We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #31 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had an amazing time staying at this resort. Being my first time in Mexico I was very pleased with the location, atmosphere, and ESPECIALLY the staff. Alan from water sports and Danny boy from entertainment were so friendly and welcoming, and made our stay here very memorable. The only complaints I had about this hotel is that the beach is very rocky so it is hard to go in the water and walk along the shore. Also at the end of our stay, an entire soccer tournament with hundreds of kids showed up and made us very uncomfortable. I would recommend considering other guests when hosting this type of event. Overall though, great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    994
    402
    159
    96
See reviews for
648
886
110
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed at Canto Del Sol from the 3/05/14 - 10/05/14 and it was honestly the best hotel I have ever stayed at. From the minute we arrived at Canto Del Sol we received a 5* experience. We arrived from what was possibly thee longest flight ever to the most lively welcome. The foyer was filled with dancers and waiters holding fruity mock tails. The staff informed us that they had upgraded our room, I travelled with my family of 6. We had booked 3 rooms and were told that we were being upgraded to one of their best rooms that was able to accommodate all 6 of us. At first we were all skeptical, however, when brought to the room, we were all amazed! We had our own balcony with sunbeds and a jacuzzi! The rooms were lovely, each bed had a robe, slippers, beach towel and a nice welcoming message displayed on it.
The whole holiday was perfect, the staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and to make sure all your needs are met. The waiters around the pool are the nicest, Guadalupe was our favourite. The entertainment staff are great too, very nice and make a big effort to make sure your having a good time, Daniel (Danny Boy) is great at making everyone around the pool area feel welcome, sits down and talks with you, a really nice person!
The food is amazing, especially if you want to enjoy true Mexican cuisine. The guacamole is a must! And they do not hold back on their measurements in drinks, trust me! Learnt that the hard way! The rum and cokes are just as much rum as they are coke! The only downside to the holiday was the Thomson staff that let us down on the trips we booked. If you do go on excursions, do not expect travel to and from the trips, it is not included and you have to find your own way there. The hotel staff were great at helping us rectify the situation when things went wrong with our trip. However, the Rhythms of the Night trip is a must! Absolutely amazing night! 5*! The holiday was amazing and I would defiantly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing sun filled holiday! I would defiantly return to Canto Del Sol!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZoeClarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have stayed at this resort twice before and were so looking forward to returning to one of our favorite places! However, things seemed to have changed. The room that we stayed in could use some renovation. The food didn't seem as good as on our previous visits. But it was the 200 kids that were there during our stay that pretty much made our vacation less enjoyable. Good luck on getting that evening cocktail as the line up at the bar was constantly filled with kids demanding their drinks. The buffet was also a disaster but most staff stayed on top on sending out the children running in with bare feet and no shirts. Incredibly noisy at night. Many couples had left for other resorts. We decided to stay but whether we ever return, remains to be seen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great location. a nice 20 minute walk to downtown PV.
Rooms were clean, large and enjoyed having a balcony. The staff is great and always remembered your name. Food and drinks were great. Overall it was a great resort for the price paid. The entertainment was ok. Beach ok but thats expected from PV. I never used the A la carte so no comment there. Yes the rooms are humid, yes some lizards are crawling around.
This is MEXICO it is to be expected. YES locals are allowed in the resorts. I dont understand such close minded fools who complain about that stuff "Sorry Canadians/Americans arent allowed in the resorts in Canada/USA" its no different. The little shop is overpriced, so buy your trinket elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAgent604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice before and the service was astounding. My previous review as a rave! This time was disappointing in regards to some of the staff being very unfriendly on several occasions. Notably the front desk and some of the buffet restaurant service.

We arrived at 10:30 am and told we could have a room facing the tennis courts (quiet) right now or wait an hour and get a room facing the ocean/pool (louder). We had asked for an ocean view in our booking, so chose to wait. Every hour we were told to come back in 30 mins...then another hour, then 20 minutes....it went on. After a while we just sat in the lobby. The desk staff knew we were sitting there...but never called us over. Finally at 3:30 we just took what was left...a room right above the restaurant with a blocked view. We then discovered several guests that day who had received a great ocean view room simply by request. The front desk staff were not friendly and all seemed a bit annoyed. We were very pleasant and grateful during every conversation - so not sure what happened. Based on my previous visits, I was surprised at the lack of a friendly welcome to the hotel.

In the buffet restaurant, we were also shocked at the lack of service and a friendly smile at times. There was even one breakfast where we had to ask for a coffee and some cutlery after 10 minutes. Several staff had walked by without a glance and it seemed an inconvenience. We tipped VERY well at every single meal regardless....but it was very disappointing as I have never had bad service at Canto in the past.

On the flip side, the Surf and Turf restaurant service was amazing...we had great fun and wonderful food (twice!). The Spanish coffee at the Italian ala carte was lovely and the staff who made it was so friendly. The woman who booked our ala carte meals was an absolute delight. The cleaning staff and pool servers were happy and friendly at all times.

The room size was average, with a very firm set of beds. They were very clean. Being over the restaurant was tolerable, but noisy first thing in the morning.

We would still return to Canto based on our previous visits...it is a small, accessible, family friendly hotel. I have read other reviews from this March with similar stories...so hoping this was just an off month for some of the staff?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGNtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosamond
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The minute you walk in, you can see the charm and warm of a beautiful lobby. The staff is friendly and ready to help out in every aspect of your needs. Waiters like Manuel and Guadalupe don't mind going the extra mile for your needs. In one particular day, my wife wanted Mango Margaritas which were not offered at the bar by the pool. Guadalupe asked where we got the drink and he went to the other bar and brought back the mixture so we could continue drinking Mango Margaritas. That is outstanding service and going the extra mile for the customers. The hotel is really centrally located to many restaurant and walking distance to excursions. Highly recommend the Rhythm of the Night show, the Mariettas to Playa del Amor which includes snorkeling. Snorkeling did not include the fins on the boat we took. So check first. Canopy Indio Zip line was fantastic. Oscar and Ricky, our tour guide made is very pleasant for everyone. The bus tour was great and definitely something to see as well.

Room Tip: If you get a room with a ocean view and balcony. You might want to check out the side of the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

1st May to 15 the may just returned from canto food great staff fantastic 1st flight out on dreamliner from manchester I would like to give a special thanks to Alberto and Sergio I have forgotten the names of the other staff but you are all special the management should give this staff a bonus because they deserve it the hotel is a bit dated but the staff make up for this because we where the first flight from England they gave us awonderfull reception

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederick i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,548 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#37 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,823 reviews
1.3 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#61 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,506 reviews
9.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Property: Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing