We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat a Little, Pay a Lot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda San Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda San Angel
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eat a Little, Pay a Lot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We dined at this restaurant on WEd. Nov.13,2013. My friends and I were 10-15 min late. The male that let us in...very curtly said I thought you were not coming. Then he walked away from us without saying a word and went into his office. We were left standing there and did not know what to do. He finally finished a phone call and took us up to the restaurant. We had a very arrogant waiter which made the evening more uncomfortable. The Marachi band and singers were excellent. The food was just okay and very overpriced. We asked for our bill and to our surprise we were charged 20% Gratuity. Not that we have a problem with 20% gratuity but there was no notice and we ordered a couple of very expensive wines. iu dont like paying 20% on $100 bottles of wine when they are already marked up ridiculous. This was our 3rd time to this restaurant and our last. Puerto Vallarta has wonderful restaurants that would treat customers much better.

Room Tip: We never used the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sorochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    29
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
121
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I loves this hotel and all of it charm and elegance!
Even the sheets are beautiful and the rooms are individual and so comfortable.
I loved the way it is tucked away and you would never have any idea driving by the property what is hidden behind the front doors.
On the weekends the Most marvelous Mariachis group of about 10-12 play wonderful lively Mexican music in the restaurant.
The only complaint I would have of the Hacienda is if the price came down especially in the off season I think it would be a lot busier.... In other words it is expensive for the city of Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

when you ring the doorbell to get in you have no idea what is in store for you. you walk in to a beautiful courtyard filled with statues and fountains. then you walk in to the garden area which has no less that 200 candles that light the stairway in the evening. your first 300 feet in to the building is amazingly beautiful, and it is just getting started. You are then led up a little stairway to the roof which at first glance will stop you in your tracks. you have a total view of the bay and at sunset you literally will just stop and stare to take it all in. we sat down at 6 PM and the sun set a few min later. the sky was filled with gorgeous reds, yellows and pink. then the food experience begins. Our Server was Oscar, he was very attentive and was spot on with his recommendations based on our preferences. right after our appetizers were delivered the Live entertainment came. it was a 12 piece Mariachi band, all with strong voices, including one women. (not something i have seen before in a mariachi band). they played throughout our dinner and it was a wonderful way to round out the entire experience.

Room Tip: didnt stay in a room. was there for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjfullhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Antique and boutife atmosphere - a Mexico and Europe mix. The garden is really green and blooming, it's smells fantastic.In the eavning it's filled with candlelight. The breakfest is very simpel and continal - fruts, yougurt, toasted bread, croissant, te/coffe and juice. The coffe was not good (maybe I had bad luck)and the tea is normal, boring tea.
The church bells is ringing loudly but of coruse it's quieter there than farther down to the malecon.


Everything is thought out to the smallest detail and guarded.





.

Room Tip: Me and my mum stayed in Celestial Suite. It's on the top with the best view over the bay, old to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaCocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

My 1st trip to Hacienda San Angel HSA did not disapoint. I am a frequent visitor to the Puerto Vallarta area and have stayed in dozens of hotels across the region from Sayulita to Yelapa, HSA is by far the nicest of the lot. A visit to the Capilla provides the best view of the Bahia de Banderas and Catedral available, it´s like the grand vista out of a movie. Beautiful in every way.

Once you enter the grounds you feel like you have been transported to a 1700´s Spanish province. Hypnotic fountains soothe your ears, lush gardens greet your eyes, the laid back vibe oozes from the surrounding. Quiet time by the pools with a cold cocktail is luxury at it´s finest. In comparison to other local properties the HSA is expensive and rightly so, it is a step above most PVR spots. The rooms are excellently appointed with an array of antiques which are elegantly displayed in a coffee table book in your room. The staff helped me plan an elaborate proposal night for my girlfriend which included a world class photographer, private romantic dinner on the San Miguel terrace and Mariachi serenade. All done with class, professionalism and attention to detail.

The one negative which is a small one , the neighborhood surrounding the HSA is encroaching rapidly on it´s tranquility with hammering, sawing and construction noise throughout the day. The openness of the suites, with grand views and blissful breezes also allows the many bordering inhabitants full view of your room and prevents you from really letting loose for fear of prying eyes. I truly hope the managament of this rare place has a plan to combat this development from spoiling an otherwise sublime experience!

Room Tip: The view is great in the San Miguel Suite but the noise is incessant from the construction going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

What a perfect ending to a great trip! Quintessential location, great food, service and mariachi band. The view is fantastic over the bay and perfect view of the old PV. We all enjoyed our meal but the ambiance is second to none.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfun2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island, Wa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I took my parents on their first trip to Mexico and tucked them into the San Gabriel Suite at the Hacienda San Angel. Jim and I had stayed here on previous trips in the San Miguel Suite and knew they would love it. We chose to return this trip to a penthouse condo nearby in the Zona Romantica so we'd have a kitchen, but trusted the staff to take good care of my parents. Well, they took such good care of them that on a few days of the trip my father announced that they would not be able to meet us for dinner on the town, that they'd be happily "staying home!" That must be the ultimate compliment to a great hotel! They loved the staff who knew them well, delivering their favorite yoghurt for breakfast, coffee just how they liked it, etc. All the little personal touches that make you want to return to your "home" in Vallarta. We joined them at their "home" for the final dinner of the trip with a great meal and mariachi orchestra. If you are so fortunate as to be planning a trip to Vallarta, run don't walk to the Hacienda!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drea389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.6 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#13 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
4.1 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#11 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#8 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#2 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Angel

Property: Hacienda San Angel
Address: Privada Miramar 336 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda San Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda San Angel's sixteen luxuriously appointed suites are situated among a verdant oasis of lush gardens dripping with fiery bougainvillea and fragrant jasmine. Meticulously pairing Mexican Colonial decor with lavish amenities, the traditional hacienda atmosphere offers a comfortable yet refined respite. While each suite is distinctly different, all offer air conditioning, spectacular coastal views or private balconies, and a magnificent array of antiques and fine art dating to the 17th Century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Angel Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing