We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip...LOVED Canto Del Sol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #31 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“First trip...LOVED Canto Del Sol”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

First vacation to Puerto Vallarta for four seasoned Wisconsin travelers. We LOVED our stay…everything about it. From sitting on the beach and several times seeing WHALES bridge the surface and their blow spouts to the kind people to our BEAUTIFUL resort. We loved the location of this resort as looking to our left we saw the beauty of downtown PV buildings going up the hill and to the right the expanse of the beach and resorts. We chose this time of year in hopes of seeing whales from shore and were not disappointed. Each couple has traveled several times to different Mexican destinations and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in PV. We will certainly choose to return at some point…perfect weather and beauty.

CHECK IN—We arrived early in the day so were given bands and allowed full access to the beautiful resort and all food, beverage, etc. We changed in to beach attire and left our luggage in a protected area, given a luggage tag. Later in the day we went back to the desk and found out which rooms we had with luggage to follow.

ROOM—We loved the room we were given. It had a king bed, great view overlooking pool and ocean. It was quiet, had good air and also had a frig, stovetop, sink, none of which we used. This room had the shower/toilet in closed room with sink area outside which is nice when getting ready in the evening. Hair dryer, complimentary hair items and two bottles of water were in room. Having never seen another room, assume this the standard but I don’t know. There was a keypad safe which was of standard size and no extra cost for us.

BEACH TOWELS—Our towels were waiting in our room for use but I’m not sure if that is standard…never had that at a resort before. There are towel cards which if you chose to switch towels for cards in the evening, you can. We always just get a clean towel when we think of it and have it if we are out on the beach before that area opens.

BEACH—We chose to sit down on the beach chairs every day under a palapa. There are two rows of them staggered in front of the resort retaining wall that go the whole length of the property. Although the side we sat on was always full, I had seen empty chairs on the other half of where the stair access was. We enjoy listening to the waves with access to the sand. True, the sandy area of the beach is not as deep water to resort as some of the places along the beach are but it was still nice sand where we sat in our chairs. I did swim in the ocean in front of our resort several of the days. In the ocean there are little stones but nothing that prevented me from going in barefoot. Once out from the in/out tide, it was enjoyable. No life guard at our resort so use common sense…the ocean is ever-changing and requires respect.

BEACH VENDORS--Yes there are many beach vendors and the same ones you will see each day. Many people choosing to sit on the beach realize the vendors are working and just go with the flow. Some tourists are not so kind. Knowing beforehand that you WILL be asked if you wish to purchase, just realize that a shake of the head or kind ‘no thanks’ or even sunglasses will help with this. And if this really bothers one, there are many lounge chairs up above where you can still see the ocean and if sitting close see part of the beach.

FOOD—We LOVED all of the food that we had. We ate at the surf and turf restaurant once and the Italian twice. We enjoyed the beach snack bar as well as the regular buffet. We ate all breakfasts at the main buffet…great omelets or eggs, bacon, etc. Always yummy fruit selections, yogurt, breads and the Mexican flare of their specialties. Always something different for one to try and believe it or not, much of the food served is customly enjoyed in MEXICO. Always find humor in people complaining about such a thing. There is so much to choose from that you really can’t go hungry. We altered between our lunch, snacks and supper meals. They had awesome special area for lunch sandwiches…prepare the chicken or beef meat on a grill and add to your choice of bread that they toast on the grill. Also, amazing salads for all lunch and supper meals. We never left without having a salad. The breads, as always in Mexico, were amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed all three specialty restaurant experiences. Quieter atmosphere with order from the menu of their selections. Greatly enjoyed our Italian coffee performance and beverage. 

WAITERS/BAR STAFF—AMAZING!!! We never had to look far before someone was coming to take an order with a smile. Like I said, we sat on the beach every day and there was always a waiter coming to take our order, taking our mugs with them and returning with a beverage of our choice or a ‘surprise’ as we liked to do. We could also order food from the snack bar and they’d bring that as well. Yes, we tipped…not every time but often. This is always part of our spending money when we travel. Enjoying and appreciating the fact that someone else will wait on us and clean up after us in a beautiful place…it is the least we can do to say thanks. My girlfriend and I enjoy chilled wine…even in the lobby bar, our bartender Chris learned one evening our preference and the following evening he had ahead of time put wine in the cooler to share with us. Nothing we asked him to do, we’d gladly use ice to chill, but the extra was greatly appreciated and made us extra happy. One cannot say enough about ALL of the workers we met. This is standard for those people staying for more than a day at the resort.

EXTRAS—We did watch one show and it was great but we also enjoyed just hanging out in the lobby at night. We had massages which were great. We walked the beach each day and enjoyed that. The pools are AMAZING!!! First resort I’ve been to that has a sitting ledge around the entire pool. There are several areas that one can leisurely sit in water a couple inches deep. There are sectioned off areas for the little ones to safely play, with lounge chairs nearby. The water temp was always welcoming. Pool bar was always busy but they always had enough staff to satisfy the lines. Entertainment people worked hard to get crowd involved…water aerobics each day as well as some competition or volleyball or polo. They also have beach volleyball which we saw several times. We only did one tour, a whale tour with Ocean Friendly of which we booked ahead of arriving to MX. We also only went downtown one day and walked the Malecon, stopped at the Sea Monkey, shopped, took pictures. Taxi was $5 both to the marina and to the downtown area. Could have done bus and not opposed to this, just tired on day we went and didn’t want to wait if took longer.

We enjoyed every aspect of our vacation…the people we met, our resort, the beauty. We are just lucky to travel and live life to the fullest, appreciating another blessing. Wishing you a HAPPY VACATION to a gorgeous resort…Canto del Sol ROCKS!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wisconsinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    999
    402
    159
    96
See reviews for
657
888
110
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niverville, MB Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Spending our last night at Canto Del Sol. This was our 6th time here and it will not be the last. We have had a fantastic time during the last 2 weeks. Everything was perfect. The staff go way beyond the call of duty. Jorge, Pablo, Fernando, Angel, Angel Senior, Armando, Chuy, our maid for Room 292 and the many others were extraordinary. Enjoyed meeting a lot of new people. Darryl, George, and Russ from Sask. , Renalda, Wes and the gang from Warren, MB, and all the others...it was a pleasure meeting all of you. Being at Canto really made everything special. Thank you so much.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnBarb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at Canto from Mar.1-11th and had a great vacation. As everyone says, the staff is totally awesome, the a la carte restaurants were very good. If you like to swim in the ocean this is not the place to go, red flags were always up. However, the walk up and down the beach is great. We would not hesitate to recommend this resort for your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemarlin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My girlfriend and I traveled to PV Mexico Feb 20-27th. We extensively researched where we wanted to stay for a relaxing sun filled vacation by the pool. After reading the reviews we chose Canto del Sol and we were very happy!

Check in was nice and smooth, always nice to be offered a cold Cerveza after a 5 hour flight! We were given our wrist bands and a lot of information to review. You do have to have a quick overview of the property with the activities desk I guess it is, but they just try to sell you timeshares, but as long as you're polite and decline the offers if you're not interested, then you're ok.

Our room was great, it was a standard hotel room, but with a beautiful balcony that overlooked the pool area and the ocean past that! The only downside of the room was a very weird noise that sounded like water pipes, only last about 20 seconds once a night and then it's over! Wasn't a big deal, we didn't ask to move because we didn't want to lose our beauty view!

What makes this hotel is the staff, as every review before has said! The staff don't stop! They don't stop cleaning the pool area, the hallways, your room is always spotless and they are all so friendly! Jorge and Eduardo by the pool, our dinner and breakfast servers were all great. They'll go out of their way to make sure you're happy and we couldn't thank them enough! Also Lucas and the activities staff by the pool are always keeping everyone entertained. Make sure to take part in some Tequila Water Volleyball, it's always a good time!

The worst part of the trip was the fact that we had to leave :(!


We'll be BACK!

Room Tip: Take a ride on the public bus to the town of PV, it's an experience! 7.50 pesos, make sure you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our seventh year back at the Canto del Sol. It is like coming home. The staff go out of their way to ensure that you have everything you need or could want. I visit twice a year, once with my father and then with my husband. You are greeted by name from almost everyone. Everything is super clean all the time. The food is great, especially love the Grill and the new Surf and Turf restaurants. It is an older hotel but extremely well maintained. It is nice and small and not overwhelming. Love the location close to town. Your every need is met by great staff - from Maritza and Omar at the front desk, through Nancy, Chuy, Victor, Jorge, Salvador, Oscar, Silfredo, Miguel, Manuel, Kathy and especially Hugo meeting our every need on the beach. Most of the staff have been there for years so it is great to see familiar faces every visit. Can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Canto Del Sol from Feb 26-March 5/14 and enjoyed ourselves tremendously! the rooms were ok but always VERY clean. The service was over and above what we have experienced at different (5 star) resorts. From when we arrived to our very last minute there. Oscar is the man to have serving you around the pool or at the beach! His easy smile and above excellent service would be hard to find elsewhere. He may very well be the reason we go back there again. We would recommend this resort to anyone and not hesitate to stay there again. The only draw back I had was that sometimes the tide came in to high so we couldn't sit on the beach. However, that was not a 'make or break it' factor for us. We felt blessed to have been cared for so well. Hat's off to the staff at the Canto Del Sol for EXCELLENT service!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It was our third trip back to Canto Del Sol and you can be sure next year will be our forth. We love the location, the hotel and their amazing staff. Very accomodating, friendly and helpful. I ran into some troubles with the bank machine and also my phone and the staff went out of their way to help me resolve the issues, EXCELLENT customer service! We were there for the last 2 weeks of February and overall it was great. We also found that we're not the only people there that have come to love the place..many of the people we spoke to said once they vacationed there they keep coming back as we did. Looking forward to many more visits there. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,553 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
536 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#38 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#61 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,516 reviews
9.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
7.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Property: Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing