We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of this world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This place is amazing with excellent service, I felt like I walked into another world. The decor is amazing its a place to visit. Great location close to resturants and beaches. I had a wonderful experience. Never thought there was such a unique place in Puerta Vallarta, so cosy, I hated leaving.

Room Tip: The mariposa love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Cannot say enough. 10 days of perfection hosted by Alex, Diego, Marcella, Benjamin and Chayo. Snuggled in amongst beautiful old town PV, in minutes of the beach, you cannot ask for a better experience. When Alex says 'this is your home', he means it. My boyfriend caught a little stomach bug, Alex heard about it and had coconut juice hand delivered. Fresh flowers just because? Done. The interior alone (spectacular) cannot be conveyed by pictures, but believe you will be more impressed than you think you can be. Such a beautiful home, treated like family... the best vacation ever.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Alejandro Suite. Perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I recently stayed at this boutique hotel while on vacation in Puerto Vallarta per the recommendation of a friend. The place is very nice and has such an eclectic vibe. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was great. I also really enjoyed the rooftop pool and jacuzzi. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Was surprisingly amazed with soooo nice Hotel and services of the owner!!! Highly recommend to all people who want to feel cosy as at home! Impressive atmosphere of design and rooms of Hotel. Very delicious breakfast are included!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxArinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Rivera del Rio recently and had a wonderful stay. Upon arrival, we were greeted with delicious guacamole and margaritas. We enjoyed a peaceful evening on our balcony overlooking Rio Cuale before hitting the rooftop spa and pool. I would definitely recommend this luxurious boutique hotel. Just great!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrossetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Rivera del Rio is absolutely fantastic. My fiancé and I stayed there for a weekend looking for a relaxing change of pace. We sure got it. The staff was exceptional. The ambiance, perfect. The view from the hot tub on the roof, breath taking. If you are looking for a nice boutique hotel that is out of the fray of all the night life in Vallarta, Rivera del Rio is the place for you. We certainly will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jlouproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have been going down to Vallarta for several years now. Living in Chicago it is a welcome retreat esp. in Jan-Feb. I have stayed at Rivera del Rio several times off and on over the years and as a result have grown close to Alex. This place is great for all travelers in general and all can expect to be made to feel welcome and comfortable. It is esp great for the solo traveler. You can be there solo and have very private areas but have a common breakfast and pool area and you feel like you are there where you can meet people and mingle. I've remained friends on social media with several nice people I've met there. This place would also make an amazing event space for an event or small wedding party. You better bet if I ever get married this will be the place. Also, with Alex's staff and his resources and knowledge of the area he could have or hook you up with any vendor or anything you need. Don't let the location fool or detour you. It can appear to be off the beaten path if you aren't familiar with the area or are just looking at a map. It's actually in a great spot because it's near the river walk if you go down then to the right or if you go down then to the left your at all the bars and restaurants. There is a few coconut vendors just down the street and I go over there every morning to rehydrate and start my day for about a dollar:) Vallarta is extremely safe I walk home late from the bars all the time and feel much more comfortable doing that then I ever would in Chicago the street that runs by the river to take you up to Rivera del Rio can seem a bit dim and unsafe but trust me it's not I've walked it many times very late at night. Also you can be over there for less then 5 bucks in a cab from pretty much anywhere you want to be. The beach is also less then ten minutes also. Whatever you want or need Alex or his partner will help you with it. If you want a unique stay with great service esp if it's your first time in Vallarta then I cannot recommend this place more. Trust me you will enjoy it. The pool and hot tub are beautiful and the sunset at night from the hot tub is amazing. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
814 reviews
4.2 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#1 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Rivera Del Rio 104, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £67 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious old world Villa/B&B in the heart of historic Puerto Vallarta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing