We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Del Sol Los Muertos Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$241
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$631
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Casa Dona Susana(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
US$536
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$487
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
10
10
4
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
10
4
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We spent a week at the Playa Del Sol Los Muertos in July (10-17). I checked on Travel Advisor for several weeks prior to vacation, and I admit I wasn't too sure of how the hotel would measure up. Most of the reviews were very good, but one in particular had me worried. But our plans were made, and so we went! We landed on time and took the previously contracted shuttle straight to the hotel. We arrived at the hotel about 1:00 pm - quite a bit before check-in. They suggested we get a bite to eat or go swim for a bit, then come back. They took our luggage up to a room for us and we set out to town. We ate lunch at a local restaurant and returned to the hotel. Our room was ready, and we were happy to have an oceanfront two bedroom. While some of the furniture might need some updating, the overall facilities were quite nice. We had six adults - the maid (Isabel) did a great job keeping up with all of us - that wasn't easy! Any time we needed something, we just called the front desk (it seemed Lourdes was there the most and she was wonderful), and they were more than happy to help. They called cabs for us, answered questions, and were eager to supply any items we requested. All of the employees were friendly and constantly working to keep the common areas clean. The pool is somewhat on the small side, but we spent time cooling off after the beach and meeting other guests - it's the perfect play pool. The bar, La Pirata, was very good. The waiter was very attentive and we enjoyed drinks and snacks on the beach about every other day! As for the peddlers, it was somewhat of a nuisance, but by the end of the trip, we learned to laugh and watch those who stopped each and every one and didn't buy a thing!! Puerto Vallarta is such a neat place. There is a lot to see if you give yourself the time - ride the local buses - explore the side streets. I was quite surprised at how large a place Puerto Vallarta is! We all enjoyed our stay at the Playa Del Sol Los Muertos. It's not far from town, the Malecon, and within walking distance of quite a few restaurants. Overall, we were very pleased with the service and would recommend this hotel. By the way - we are not owners of Playa Del Sol, but requested an ocean view prior to and upon arrival. Also, the review that scared me...well, it seems Playa Del Sol management must read their reviews. They responded to the review, and I was very pleased to see they take these comments to heart. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KSPAG728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

My friend and I, along with our 3 teenagers stayed at Playa del Sol from June 19-25. We couldn't have asked for a better location or property. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only time there was even a hint of a timeshare presentation was from the concierge, who quickly backed off when we stated we didn't want to spend our precious vacation time at a presentation.

I'm very surprised at the very negative review from a guest who apparently stayed during the same time we did. We recieved an ocean front suite (room 301, I believe) and we are definitely not owners! Yes, one day, the pool was a bit green. The following day it had been cleared up considerably and the day after that it was perfectly blue. We never heard construction noise but did see the building under construction outside our front door. One day, during our stay, there was a notice that a fumigation would take place but we had activities away from the unit and when we returned, there was no odor or any evidence it had even been done (although, I presume it had). I'm delighted to say that we never saw any bugs! Housekeeping was wonderful!!!! Trust me, with 3 teenagers, their job was not made easy. Yet we came back to a spotlessly clean unit, complete with towel animal sculptures!

If there is any kind of negative - and it really isn't - it was that the room safe was not operable. The front desk accomodated us with a safe-deposit box located behind the front lobby. This was only a few steps from our front door and there was always someone immediately available to help us access it whenever we needed to.

We accessed the beach by going through the pool area and down the steps. You don't need to go through the garage if you don't want to. And speaking of the pool, lounge chairs were always available (nothing I hate worse than having to get up early to "claim" a pool chair!)

A money exchange and a convenience store were located across the street. Hundreds of choices of restaurants are located within walking distance. Los Muertos beach with parasailing, waterskis, restaurants and beach vendors was a delight and right at our feet. Next time, I'm going to be sure to buy some pastries from the vendor who walks the walkway every morning. I heard they were delicious!

I will definitely stay again at Playa del Sol.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deSchenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2007

The staff was so incredibly helpful that each one of the four of us brought it up separately wondering if the others were noticing the same thing. The front desk, the maids, EVERYONE went above and beyond. The restaurant was great. Service was far above par. Our waiter, Alejandro (Alex) deserves special mention for going so far out of his way to help us. He was, well, great isn't a big enough word! Our rooms were spotlessly cleaned each day, the pool was clean and BLUE not green, and we were never approached again after one "No, gracias" to the time share people. I do not like condos and don't stay in beach front hotels usually because I like to stay in a less touristy area when in Mexico but this hotel was just charming. The view, the beach, every part - it was just great. Oh, and there is an elevator right in the middle of the building!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2007

We are seasoned travelers but this place was the worst! Do not stay here unless you plan to buy playa del sol timeshare, if you don't they treat you like trash! For starters our room 211, no elevator gets even close so we went up 3 flights of narrow stairs with 4 suitcases. Our view, a gravel pit, literally. A half torn down building. The pool, Green, the kind of green that causes infections in places you don't want infections. The staff, misreable, unless you want to buy there. If someone is filming a Prison movie I have the names of some potential prison gaurd actresses. We got a notice the first day, must leave from 10am to 3 pm due to fumigating the entire place. Maintence going on, constant jack hammering from 9am til about 5pm. We traded our week of timeshare to stay here, upon booking was told an ocean view room would be no problem since its off season. Upon check-in we were told only members get ocean view all others get whats left over. You have to cross a road to get to the beach and the restaraunt is horrible. Awful, dirty,Nasty, a Waist!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
2  Thank katzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa_del_Sol, Management, Playa del Sol Resorts. at Playa Del Sol Los Muertos Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2007

This guest complaint was the result of several problems that, unfortunately, coincided during their stay. We very much regret the negative experience reported in the guests’ letter and we have been taking immediate corrective action.

Yes, during their stay, there was noise from the hotel renovation program in our neighboring tower, which we had kept nearly empty so that the noise problem would be minimized. It is worth noting that no other guests mentioned a noise problem during the renovation period (now complete).

We always ask that guests contact our front desk during their stay regarding any problem. In the present case, this was not done so, unfortunately, we were unable to respond to their specific concerns while they were at the hotel.

Simultaneous with the renovation project, we had a temporary problem with the ph balance in the pool during the summer rains. We have corrected the problem and will continue to monitor it so that it does not reoccur.

We try to provide ocean view rooms to as many guests as possible, but because of the renovations during the guests’ stay, many of the ocean view rooms were taken out of service to avoid noise problems. While we do have an elevator, some rooms do require access by stairway. Bell service is always offered to guests.

Fumigations are a regular requirement for any hotel here in the tropics and we always advise guests in advance so that they have the option of declining this service while they are in the hotel. The process is not harmful to human health.

As to guest services, it is our policy to treat all guests with equal attention, regardless of whether they are interested in the timeshare program. We will be certain to reinforce this policy and in fact, we take pride in the quality of our staff and our food and beverage service, as reflected in the many positive guest comment cards we collect each month.

Again, we regret the experience reported and will do everything possible to correct every issue mentioned in the complaint letter. We take pride in Playa del Sol as a very well managed hotel with a superb location and we will renew our efforts to make certain that every guest has the highest quality vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

We just returned from spending the last week of April, 2007 at Playa Del Sol Los Muertos Beach. This is a clean, well maintained complex. At check-in, we were asked if we were interested in a timeshare presentation. Our firm "no!" was taken graciously.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit with an ocean view from the small balcony. As you enter, there is a good-sized vanity area, a small closet and a stacking washer and dryer. The small bathroom is just past that. The bedroom was good-sized and had adequate storage for two people. The bed was comfortable, rare in Mexico.

The living room, kitchenette, and dining area are pretty small, but nicely decorated. The decor is Mexican style, the walls are white with a few pictures here and there. The rooms are no where near as nice as those at Playa Del Sol Grand, but we prefer this location.

My brother and sister-in-law decided to join us at the last minute. We were told that the one bedroom condo would accomodate four people. They said the sofa bed was the worst ever-even after housekeeping brought up an egg crate topper. The one bedroom might be fine for a couple with two small children, but it was cramped with four adults. Not enough closet space, bathroom too small, exactly four glasses, etc.

The staff at Playa Del Sol was wonderful! Carlos welcomed us with beach chairs every day and was quick to bring a fresh drink, Rosa kept our room spotless, and the front desk staff was always courteous.

One of my friends was bothered by the fact that you go through the garage to get to the beach. It's a small, very clean, well-lighted and secure garage. I didn't bother me at all.

The pool is really small, but we enjoyed it in the evening. Plenty of chairs for everyone, nicely done pool deck.

We plan on returning to Playa Del Sol. We loved the location and the staff. The one bedroom would have been perfectly adequate for two people.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spotcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews