We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Krystal Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,048)
Filter reviews
3,048 results
Traveller rating
1,374
898
442
196
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,374
898
442
196
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssushi barfrench restaurantdiamond memberla catrinale deliceseafire restaurantlobby barspecialty restaurantsrooftop poolpartial ocean viewjunior suiteadult only poolsmaller resortclose to the airportmain restaurantkids clubthe general manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,714 - 1,719 of 3,048 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for the Fourth of July weekend and here was the break down.

The hotel is in the hotel zone and about 8-10 min taxi ride from the airport. The check in was smooth, bell man was nice and friendly. Excellent service, just what you expect at a Hilton. The Ki spa has wonder receptionist and therapist as well. The waitstaff at all the restaurants were courteous and nice.

It is all inclusive resort and I would say the food is slightly above average. We tried the Catrina, which serves authentic Mexican, it's B+. Fogo is a Brazilian style meat buffet and the server brings them to your table, it's a B. Pork and rib eye tasted pretty good but the chicken and filet were overcooked. Drinks are what you expect from an all inclusive but they are easy to get and there are servers that are available around the pool and beach. Sea Fire is the buffet restaurant and it's convenient and the food they serve are tasty and you can sit outside and enjoy a meal with ocean view. They also have a rooftop bar called O'West which is adult only and also serves sushi til 10pm. It has an Infiniti pool and looks pretty happening during the day. We had sushi on Saturday and enjoyed the view and pool. Very chill. Def one of the best spots of the hotel.

We got a really sweet deal and got one of the rooms with a pool. Room114 is nice but it's really close to the lobby bar and on our first night and can be extremely noisy during the evening hours. That was a major disappointment and not sure if I would recommend that room. Air condition is good and bed is comfy. Wireless internet is prevalent and accessible.

Room Tip: Try to stay closer to the ocean side to avoid nightly noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoloBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGE V, General Manager at Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Attn. Lolo Bud
I want to thank you for choosing Hilton Puerto Vallarta and for taking your valuable time to shere your opinion on our service and facilities.

We also thank you for your comments for our service staff, please be sure that I'll be sharing this with all our Team members.

Also I watn to inform you that I'm taking immediate action to change the night activities into our Rhythms bar to avoid any noise to the rooms close to the Lobby bar to offer a more resting time to all our guest.

We invite your to consider staying with us in your next visit to Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Jorge Villarejo
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I'll begin with the positives, because they are very worthy of the praise -- with rare exception, the hotel staff was very hospitable, professional, and accommodating. The stand-out of all of them was Lourdes Teran, one of the activities staff members. She epitomizes hospitality, was a fantastic hostess, and really made sure we enjoyed the activities we did with her. She was one of the highlights of our experience at the Hilton PV. Our waiters in the restaurants were also fantastic and attentive. These are the only reasons why this review is getting a Two rating instead of a One.

How this hotel is a AAA, Four-Diamond property is beyond me. I was told the Hilton opened in late 2012, but so many elements were worn down or just didn't work. We had booked a deluxe ocean view room, but when we arrived they put us in a partial view room, despite the fact that an employee we spoke with confirmed that they were under 50% occupied (we traveled near the beginning of the low season). Because I had previously read reviews about the ocean-facing rooms being terribly hot, I didn't push the issue on moving us to a deluxe view. When we got to the room, the balcony sliding door lock was completely broken, one of the lights flickered off and on constantly, and another light fixture in the bathroom was completely hanging out of the ceiling by a wire. We mentioned all of these things at the front desk on our first evening, but the only thing that was fixed or was even addressed was the lock on the door, and I am sure that is simply because I told them we would have to be moved unless that was fixed immediately because of the security concern. One of the lights wasn't fixed until the fourth night of our stay (and only because we mentioned it again), and the other light was still broken when we checked out after 5 nights.

The adult pool was very small and located on the 5th floor of a building WHOSE ELEVATOR WAS BROKEN ALL SIX OF THE DAYS OF OUR STAY. Luckily we were able to walk the stairs the few times we headed up there, but I expect more from a Hilton. Once we got up to the pool, it was pretty gross. Guests would leave their drinks and cigarette butts on the planters surrounding the edge of the pool and since they are admittedly difficult for staff to get to, junk would build up and it actually smelled terrible, like rotting garbage.

For the all-inclusive meals, there was the main buffet dining room, Seafire, which was closed intermittently throughout our stay. I assume this was because of low occupancy and/or because there were a couple times they posted signs saying that it was closed for a private event, but there was absolutely no communication about that to the guests, which would have been appreciated, and frankly, is expected as a standard in the hospitality industry. For the specialty restaurants, you were expected to make your reservations the morning of from either 8 or 9 am until 3pm every day, and after that, it was suggested you go straight to the hostess desk after they open to see if they can accommodate you either as a walk in or at some other time in the evening. We had no problem doing this at the Brazilian restaurant (when it was open - it was another one that was closed intermittently) or at the Mexican restaurant. However, the French restaurant was always empty and still wouldn't let you make a short-notice reservation or walk in. We were never able to make reservations in advance because we were always out on excursions or exploring the city early and back after the 3pm deadline.

The AC in the sleeping rooms wasn't great either. They are programmed not to go below 22 C, but as the weather got hotter later into our stay, we were pretty uncomfortable at night. On our last night, we asked the front desk to take a look (the same day our one light finally got fixed) and that ended up being the worst night of them all - despite setting the thermostat to 22, it never got below 26. We were miserable.

Finally, and this is far more personally subjective than the rest of my review, we just expected more interaction and more of a fun atmosphere from an all-inclusive in a town that thrives on tourism. The bartenders were kind and attentive, but they lacked the enthusiasm we're used to at other all-inclusives. This may be because it's a family-friendly Hilton and it also has a meetings/conference element to its travelers, but were were just bored most of the time we were there (which is why we got out as much as we did). Although the pool servers were great, nothing can make up for the lack of a swim-up bar.

We will not return, and I think it will be very difficult for me to convince my husband to ever book at a Hilton again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGE V, General Manager at Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Attn. Kathryn D.
I want to thank you for sharing your opinion on our hotel and services and for choosing us.
We also want to thank you for your excellent comments for Lourdes Teran member of our Activities Staff.

Please rest assure that base on your comments I'm taking immediate actions to correct and improve every item mentioned, as our main purpose is to offer the best possible service to all our guest.

We invite you to consider staying with us in your next visit to Puerto Vallarta, I'm sure this will give us the opportunity of provinding you a much better experience.

Cordially,

Jorge Villarejo
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Several of us traveled from various places in the US to celebrate my mom's 80th birthday, and the Recreation Staff (Carlos, Lalo, and Liz) along with Mauricio, a Concierge, did an outstanding job making us feel welcome and important. The restaurant servers, housekeeping staff, bell hops were also excellent. I've stayed at larger hotel complexes with all inclusive arrangements, and I have come to understand that a professional, attentive staff can really make the difference. The other thing we appreciated was the compact nature of the property because we had pre-teens in our group. In other words, we did not have to walk down multiple corridors or navigate multiple buildings to get around; this made our experience more manageable, too. My mom's celebration trip was outstanding.

Room Tip: rooms on the side of the hotel are quieter because if you are in a suite located above the lobby you will hear evening noise, ie karoake, etc. I did not hear any of this in my room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serreva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGE V, General Manager at Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Attn. Serreva
First of all I want to thank for selecting our hotel for your mom's 80th birthday.
Also we want to thank you for your excellent comments for our Activities Staff and
for our wait, housekeeping, bell men Team members.

We are very happy t know that our staff are making their best effort to make all our guest
to enjoy their vacation.

We invite you to stay with us in your next visit to Puerto Vallarta, we love to be your host.

Cordially,

Jorge Villarejo
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Like most all inclusive resorts, there are pros and some cons. Overall the service was amazing, if you go to the pool have Jorge wait your, he was simple amazing!! The restaurants were good not great, but they are working on that. The chef came up to us and asked how our meals were, the manager of the property Hector was great was always making sure our stay was good and looking for suggestions to make it even better. For the price I will definitely go back again. We had a ocean view room with a jetted tub on our balcony which was great, rooms were very nice and the cleaning staff was awesome. The pool was a little on the warm side, but that is out of their control. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway I would definitely recommend giving them a try.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jeff j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGE V, General Manager at Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Attn. Jeff
First of all I want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Puerto Vallarta.
Also we thank you for taking your time to share your opinion on our hotel and service staff.

Please be sure that I'm sharing your comments with Jorge, Hector and our Chef.
They will be very happy to know that their work is helping us to make our guet's enjoy
their vacation in our resort.

We look forward to be your host hotel in your next visit to our beautiful city.

Cordially

Jorge Villarejo.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were unpleasantly surprised by the Hilton Puerto Vallarta. We have stayed at Hilton's numerous times before and were expecting the same standards. We read the prior reviews and have done all-inclusive before so we thought we were prepared. However, we would not be recommending the hotel after our recent stay. Here's our thoughts about our stay: Both the adult and main pools had an amazing view of the ocean. The pool water was refreshing and clean after being in the sun. We enjoyed the chairs on the deck before the beach to avoid the sand. The sand on the beach was coarse and not raked in front of the hotel. The accessibility to the ocean and beach was awesome with a beautiful view. The pool area was the nicest part of the entire hotel. Pool service was superb. The pool servers were very friendly and constantly came by to ask if we needed anything. They also went out of their way to get items from the main bar if the pool bar didn't have it. The front desk and the concierge service was not friendly and felt as if they were constantly annoyed by us asking questions. Our reservation had complimentary in-room Wifi. However, the front desk seemed very irritated that we brought a print out of our reservation and that wanted them to honor the free service. We were told we had to go to the front desk every day to get a new password. Every time we asked for a new password, the front desk attendant had no idea what we were talking about even after they copied the print out of our reservation and said they made a note in the room file. The front desk pushed back every day about the free Wifi. The concierge only seemed to know restaurants and areas that they were contracted to refer guests to. We asked if there was a Hard Rock Cafe and the concierge confirmed yes and referred us to the bell man who called the cab service. We ended up in a cab that took us to the Hard Rock Hotel in another city/state and the Hard Rock Hotel told us the Cafe was closed a while back. The all-inclusive food was not good. Since the hotel was all-inclusive, mostly buffet style with a few restaurants, which was expected. However, most of the prepared food sat out in the heat (even in the dining rooms with little air conditioning) and was questionable as to whether it was safe to eat without getting sick. There was little authentic Mexican food which seemed odd..The cuisine was mostly "international" throughout the hotel. They should stick to food Mexico is known for is what we thought. In order to eat at the restaurants, reservations had to be made the morning before. They made the restaurants sound busy each night, but the restaurants were always empty with maybe three tables when we dined. The hotel was modern but seemed dirty since most of the hotel is white. The white walls and floors showed a lot of wear and dirt. The elevators were either broken or very small, dirty and hot. The rooms were updated and spacious for the standard room. The shower had a swinging door that did not seal the water in so we ended up with a soaked shower mat and an heaping puddle of water after each shower. The beds were not soft and rather uncomfortable. There was television and many channels and some English channels as well. However, the television overheated if left on and would not shut off. The maids missed cleaning our room and we had to request our room be cleaned. We also had to ask for more towels than two each day. Overall, I would not recommend the all-inclusive or the hotel. We ended up eating in the city instead the last days of our stay. If you have points, it would be a great option for the pool, access to the beach and stunning view. Otherwise, we would pass.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with ocean view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jacquie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Jacquie C.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy.
We are taking actions to improve our concierge and front desk customer service, also we are training our maid staff to ensure our guests are supplied with the amenities they need on their rooms.
Thank you for your comments of the condition of our property and the service of our restaurants ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience.
I hope to see you once more in our beautiful property and in the meanwhile, please feel free to reach me at hector.guerrerohernandez@hilton.com if you wish to share further comments or if you need any additional assistant.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews