We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tortas Ahogadas”
Review of Antigua Molienda Cafe - CLOSED

Antigua Molienda Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: Come to Antigua Molienda Cafe and know the best coffee from Coatepec, Veracruz, high altitude and let to our Baristas seduce you with the best espressos, capuccinos and Frappes with the coffe bean ground at the moment, also our menu of our delicatessen food and delicious desserts.Open daily from 8:00am to 9:00 pmFollow us in Facebook
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Tortas Ahogadas”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

If you have been to Guadalajara, you may have seen their most popular sandwich, a local invention. Also nicknamed the 'drunken sub', shredded meat and gravy au jus with a special trucked-in bun a bit on the salty side. Possibly the Mexican version of the sloppy joe as more gets on your white shirt than in your mouth! Go here for this specialty and sit in the quaint rear garden area. Down-home, run by a good couple with very tasty reasonable food. Stop by at least for a cup of their brew from Veracruz [coffee for sale to make at home].

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great coffee and hospitality”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This was real find, where one can have a variety of different coffees, from espressos to cappuccinos and everything in between.

The owners are cordial and helpful in terms of information about the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dg2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect neighborhood coffee”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

If you are strolling around Old Town, make sure and stop in. The frappe's are the best I've found and the service is exceedingly friendly. Avoid the lines at some of the other coffee places and enjoy the beverages and sandwiches here. Pick up a bag of there home roasted beans too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTRupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

A friend and I were walking by this darling cafe and were delighted with the owners and the intimate setting! So the next day we went back with my husband and enjoyed the delicious torta! It was fantastic and the latte was beautiful and delicious !!! The owners are such lovely people and welcome you with such grace! It is a definite that we will go back to enjoy the experience again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwangsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicius food and coffee”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I was driving around PV looking for a good Torta Ahogada place and couldn't find (for those who haven't tried this ,you should, it's a typical Jalisco delight consists of a sub served in a bowl with sauce,you eat it with a spoon or your bare hands!!) Torta Ahogada means Drowned Sandwich

As I drove by Antigua Molienda I noticed they had Torta Ahogada so I decided to try it there. I was not dissapointed it was delicious!! and to top it all off I ordered a frapuccino with banana and pecans YUMMY!! The best frapuccino I ever had I think I became addicted to it and I will go back this weekend for more!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antigua Molienda Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing