We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, family friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing, family friendly resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a fantastic week here just after Christmas and over the New Year's holiday. Travelling with a two year old is not always easy, but this resort was perfect for a family. There was little to no drunken partiers (go elsewhere for that!), the staff was outstanding, and the resort was well kept and clean. The food is the only downside - it tends to be repetitive and guacamole was completely absent! However, the little lady hand making tortillas at breakfast almost made up for it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank findley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    963
    395
    157
    93
See reviews for
620
845
106
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is a little tired and dated and could do with a makeover also the beach is not the best.
That's the bad news, the good news is that the staff are wonderful, they cannot do enough for you and do everything with a smile. The buffet restaurant had a good selection of well cooked food and salads. The snack bar also do a nice selection of foods. There are several speciality restaurants, the Italian is especially good. The pool area is lovely, constantly being cleaned and there was never a shortage of loungers even at the weekend which does get a lot busier. We stayed for fourteen days at the beginning of June and loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you are looking for an ultra modern chic hotel on large golden beaches then this is not the place for you; however if you are looking for a good comfortable hotel with fabulous service then look no further. The hotel is not particularly aesthetically pleasing; however do not let this put you off. The hotel is dated looking; some rooms have very small balconies, they also have interconnecting rooms.
When we arrived at the hotel, the staff made you feel extremely welcome. We were greeted with Mexican dancers, staff offered us cocktails and canapés. We were given cold face cloths. We were then taken to our rooms.
Rooms. We had two rooms, which were interconnecting, one room had two double beds; the other had a huge bed (larger than a King Size). Both rooms had a small kitchen area. Air conditioning was a little noisy. The rooms were cleaned each day, bedding and towels changed daily. Unlike some all inclusive hotels there is no mini bar in the room, two bottles of water were left each day. The balcony was on the small side, only room for two chairs, only one of our room had a balcony.
Pool area. The pool was lovely, it is not deep (think it was 1.4 m) and had a seat around the circumference of it. There is a children’s section to the pool. There were plenty of sun loungers and we could always find loungers regardless of the time. There is a towel hut where you could change your pool/beach towels as often as you wanted. Bar tenders walk around the pool and ask if you would like a drink or anything from the snack bar and will bring it to your sun lounger. The same happens on the beach. If you are sitting on the seat circling the inside of the pool, the bar tenders will stop by and ask if you would like a drink! Every day, fruit kebabs were brought around and ice cones, (ice with fruit flavouring poured on top). Staff also brought around cold flannels.
Beach. At the end of the complex, there were a couple of steps leading to the beach. It is a small beach just a couple of sun loungers wide, it has over the years been washed back with the hurricanes. Again, we could always find a lounger and umbrella. There are beach sellers with their various items, however if you just say no thank you, we found they would leave you alone.
Massage. There is a small area enclosed with ‘net’ curtains with two massage beds, so you can have a massage whilst listening to the waves crashing; (this was very relaxing) or you can opt to have a massage indoors.
Dining. The snack bar and buffet restaurant were near the pool. The restaurant had two sections; seating with cushions or plastic patio furniture. If you were wet from the beach/pool you could sit on the plastic furniture if you were dry you could use the more comfortable area.
The was an excellent choice for breakfast each morning, such as cereals, omelettes, bacon, sausages, fried/scrambled eggs, cold meats, fruits plus more. Lunch time had hot chicken, ham or steak rolls every day, plus different things such as fajitas, cold ham rolls, various salads, fish etc. Evening also had a good variety including pasta dishes, soups, chicken dishes plus more. There are speciality restaurants which are Italian, steak house, surf and turf and Mexican. With Thompsons, you can go to a speciality restaurant every evening if you wish, just have to pre book at guest relations, with either Raul or Veronica who were both extremely helpful.
Entertainment. During the day Daniel who was extremely friendly and worked very hard, would organise water polo, aqua aerobics, and games around the pool. In the evening he organised different shows which took place indoors, (unfortunately, they could not be outdoors due to the weather), though there is an outdoor stage and staff did say they do have the entertainment outdoors when weather permits, however it is now the beginning of the rainy season!
Thompsons have marked this hotel as a four star, which would be about right for the hotel; however I would say the service is seven stars. You are totally spoilt and made to feel special by all the staff. Around the pool area there are plenty of bins, many labelled ‘glasses’, where you can just put your empty drinks glasses. Majority of guests did use these and they were emptied regularly. The complex is spotless, there were always somebody cleaning.
There was a turn down service, in the evening the maid would turn the bed clothes down, and leave a chocolate on each side of the bed, turn the lamp and air conditioning on, if you were in the room, she just asked if you needed anything and gave you the chocolates.
After midnight, room service was available, with a limited menu for snacks and drinks. For Thompson guests this was free of charge.
The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the Malecon, which has many shops, restaurants and bars. Buses are very regular and are 7.5 pesos each (under 40pence) or a taxi is about 60 – 65 pesos going (about £3.00) and after midnight between 65 and 100 pesos (£3-£5), ask first for a taxi price before you hop in. About the same distance in the other direction, you will find a shopping centre and a little further the marina. Again you get buses for 7.5 pesos.
We took several US dollar notes to give as tips, many of the staff (waiters, bar staff, maids and cleaners) are on very low wages about £3 per day and are very appreciative of any tips they receive. We tipped anything between one and five US dollars, or 20 – 100 pesos. (20 pesos is about £1). We had to pre order the US one dollar notes from the travel agency before we went as they didn’t stock many one dollar notes.

Room Tip: E mail hotel before hand and ask for the room type you would like. Pool view rooms have a view of bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank LailaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My daughter was diagnosed last year with celiac disease, a condition by which she cannot digest any type of gluten. Eating gluten buys her a trip to the hospital, not to Mexico. This severe restriction can be quite limiting when considering travel options.

Being the first time my family (myself +3) would travel abroad since her diagnosis, we were somewhat apprehensive to take advantage of a fantastic Air Canada Vacations deal to Puerto Vallarta. When considering our options, I called the three resorts in Puerto Vallarta that ACV were promoting. Fortuitously, I had the good fortune to speak with Veronica at the Guest Relations desk at Canto del Sol – and this well before I booked our tickets.

Veronica is a wonderful person: not only did she assuage us in informing us that the hotel is “well prepared” to deal with celiacs, they’ve done so numerous times in the past. I am a Spanish speaker and so there were no ambiguities. We promptly, yet hesitantly, booked our vacation based on her word.

What we found astounded us: not only was a meeting with the hotel’s head chef (Senor Scott) organized for us upon our arrival, but also the sous-chef (Senor Antonio). It turned out that all our fears were unfounded: whenever there was a lack of gluten-free choices for my daughter, Antonio and / or his staff would lovingly go out of their way to prepare a sumptuous meal for her – from scratch. They met with her before each meal, went over the day’s selections and if nothing appealed to her (or was unavailable otherwise), they simply made her something on the spot. To be honest, we were sometimes jealous as these were sometimes better than the regular buffet selections – but as parents, overjoyed that our daughter was not experiencing limitations.

Antonio even suggested that we call the restaurant a few minutes before we went to dinner each evening so that he could get started, “so she does not have to wait to eat”. Amazing attention, devotion and dedication to his guests.

All this to say that what makes Canto del Sol is its people. Sure, the hotel is not super modern. Yes – there is but one pool (although divided into three sections). The WiFi is spotty and the fan in the elevators never worked (it’s hot in there!). There are too many people selling things you don’t need or want on the beach. The nightly shows are cheeky. Who cares about those things? You’re on vacation. The quality of the attentiveness demonstrated by each and every staff member will not be soon forgotten by this family, and not only due to the food situation discussed above. From Maritza at the front desk who arranged for a room change – in fact proposing several options, eventually outdoing herself in every sense, to Luis of the wait staff who never failed to fill an empty glass (how does he know??) to Josue and Daniel of the animation staff (Daniel cheats at poker – watch out!), there was never a time when we did not feel completely at home. In fact, the staff greets guests with ‘welcome home’, rather than other catchphrases.

There are two additional notes to mention: firstly, to the hotel’s managers: losing these or any other of the numerous wonderful people we met would ring a death knell to your hotel – they are the ones who make your money for you. A raise would be in order! Do what you can (what you must!) to keep these wonderful, warm-hearted people.

And on the subject of money: we were told that the minimum wage in Mexico is 63 pesos per day. That’s CAD 5.25, EUR 3.56 or USD 4.83. Think about that next time you are considering not tipping your waiter who runs around all day getting you drinks in the hot Mexican sun. You will surely not miss a dollar here or there but will make a world of difference to them. Consider that I had to buy two pool shirts for my kids at the Mega store (on the main road, to the right of the resort- it’s got everything) and paid M$268, or a little over CAD22. I will not feel that cost, not because I am overly wealthy, but because I had the good fortune of being born and raised in Canada. Conversely, some of the staff has never set foot in the Mega store, knowing they’ll never afford what’s there. Please do your part. We did and you will never regret it either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicaco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My Daughters and I stayed for 5days in June. A beautiful relaxing resort. The staff really go above and beyond please please please tip. I know some of the packages say gratuity included but the hard working people here don't get anything extra.
The buffet was overall good skip oriental night though. If you get tired of eating buffet food there is a nice good priced Mexican restaurant across the main road almost diagonal from the ice cream shop.
We took the city tour and got tickets from Mr. Solutions (Pedro) he offers many different adventures and has the best prices. He is located across from the resort to your right.
If you could come during the week that would be best. The weekend seems to be more crowded but still always had lounge chairs.
When checking in avoid the tour. I would return

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ForeverYess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a week here with my mom and daughter...if you want to sit by the pool and be waited on hand and foot this is the place to go! Thank you Guadalupe!!!

I agree with many other comments in that the food, rooms, entertainment are all ok for the money...but the service is better than any 5 star out there.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 3generationsgirltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This resort is fantastic! Great location, amenities, staff and food. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Property is clean and well maintained. Our stay was made very enjoyable because of all of these things. A special shout out to Omar, Verinica, Pedro, Alphonso and Jorge who made this a wonderful holiday!!
THANK YOU CANTO DEL SOL!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WizzardVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
2.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
9.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Property: Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing