We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel in La Zona Romantica”
Review of Olas Altas Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Olas Altas Suites
Ranked #20 of 70 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel in La Zona Romantica”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I spent a week at the Olas Altas Suites a couple of weeks ago and it was awesome. The room was more of an apartment, with a kitchenette, small dining room table, living room, and separate bedroom. Unlike other hotels I've stayed at in Puerto Vallarta, the bathroom here was modern and clean. There was more than ample closet space, a safe, and drapes that blocked out most of the sunlight in the mornings. The air conditioning in the bedroom was also much appreciated.

The manager, Omar, was extremely helpful in getting me acquainted with the room and the area. Even the housekeeper seemed eager to help out with anything I needed (note: if you don't leave a note telling her the money you left on the table is a tip, she won't take it).

The hotel is situated above a restaurant, Michel. The restaurant is great - I would definitely recommend stopping there for dinner (the stuffed veal was amazing). With the room, you get free breakfast the first morning at the Lido Beach Club, a few blocks away. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, but the beach club itself is a great place to spend the day sitting out in the sun and sipping on margaritas.

The location of the hotel is pretty much perfect. It's right off of Olas Altas, which is a main street with plenty of restaurants and bars. There's a mini-super (aka small market to pick up basic food items) across Olas Altas and a well-stocked convenience store another block away. If you're headed to Los Muertos Pier, it's two short blocks. If you're headed to the beach near the Blue Chairs (where the Lido is), it's a couple extra blocks - I chose to walk the streets down there, but you could just walk down to the pier and then walk along the beach itself.

Access to all of the rooms require walking up outdoor stairs; if you have mobility problems, this is not the place for you. I was on the top (third) floor and had no problems. The entry to a few rooms is from the stairway; most (including mine) are accessed via terraces off of the stairs. There is a secure gate at the entrance operated by a keycard. If someone isn't waiting for you when you arrive, just ask someone in the restaurant to call for you - I had to wait a total of about 60 seconds, which seemed acceptable to me.

While this is a predominantly gay hotel, it seemed pretty straight-friendly: I did meet a straight couple who had already been there for several days and seemed very happy.

Random note: check out La Pizza Nostra about a block away - I was surprised by how good their pizza (and cream of corn soup) was.

I can't wait to return to the Olas Altas Suites next year!

Room Tip: Can't say much about all the rooms; I stayed in room 14 and it was clean, modern, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bklynchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
29
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very nice suites more modern than many and a good price to, call or email for the price DO NOT go with ANY online price you see. (unless you just have money to throw away). Perfect spot for going to the beach and going out for the close by night life. A lot of restaurants, bars and clubs right outside your door. With that being said get a room on the top floor (3) if noise bothers you. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The say maid service twice a week. Tipped the maid on the second day and she took care of our room every day. We were here for 18 days. This will be the place I stay every year while in PV!

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank baraboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Very nice suites in a very good shape and a good price to quality.
TOP / 5 stars for this place. The situation is perfect for going to the beach and doing hot night life.
A lot of restaurants and clubs are in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: ask for the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swiss-Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have walked by this building many times, and never realized they had suites in it. Upon hearing it, and knowing of the owner, we decided to book this hotel for our honeymoon. It was WONDERFUL! The staff friendly, the room pristine, clean, comfortable and worth every penny. My hats off to Michele and the rest of the staff who make this place a complete success.

The location is great. I could see at least 20 cafes, bars, shops etc from our "kitchen" window and really enjoyed our unit. Although on a busy street, it was also very quiet and restful! The beds are so comfortable. The linens first class.

Room Tip: If you REALLY are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back. BUT, the views and excitement all ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Even with a mix up of my accommodations, I enjoyed a 10 day stay with all of the comforts of home. Centrally located in the old town, it is convenient to the beach, restaurants, and bars. The rooms are well equipped and impeccably clean.

The host and management are attentive and accommodating. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xjpc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have been coming to Vallarta since 1991. I own a fraction at the former Playa del Sol, now One Beach Street Vallarta during the month of March. However, I have been coming sometimes at Thanksgiving, sometimes at Xmas, and sometimes a week or two early. But this past year, I came for a total of 6 additional weeks during December, January and February. In December I stayed at one of the other suites hotels, and was very frustrated by the lack of attention to problems with the internet that existed the year BEFORE. So I found a deal at OAS, and stayed there my last 5 days of Xmas. What a difference! The suites were brand new. Everything is clean, and very nicely finished especially for the Romantic Zone (not that I'm complaining, its just that these are clearly a step up from what exists in the area). The staff and management are friendly, and they worked with me on several personal issues as I went back and forth to the USA. You will not regret choosing to stay here, as it is right on the walk from the Blue Chairs to the eating, drinking and entertainment along Calle Olas Altas in the building where Trattoria Michel has been for years. Michel bought the building, redid it, and the result is a comfortable and welcoming apartment for those 3-day weekends or those month long extended visits.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies have the bedroom on the front facing Rodolfo Gomez, if you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J-R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My partner & I had a nice comfortable stay at Olas Altas Suites over the 4th of July weekend. If you are looking for a place in the heart of the Zona Romantica close to bars (gay or straight) restaurants and the beach, then this is a good option. The staff (including Omar & the very sweet cleaning lady) are very friendly & accommodating. Your stay includes one free breakfast at Beach Club Lido which is a restaurant owned by the same people who own Olas Altas next to Blue chairs. I would recommend having your free breakfast there then eating elsewhere during your stay, the food was mediocre at best and overpriced. Our suite was more like a small apartment which was nicely decorated, with a firm mattress, good clean sheets & towels, great air conditioning, ceiling fans, TV, and good views of the street action down below. The room was kept very clean and had a kitchen with some cooking utensils enough for basic cooking. I would consider staying here again on our next trip to PV.

Room Tip: The building consists of 4 or 5 floors with no elevators. Take this into consideration if you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxx32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#56 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plazamar
Plazamar
#71 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amapas Apartments Puerto Vallarta
Amapas Apartments Puerto Vallart...
#16 of 89 in Puerto Vallarta
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Fantasia
Casa Fantasia
#11 of 70 in Puerto Vallarta
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaca Hotel
Amaca Hotel
#63 of 89 in Puerto Vallarta
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olas Altas Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olas Altas Suites

Property: Olas Altas Suites
Address: Rodolfo Gomez 158 | Rodolfo Gomez and Olas Altas, Puerto Vallarta 48310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olas Altas Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olas Altas Suites - Your home away from home. Olas Altas Suites offers you three different types of accommodation in a newly renovated contemporary building in the heart of the Romantic Zone in Puerto Vallarta just one block from the beach and within walking distance from restaurants, bars and a wide variety of cultural and sport activities. All of our suites feature a fully equipped kitchen, air conditioning, free wi-fi and a flat screen TV with international channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olas Altas Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing