We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the shangri- of mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #31 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If your thinking of visiting mexico for the first time it can be very confusing at first. what hotel ?Whats the best beach? I visited about 20 spots all over mexico through out my years of travel and have had my comments for each one. El Canto del Sol in Puerto Vallarta Mexico has to be the best I have ever visited. The service from not one but all the entire staff is of 5+ star rating. I was very impressed with the beverage service, most places in mexico set a limit per drink ordered at the bar. The hotel only cared on the satisfaction of each customer, make sure we were happy. The rooms are exceptional and clean with maid service that ran 24 hours a day. I am certain that i will make it a point to go to this hotel at least once a year, the reasons can only be discover by the wonderful experience the hotel gives you.
cricondo

Room Tip: every room is high quality i had 10 rooms with my group. but if you want a ocean view they have tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maribel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a most delightful 14 day vacation at Canto Del Sol in June this year. The attitude of the staff was highly impressive. Courteous, polite and so helpful. The food was very good, such a varied choice every day and cooked to our satisfaction. The cleaners are to be complimented on their attention to detail, their standards are extremely high and their efforts are rewarded with a wonderfully clean hotel. A return visit is already being planned. Thank you Canto Del Sol for making our holiday such a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Try to get allocated a sea view room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and my partner flew out to Puerto Vallarta on May 1st 2014. We were on the very first English flight to Puerto Vallarta since they stopped flying there 8 years ago. We flew from Manchester airport and as it was the first flight out there we had a special reception at the gate. On arrival to canto del sol we received drinks and snacks and what I really liked is we were assigned a member of staff who took us straight up to our room and once in the room she gave us our wrist bands and all the information we needed. I thought this was a much better way of signing us in as after a 11 hour flight all we wanted to do was get to our room. First thoughts of the room was that is was clean and nicely decorated however I was not happy that I didn't have a balcony ( although we had a good view across the pool and the sea beyond) we also never had a fridge which is important to me as I like to stock up on cold drinks for the night when I'm in the room. The morning after we mentioned our concerns to our rep and she told us she would speak to management and come and find us. To my delight the manager found us and took us to view 2 rooms both of which were beyond out expectations. We were very happy. The pool was large and clean, the first couple of days was a Mexican bank holiday and the hotel was packed and we struggled to get a bed. We left towels on our sunbeds whist we went to the snack bar for lunch and on 2 occasions we come back to the sunbeds to find our towels were moved and other peoples things were on the beds. This annoyed me at the time but after 2 days all of the Mexicans holidaying left the hotel and there was a lot more room around the pool. All the bar staff were amazing and quite often come over to our sunbeds to ask if we wanted more drinks and this was not due to tipping as we never tip until our last day. The entertainment staff in the day were great and my boyfriend played beach volly ball most days with them. The hotel was on the beach which you could see just beyond the pool. The beach was small and didn't have many sunbeds but we never sat on the beach so it never bothered us. My main problem with the hotel was the food bearing in mind I am a fussy eater. The main buffet restaurant both me and my partner found to be very very limited on the selection of food during tea time (breakfast had a good selection). The food was fresh and of good quality however there was not enough variation to cater for everyone. The staff working in the buffet restaurant were however very friendly and couldn't be more helpful! We tried the Mexican al a carte and the Italian both were not great. We found the menus very strange and both felt like they had tried to make the menu to posh and not stick to proper Mexican and italian food you would expect. The Mexican had nothing like fajitas, quasadilla, nachos, enchilada. Instead there was weird soup and other random choices. Again the staff were lovely and the food was fresh and well presented. The best food for me came from the lunch snack bar which had a great variation and was always fresh!! We spoke to a couple who ate at the steak al a carte and said the steaks were good. The hotel was in a good location with many shops at the front. Me and my partner decided to walk along the beach front all the way into town which was lovely and had loads of shops and bars. The walk took about 30 mins and was a bit rocky on the beach. But was an enjoyable stroll. The Mexican locals are very friendly and when trying to sell you stuff after you say no thank you once they just accept that and let you carry in with your day! (Very much appreciated as over pestering can ruin the holiday!) was nice to just be able to browse through shops and be left to look!! Another day we walked along the beach in the other direction which again after 30 mins or so it took us out to the port. We walked up and had lunch and strolled around Walmart and got a cab back. Cabs are very cheap and they are trust worthy and friendly. We took 2 trips during our week. We did zip lining in the jungle and dolphin experience and boat ride. The dolfins was only on once a week but the rep arranged for us and another couple to go on a different day as we had missed the day they did it on normally. The zip linning was amazing and so glad I had the guts to do it!! Also included a lovely mule ride and a gorgous meal included!!! Some of the lines are quite high but it's defo worth trying!! The dolphins was amazing but soooo expensive for just 40 mins in the pool with the dolfins! The rest of the day we were on a boat which stopped at a beach and had lunch and soft drinks included. We also saw wild dolfins swimming and jumping around the boat which was the most amazing thing I have seen!! So great to see wild dolphins so close!!!! The prices for the pics for the dolfin swim were sooooo much money which we wernt pleased about but we had to buy some as it was a great experience I wanted to remember. Overall it was an amazing holiday and a great hotel and I would return to Mexico and the Canto Del Sol again!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and my sig other went to the above hotel for 2 weeks all inc - lovely room and air con...food average at best...drinks really good but biggest letdown no evening entertainment - not good enough as it left the evenings boring...danny boy great entertainments host and he loves bob marley...beach only average and the sea a bit dirty - also the pool area becomes very crowded on weekends as mexicans come in to the hotel on a day rate and its crowded in all areas

Room Tip: If u get an odd number u get a pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanoporno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Canto del Sol is a warm and friendly hotel with a lot more to offer than expected. On our arrival we were greeted by music, dancers and cocktails before a dedicated member of staff took us directly to our room and explained everything to us. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was a 2-room suite, one with a bedroom and the other with a kitchen and living area - both had bathrooms and large TV's. Our luggage was taken by the bell boy from the coach directly to our room. Checking in was a breeze.

In response to previous reviews about the hotel being a little shabby, there was some work going on in the form of painting and pool repairs which didn't disrupt our holiday. In all the hotel was in pretty decent shape apart from the exposed roof beams that were rotten in places and needed replacing. The hotel was always cleaned regularly from top to bottom and the gardens kept in immaculate condition. Even puddles of water left by swimmers getting out of the pool were mopped up instantly!!!

The Los Canaros buffet style restaurant offered a good selection of dishes from around the world dependant on the theme for the evening. The snack bar was very handy and the service very fast, we particularly enjoyed the shrimp and fish taco's - something we hadn't come across at other hotels. If you are thinking of eating A la carte then it is worth noting that the Santia Maria restaurant is used for the mexican, steak, surf and turf, and signature kitchen night. The italian night is held at the Venizzia restaurant which is in the building across the road. Booking is very easy but we recommend that you read the menu's first to avoid any dissapointments.

At weekends you can get an influx of mexicans taking advantage of special weekend breaks, don't be put off by this as they are very friendly and polite. Although you can exchange currency at reception they do not accept traveller's cheques and the only place that does is the CI Bank - make sure that your signatures are the same as on your passport.

In all the Canto Del Sol is a warm and friendly hotel that offers good value for money. Our special thanks go to poolside waiters Jorge and Guadalupe for keeping the drinks and snacks coming; lobby barman Pablo; restaraunt waiter Juan Carlos; chefs Gustavo and Pedro and finally Raul from services who was always a great help in making our stay a plesant one. We will be coming back one day (hoplefully 2015) and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is prepared to accept a few little gripes to gain a lot for their money.

Salute!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just spent a week there with my wife, yes it could do with a lick of paint, but that is not much of a fault. Our room had a huge comfortable bed, shower, toilet and well equipped kitchen (which was handy for making an early cup of tea), and a small balcony handy for drying clothes and we had bathrobes and slippers. The food was ok in the main restaurant and better in the a-la-carte. We found the poolside great to sunbathe but music a little loud and repetitive. The beach was not the best we have visited but was ok, I recommend you take swimming shoes if you want to swim as there are a lot of stones in the sea. The sea was very warm, like taking a bath! The best thing about the hotel was the staff, they were all superb and couldn't do enough for you, check in was simple, no handing over of passports. I would recommend this hotel if you fancy a value for money trip to Mexico.

Room Tip: we were in 302, no complaints about that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just returned from our stay at the Canto last Saturday. We truly enjoyed this resort and especially the staff. They are all gems!
We have stayed at other resorts in PV and this one was right up there with them. We found the food great in the buffet and the ala cartes were wonderful as well, especially the presentation of the food. The drinks were good and the bar staff and pool wait staff did an excellent job! Special shout out to Pablo whom we met the first night at the pool bar then he was at the lobby bar the rest of the week. He worked his tail off, especially one night that there was a storm and the humidity was HIGH! A wonderful lady we met got him a fan to put behind the bar as it was hot and he was moving fast all night. I was a little dismayed to see people not tipping him though! We tip anybody that we feel is doing a great job. I even tipped the pool boy one evening and he was beside himself. I wanted to tip the gardener but didn't have any pesos on me. Thats just how we feel about tipping.
Jorge and Miguel and the rest of the pool wait and bar staff were excellent also.
We had one minor mishap with our room but Veronica from guest services was on it as soon as it was brought to her attention and a big thumbs up to her for the way she handled it! Yay Veronica (pinky promise ;-) Ernesto at the concierge was also such a pleasure to talk to everyday. Its these kind of people to have working at the resort that make it such a great experience.
Our room was kept immaculate and yes, it is an older resort but so long as its clean, then its a 5 star in my eyes. We love PV and its the people that bring us back every year!
Keep up the good work Canto del Sol! We had so much fun and met some really awesome people!

Room Tip: A room facing the pool was lovely and very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank safarifour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,638 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
#67 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive ...
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £124 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing