We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was okay, but definitely not geared toward Americans.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was okay, but definitely not geared toward Americans.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We have done several all inclusive trips to Mexico in the past. We have always enjoyed lounging by the pool, sipping drinks, listening to music and watching/participating in all of the fun things that the hotel staff comes up with. This is one of the resons I wouldn't go back to this hotel. All of the music by the pool was in Spanish and we didn't recognize/enjoy any of it. All of the staff spoke in Spanish and conducted all of the pool activities in Spanish. We definitely felt like outsiders. I know that this is IN Mexico, but the past places we've been to were very different. Not to mention that if you wanted a chair by the pool you had to stake your claim to it by putting your towel down early in the a.m. (we would do it on our way to breakfast). We didn't figure that out for a few days though! Also, one of the reasons we booked this hotel, besides the fact that it was cheap, was because it had a swim up bar. It ended up being closed the whole time. Bummer! It was clean and nice enough, the food was good to us. We thought the buffet rated high compared to other all inclusives we'd been to. I knew ahead of time that you only get a limited amount of times to eat in the "nice" restaurants, but it was weird that you have to walk across the street from the hotel and go through a maze to get to them. The customer service was not up to par compared to past vacations. It just seems like the staff is not happy and rarely smiles. Guys that checked us in were friendly, and Jose the bartender @ pool bar ruled. He was awesome. That's pretty much it. We caught fish while deep sea fishing and hotel refused to cook it for us (we have been to a different hotel in PV previously that cooked fish for us) so that was upsetting. Overall an okay time but we wouldn't book here again. Go to small travel agency across the street from hotel to save alot of money on excursions-can't remember the name of it, but it's the only one, across from the front of the hotel and a little to the left. Two brothers run it, they were reliable and friendly. Saved us tons!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashmittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    964
    395
    157
    93
See reviews for
620
846
106
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Canto del Sol was very clean and quiet. Our room had plenty of amenities: king size bed, kitchette, flat screen TV. Located about 20 minutes from airport on the main road. Very convenient to mall, about a 5 minute walk. Bar service was excellent. Food was very down home Mexican. Just the way I like it. It seemed like there were only about 50 people staying there so definitely got the VIP treatment. Only minus, not lot of activities offered during the weekend except the time share stuff. Count me out!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

The hotel was very nice. We exchanged with RCI and this was the only 2-bdr property available for our timeframe. They upgraded us to a newer room and it was just as nice and new as the other 4 and 5 star properties we have stayed at before. Staff super nice. The pool is a nice size, but only 4 feet deep. We chose not to buy the all inclusive option, therefore we could not eat or drink anywhere on the property. Which was not a problem for us, we always go to a grocery store and stock up on beer, water, pop, munchies, and we always cook breakfast in our room. The guys at the airport (whose middle names should be LIAR) will tell you that there are no grocery stores near Canto Del Sol, there is a huge, clean MEGA grocery store 10 min. max from the hotel.

They try to get you to do the timeshare presentation, but do take no for an answer easily.

There are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Los Caracolas is one that we enjoyed, owned by Johnny, he made us some killer fish tacos. The beach is not much to speak of, so if you are hoping for a long stretch of smooth sand, you will not find it here. If you like massages, you will be glad you are here -- right across from the hotel there are at least 4 different massage places, now selling 75 min. massages for 20 bucks. The one I went to was clean and professional. There are many places for internet, they are 1 hour for 15 pesos, or around $1.50. Cheap! There is a bank about a 3 minute walk from the hotel, change your money there for the best exchange rate.

We have been coming to Mexico for many years, and maybe this time I just got fed up, but just about everyone you talk to will lie to you or seriously stretch the truth. If you are in the mood to take a day catamaran trip - DO NOT TAKE THE GERONIMO. This crappy trip will take you to the north side of the bay. Stay away from the north side of the bay, there is nothing great to see, and you cannot relax on the beach like you can with the other tours. The Geronimo skimped on the breakfast, completely omitting items advertised, the lunch was terrible, not enough food and they ran out of alcohol! 12 beers for 15 people. Anyway, just do not pay for the Geronimo catamaran day trip. Las Caletas is the best one.

All in all, I would stay at the Canto Del Sol again, just because my husband and I do not mind walking, buying groceries, and making it work. We came here for my parents 50th and I wish we could have stayed at a nicer place, if only for that reason.

YES -- Proximity to town
YES -- Cheap, clean massages
YES -- Big, clean grocery store nearby
YES -- Clean, new, modern room, very impressed
NO -- Cannot buy drinks or food at the pool if you do not buy the all inclusive option
NO -- The Geronimo catamaran trip

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bofeb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Went there because of the rate. Boy was I disappointed. We have been going to Mexico for 30 years. We used Apple Vacations and had to ask to be moved to Barcelo Mis maloya. What a beautiful hotel. We will definitely go back. We had to pay an upgrade.
Canto del Sol had the worst pool ever - 4 ft' deep!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Ok- so here's the DL on Canto Del Sol (and it is long).

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon. It is not a fancy resort. It is a 4-star hotel. The staff at the front desk was fabulous, as well as the bell boys. Housekeeping was fabulous and came by our room 3-4 times a day to make sure it was cleaned and that we had towels (if you are in the room, they don't come in). They only complaint I had with the room was there isn't a tub, just a stand up shower. We made "reservations" at both of the restaurants the hotel has. You are treated like royalty. The server even laid my napkin in my lap for me. The Mexican restaurant was fantastic, the Italian was just OK. The buffet that is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner was really good. Almost every night they had a "Create-your-own-pasta" where you picked the ingredients and the chef cooked it right in front of you. The snack bar is open almost all day long and the food there is pretty good. My hubby and I tried several different drinks and depending on the bartender, sometimes they were good, sometimes they were not. If they don't put enough alcohol in it, ask for more. I did. They have a really good drink called a Miami Vice- absolutely amazing.

DO NOT drink the water. I know everybody says that. Even if it is in a bottle. If it does not have an American label on it, don't drink it. We drank the so-called purified bottled water on Wednesday, and we were sick the rest of the week.

The beach is really not that great. So if you want to lay out on the beach- go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

What a great week we had at Canto del Sol. If you're looking for super luxurious, then this is not for you. However, if you want great service, a fun activities staff, lots to do, yet can relax by the beach or pool, then this is for you. It's not real big (only 4 stories) so there is no long trek from your room to the beach or pool. We got there late at night so the only rooms left were those that looked out over the tennis courts. The next day we went to the check-in desk and asked if we could have a room with a pool/ocean view. They showed us a possible choice and when we saw it the bellman kindly helped us move to the room, which had a great view. They were more than happy to accomodate us.

The activities staff is great. We especially liked Israel who was extremely funny and provided lots of laughs during our week there. Most days at 1:00 we grabbed a Corona and sat down for the 1 hour Blackjack tournament by the pool. My teenage daughter also did water aerobics and beach volleyball.

The pool is great. Very nice size and kept very clean. We also enjoyed the beach a lot. Like almost all hotels, you do need to get your chairs in the shade by 10:30 or they might not be available. Seats in the sun were always open. Depending on the tide the beach could be a little rocky at the edge of the water, but I found places that were just sand. The beach itself is sandy and I enjoyed walks along it down past the hotel towards downtown.

We never encounted any lines when we went to eat, except once when there were 4 people in front of us. The greeter said if we didn't want to wait (which we didn't mind), we could go around the corner to another room to eat breakfast. The waiters provided great service, always with a smile. And I took someone's advice and tried the made to order omelettes which were real good.

The room was comparable to a Howard Johnson's. Just fine with a great TV (not that we were there much to watch it). Best bed and pillow I've ever slept on at a hotel. I wanted to take them home. (I stated at a Hyatt once and didn't get any sleep as the bed was so soft it hurt our backs). This was our first all-inclusive, and it sure does spoil you. We did eat downtown one day.

We took a sailboat ride to Yelapa with a stop on the way for whomever wanted to snorkel which our teenager did. And one day we went downtwon and walked the Malecon.

The staff at the this hotel was so friendly and provided such good service that we hated to leave. Definitely a thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveToTravel_1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

My girlfriend and I went to celebrate our birthdays. We had gone for two weeks, the first week it was just her and I and we stayed in a two star in old romantic Puerto Vallarta. The location of that hotel was great and althought the food wasn't top notch we loved it.

Our husbands we going to be flying down to join us for the second week of our stay so we thought we should upgrade to a four star hotel. Big Mistake. We ended up at the Canto Del Sol. Both couples are pretty well traveled but we can honestly say we have never hated a resort as much as this one! Because of the sister properties there are line ups everywhere at this hotel. Get in line for supper, for drinks, and good luck getting a chair around the pool or at the beach! I felt like there was 3000 people rammed in to an area meant for 1500. I am not a very picky but I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoparound0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#27 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
2.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#33 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
9.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Property: Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing