. The food is very bland and pretty much mess-hall style slop, with the exception of breakfast which is actually not bad (and I'm not a breakfast person). For the price it was fine, we just pretended it wasn't an all-inclusive and ate out when we felt like it. The only other complaint I have, which may seem minor until you actually experience it, and truthfully is the only thing that would make me think twice about returning to the resort is the noise level and the large number of people they allowed in on THursday - SUnday. The resort had been quiet and enjoyable until then. All of a sudden on Thursday, the resort was overflowing with little Mexican children and families. There were no chairs, people were sitting on every inch of pool deck and grass. The small childrens pool (maybe 5ft in diameter) had 20-30 kids (no kidding, and mostly big kids) in it shooting water guns and rough-housing. The snack bar ran out out of food constantly early in the day. We were at the pool before they arrived on Thurs and literally there were families sitting down on our chairs, grabbing our towels and their children trying to take our daughters toys. Our towels went missing twice (they charge for "lost" towels) and we were only 2 feet away in the pool. I complained to reception who sent a security guard to stand by the pool, but he shrugged his shoulders and just said too many people. At night, the families gathered in the grassy area in front of the room we were trying to sleep in. They came onto our private patio area and sat in our chairs. The children were throwing around balls, playing soccer and screaming until around midnight. All of the families just left their room doors open and wandered in and out. Reception again responded by telling us they would send security which did not happen on any of the 3 nights this was a problem (my husband phoned down after 11pm to complain each night).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costachicaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Club costa is an older building but is very clean with very nice staff. If staying at the club, try to get a room on away from the pool side. Not because of the pool noise but from road noise thhat echos between buildings.
There is wi fi but only if you are in certain locations on the property or in the lobby by the front desk.
If you are interested in doing a zip line tour, talk to the concierge in the lobby and do the expedition tour. You will enjoy zip line, repelling, and tubing while everyone else has to do a basic zip line tour.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Only 10mins from airport, You are welcomed by very friendly staff. The Hotel rooms where standard, extremely clean and you are provider essential. It has a swimming pool, but if you preferred to go to the beach it was just at the end of the resort. There was a large selection of food. It was set that you helped yourself, and if you acquire seconds that was no problem. The bar had a range of different alcohols to choose from. I would definitely return to this Hotel. I would recommend to you too. Hope this help you deciding.

Room Tip: ask for a room towards the end of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diarmy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

this hotel is very clean and the staff are helpful and pleasant. However the food is absolutely horrible. You can get a lovely little hamburger on the grill near the beach but you cannot live on hamburgers! Also there will be nothing from around 430 until 630 (I am not sure of the exact hours) I cannot describe what we found in our chicken and fish- just do not eat it. In the morning you can have your eggs made fresh- the service for this is quick and efficient. Otherwise.....well just don't think you will get real juice- we are not sure what it was. The coffee is good- I suggest bringing a to go cup to take some with you. You are not allowed to remove food from there- not even sandwhiches at lunchtime. I forgot my shoes coming from the beach and I could not enter yet my husband could not bring me a sandwhich outside the open air buffet. But all is not lost. Go next door to the grocery store and you can get a lovely fresh sandwhich for ten cents! Or take a five dollar cab to town and the restaurants (Langostina right on the beach with the best seafood-cevice, coconut shrimp and steak with peppercorn sauce ) are to die for!!!! The hotel cost is so little above the air fare it is worth the price. Bring a hair dryer and be prepared to pay a small fee for a lock for your room safe. You might get some cold showers as well but if you leave it on for around 20 minutes it gets hot for most of the time. The staff also moved us from by the pool where is is extremely noisy without a fuss but we asked immediately upon getting there so I recommend that. There is a bank across the street and a scotiabank walking distance so the location is wonderful. Oh the beds and pillows are rock hard so if that is a problem either bring a pillow or buy a cheap one at the store next door. Puerto Valarta has so much to see- oh and GO atv and ziplining you get to take a burrow back up the mountain. It is the most incredible experience you can imagine. And the guides are very wonderful. It is called the canopy tour. Enjoy.

Room Tip: stay far away from the pool It is beyond noisy. Near the front lobby was quiet and near taxis and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed the last week of February, had a great relaxing stay. For a 2.5 star rating , this resort exceeded my expectations. All staff were very friendly and helpful, from the managers to the grounds people, there was always a "good morning" or "hello" to be heard. The meals always had a variety to choose from, and for the more adventurous there was usually a good selection of local dishes that you won't see at a lot of hotels. As for the room, yes the bed was hard, as are a lot of beds in resorts in Mexico. I did see the staff bringing in new beds during my stay so I am guessing they are working on that aspect. Room is fairly basic, bed, dresser, T.V. ,bathroom, good size shower. Good enough for what I needed, as I wasn't in room for much other than sleep. Location is great, 15 min walk to Malecon. Mega mart is next door. The beach is a very short walk from pool area, maybe 30 seconds to a minute. Beach was very empty during my stay. There were some beach vendors working there but were surprisingly not pushy, a simple "no thanks" and you would be left alone. One thing of note, the resorts on either side of the Costa Club are either shut down and or deserted/never completed. Yes this is a eye sore to look at but it is not the fault of the Costa Club that this has happened, if anything it makes the beach area more enjoyable as it it less crowded. The bars at the hotel were small, but the bartenders worked hard to keep everybody served as quick as they could. Jose and Mateo were great, remembering you and your drink of choice. Yes the bar closed by 10:30, but if you plan ahead, a trip to the mega mart during the day to get some afterhours refreshments is one way to work around the bar closing so early.
All in all, this is a great little resort, as long as you go in knowing it is a 2.5 star not a 5 star, you will be impressed with the services you recieve.

Room Tip: ground floors have a large patio. if you don't like your room, ask to move,if there were vacant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tallguy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Spent four nights/five days recently at the Costa Club Punta Arena All-Inclusive in Puerto Vallarta. Our stay was booked through Sunwing and was only $490 for a two bedroom suite, double occupancy. For what we paid and what we heard through others' reviews, this place totally exceeded our expectations. (I should mention that the place was quite slow during our stay. I would expect that – as for most resorts – more guests would mean more challenges for the staff and therefore your mileage may vary.) Conveniently located (it's an $80 peso cab ride to the airport), this is a family and senior friendly place. You will always get some yahoos who go to cheap all-inclusives to get hammered every day, but if you pick your vacation dates carefully, you can minimize your chances of encountering too many of them.

From the start, we were impressed by the staff and their eagerness to accommodate. We were already in Vallarta prior to our stay, so we stopped by the day before checking in see if we could score ourselves the best room available. The front desk girl gave us a key to go look at three suites in Tower 19; we ultimately ended up with a great place with an actual ocean view from the balcony. Most rooms on the property seem to have a balcony, although the majority face inside the resort. Also, since our flight out was going to be later in the evening on the day of checkout, we inquired about keeping our room until 4:00 pm that day. She confirmed that for $500 pesos (about $40), we could keep our room until it was time to go to the airport and continue to use our all-inclusive privileges. (Word of advice: if you do opt for this late checkout option, be sure to visit the front desk before the noon hour checkout because your room key will be automatically deactivated. We had to make three treks back and forth before we could get a proper replacement card that would let us back into our room.)

As others have said, the place is definitely older and needs some attention in certain areas. Our room had only one real working air conditioner, but on our four days there, it was actually overcast and showery, so it wasn't an issue. Toilets run a bit slow. They have upgraded the electrical system in some rooms to use your card key to turn things on and off, so our suite (while it did have a kitchenette with coffee maker, blender, toaster and gas stove) did not have a fridge. We tipped our maid generously to ensure that our room was cleaned well; in return we received some special decorative touches in the way our beds were made up.

The food was fine and probably above average for this category of resort. To be frank, if you can't find something to please your palate here on a daily basis, you need to spend more money and go elsewhere - and maybe not Mexico. The buffet was actually hot, fresh and sufficiently varied. On Valentine's Day, we ate our one meal at the a la carte restaurant and had a great shrimp risotto (give a pass to the caesar salad though – it was not executed in the way that you would expect). On the way out, I was also given a red rose, which was an unexpected bonus.

Paying less than $125 per day for two people, where else can you go that will serve you made to order omelettes/eggs at breakfast, hamburgers at lunch and pasta at dinner? Yes, the snack bar serves the same nacho chips, chicken nuggets/wings, tacos, hamburgers, fries and hotdogs every day, but they taste darn good. At the main buffet (which is laid out banquet style with 40-some tables, each with seating for 8), there are always two types of soup, an assortment of salad fixings, fruit, desserts, and fresh hot selections. They even had sushi rolls. I had fish every day and it was consistently good. My other half enjoyed his cream soups immensely. At breakfast, you can have cereal and oatmeal and fruit and yogurt if that's all you want, but you can also get ham, bacon, potatoes, french toast, assorted pastries, and traditional Mexican dishes. The only night that didn't really hit the mark for us was Mexican night, but that was probably because we didn't really know what some of the items were. But it's not like you're going to starve here, and for the amount that you're paying, you can (and should) go out and sample the food at the many restaurants in PV a couple of days out of your stay. Or if you're really on a budget, just go next door to the Mega and get something at the deli.

As far as amenities go, in your room you will find two complimentary bottles of water at the start of your stay. You can refill them from a bottled water dispenser in the main dining room. Soap, lotion and conditioning shampoo are provided. No coffee, no shower caps, no hair dryer, no clock radio and no face cloths apparently. (I have been to enough hotels in Mexico that don't have them that I travel with my own bright yellow one.) The in-room safe (not big enough to hold a laptop but good enough for a netbook) needs a key from the front desk that will cost $25 pesos per day. Wireless internet is free and is available around the public areas (front desk and pool) but we had a very good connection from our room. I can only speak for the suite that we were in, but there were a lot of electrical outlets, if you travel with things that need to be charged.

There are two smallish pools on site and a beach area that is fairly secluded given the closed/abandoned properties on both sides. We were not bothered by many beach vendors - again, the location did not merit having hundreds of vendors coming by - and the ones we saw were not aggressive. In terms of the beach, PV in general doesn’t have a great expansive beach like Mazatlan and this part of the coast in particular has a lot of rocks with grainy sand. But you can easily walk south to get to better beaches in the Old Vallarta area and catch a local bus back (just pay your six and a half pesos - a bargain and an adventure in itself).

After the evening meal, at 8:00 pm in the buffet dining room, they put on some decent entertainment for up to an hour. We saw the Mexican show and the magic show. The folks at Punta Arena are to be commended for everything that they provide for the little price that we pay. They apparently have a lot of return visitors who feel the same way. As they deal with their share of the downturn in tourism throughout Mexico, we hope they continue to thrive and persevere as a friendly, small resort.

Room Tip: Tower 19 has rooms with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Boromach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.8 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#65 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
260 reviews
2.0 mi away
San Marino Hotel
San Marino Hotel
#96 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
739 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Santa Maria
Plaza Santa Maria
#79 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
20 reviews
1.9 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Club Punta Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Club Punta Arena

Property: Costa Club Punta Arena
Address: Avenida Francisco Medina Ascencio No. 1737 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Costa Club Punta Arena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
207 Rooms, including 40 two bedroom suites and 167 estandar romos, 2 swimming pools and kid's pool, two restaurants, two bars, one snack bar and ample parking lot. All romos are equipped with electronic lock and safety deposit box. Kid's club, the perfect place for the Little ones so they can enjoy games, contests, artcrafts, mini - cinema, spanish lessons and plenty of entertainment. Lighthouse Costa Club, the ideal place to enjoy the panoramic view of Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Club Punta Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Club Punta Arena Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Hotel Punta Arena
Costa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Costa Club Punta Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing