We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic, once again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda San Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda San Angel
Certificate of Excellence
Cali
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magic, once again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This year we splurged and stayed at the Hacienda for the duration of our week in PV. It was such a treat, and I once again felt like I was staying as a guest at someone's lovely home. We stayed in the Santa Maria suite, directly above the Cathedral, for a few nights before moving up to the San Jose suite for the remainder of our stay. The views from both rooms were absolutely stunning, and each room had such wonderful character and eccentricities. The staff at the Hacienda are amazing. Fresh fruit and breakfast delivered to your room every morning. Friendly faces right around the corner if you need anything at all, but never hanging around or compromising your privacy. You rarely have to share the pool with another guest... and can just move to one of the others if you do! The location can't be beat, tucked away above Our Lady of Guadalupe, and it's a quick dash down the steps to Libertad or down Zaragoza to be in the middle of everything. Being serenaded by La Joya De Mexico at our fabulous dinner on the last night made for a perfect epilogue. I cannot wait to return, and can't imagine a better place to be in PV.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    29
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
121
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We loved our recent experience for Sunday brunch! The brunch is open air and has a great view of Guadalupe Church - so beautiful. Brunch is 295 pesos which includes a mimosa (actually delicious, made with fresh OJ). Brunch options include different salads, sushi, salmon, prime rib, bacon, potatoes, make your own omelette station, make your own crepe station - all excellent. The atmosphere can't be beat. Make sure you make a reservation!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

HSA is a must see do and eat at while in Vallarta . A romantic experienced not to be missed. Once inside the courtyard you may think you are in a Mediterranean villa . The owners have spared no expense in making this venue no less than magical . The food , the staff and the surroundings will keep you coming back .
We just had a group event at their most recent addition , The Chapel which is directly across the street . A celebration evening for 42 guests was amazing and priced similar to most US or Canadian venues however twice the atmosphere and experience .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I will try to keep this review fairly concise. First of all, this is categoroized as a B&B/Inn on TA and I think that tends to imply an intimacy that is not really apparent at this property. It was beyond beautiful and I would consider staying again. My husband and I stayed a week and we enjoyed the trip. We ate three nights in the restaurant (although I had a list of restaurants I wanted to try in the area). We felt the food and service was outstanding. In fact, we give a particular nod to Alex. We received great service from everyone we encountered and Juanita and Theron were helpful on a number of fronts. But, I will say I do agree with many of the other commenters regarding the owner. She did not say one word to us all week. As we were leaving, I asked her if she was the owner, extended my hand and told her how much we enjoyed our stay. She seemed unaccustomed to speaking to guests and claimed she had not seen us all week. If you are an inn or B&B traveler, this is just not what you expect. She has an incredible property and seems to have some long time staff.

I regret that I did not ask to see more of the suites- I am sure I would be happy in any one of them! We stayed in the San Miguel suite and the only thing marring that stay was the very loud renovation project taking place right next door. Not the hotel's fault but it is discouraging if you want to stay in the room and it is so lovely- you will!

You do need to know Puerto Vallarta- this property is on the side of a steep hill- if you don't or can't walk- be prepared to take taxis. It does have wonderful proximity to many key attractions and is close to very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We enjoyed dinner at Hacienda San Angel this evening. We made our reservation 1 hour prior to arriving and had the good fortune of seeing the Mariachi Band play twice. We were seated at a table of two to the back of the restaurant and were able to enjoy the staff behind us working on bills etc. The ambiance of this hotel and restaurant is delightful and charming. For the prices they charge the food and service was good but not excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kfuegito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I am giving this place 2 stars instead of 1 because the food was ok. Unfortunately food is not the only thing needed to make a restaurant a good place to go. We were treated poorly by the owner and the staff.

We were in Puerto Vallarta for 6 nights and were planning where to go for dinner each night. We decided to try this place on Saturday night. My parents had been there before and said to make sure to go when the mariachi band is playing and try to sit by them. They told us that we must go only when the band is playing otherwise don't go. We went to our concierge and stood by as she called the restaurant to book a reservation for Saturday and to request that we are seated near the mariachi band. The concierge booked the reservation and told us they would seat us near the mariachi band if possible.

When we arrived at the restaurant we were informed that Saturday is the only night that they DO NOT have the mariachi band and our concierge should have known. I was right there when the concierge called and the restaurant never told her that mariachi band wasn't playing that night. The restaurant blamed this error solely on the concierge and would do nothing to help the situation. The owner wouldn't even speak to us. we were told we were out of luck sorry.

This place has officially lost my business. I go to Puerto Vallarta every year and will never go back. There are far better restaurants to choose from. you can see from reading previous reviews that the owner obviously doesn't care about her customers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

The most beautiful place we've ever stayed! A huge, open complex of old mansions, filled with stunning antiques, statues, paintings, trees, swimming pools (3 of them!), and extremely friendly staff. Theron and Juanita were very welcoming and helpful, full of information, and spoke excellent English (helpful to us because our Spanish is lousy!) We stayed five days, and could easily have spent the whole time in the Hacienda, it was so beautiful and comfortable. But we were also only a few blocks from the Malecon, directly above the Guadelupe Church, and a few blocks from the island on the Rio Cuale, wonderful to explore on foot. Expensive, but definitely worth it, and we will go back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Crown View Suite, and thought it was perfect, though there are also more spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drsteveallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.6 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#14 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
4.1 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#11 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#8 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#2 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Angel

Property: Hacienda San Angel
Address: Privada Miramar 336 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda San Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda San Angel's sixteen luxuriously appointed suites are situated among a verdant oasis of lush gardens dripping with fiery bougainvillea and fragrant jasmine. Meticulously pairing Mexican Colonial decor with lavish amenities, the traditional hacienda atmosphere offers a comfortable yet refined respite. While each suite is distinctly different, all offer air conditioning, spectacular coastal views or private balconies, and a magnificent array of antiques and fine art dating to the 17th Century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Angel Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing