We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Del Sol Los Muertos Beach
Ranked #103 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 1 August 2006

We had the greatest time at PDS. The entire staff was great and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable there. You do not need to speak Spanish there but it does help. The staff at the Pirate Restaurant and in the garage/security area were especially helpful. My friend misplaced her sandals, room keys, and swim case with money in it and was very distressed about it. The security man in the garage stopped her the next morning when she walked by and had her lost items there for her. We always felt safe there though we were in a new city. The prices and the service at the Pirate Restaurant and bar were so great that we never even visited the deli inside or cooked for ourselves. There were plenty of good restaurants to eat at within walking distance of the hotel in the evening. You could walk along the beach or through the streets. There was also a money exchange and a little food store very close to the hotel. The beach was great. The pool was small but everyone was so friendly. The pool was a great place to cool off after the beach or a walk in the city. We met so many great people there who gave us great advice about the city. We hope to go there again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank missmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2006

This is a 4 star resort that is undergoing changes to become a 5-star. The staff is 5-star: very helpful, always friendly, etc. The hotel design is beautiful, old Puerto Vallarta style.

The rooms are nicely laid out. Some have great views of the ocean while others have a balcony where you can see the ocean off in a distance. Our room had a couple minor problems (e.g., shower door didn't close easily).

There is a spa on premises as well as a restaurant and bar (on the beach -- open in the morning until 5:00 pm). The pool is small, but a lot of people use it as a refreshing alternative to the beach.

The beach is across the quiet street that runs in front of the resort and has umbrellas and lounge chairs (free) with drinks and food available from the resort restaurant on the sand.

The resort is located at the edge of the romantic downtown area. Since it's the edge, it means you have to walk 15 - 30 minutes (or take a taxi for around $1 USD) to the main strip where all the famous night life and shops are. However, there are several great restaurants within a few blocks of the resort.

There are fancier, newer resorts on the north side of town (e.g., the Playa del Sol Grand) which provide a more complete resort experience (which is why they are 5-star). But, if you want to experience the night life and famous restaurants of the area, the Playa del Sol Los Muertos is a great choice.

Tip: Take the Pirate Ship tour if you have children; take the canopy tour for a unique experience (there are several to choose from).

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank BobHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leesburg, VA
124
Reviewed 12 March 2006

We stayed at Playa del Sol in February 2006. We prefer having a spacious condo to hotel. PDS is one of the nicest condo's we have vacationed in. Staff was friendly and the rooms were even nicer than we expected.

The location is ideal, oceanfront on Los Muertos Beach, one of the nicest and best known beaches in Puerto Vallarta. The pier is just a short walk up the beach with great fishing. Not only is it oceanfront but also within walking distance of old town Vallarta also known as "Zona Romantica." Lots of great shops and restaurants within walking distance.

We stayed in a 2 br. master unit which was very spacious (over 1,600 sq. feet) with a king master br. and 2nd br. with two singles. The condo was air conditioned and has a full kitchen, washer/dryer, satellite TV and large wrap around deck with beautiful ocean views. On site pool is small but nice and overlooks the Banderas Bay. Onsite massage/spa was also very nice.

PDS has daily maid service except for Sundays. The on site restaurant served breakfast and lunch which was OK. We mostly went out or occasionally cooked breakfast in the room. The private beach in front of the PDS has palapas and plenty of beach chairs (just ask if you need an extra one). We also liked the fact that the PDS has secure parking on site.

Overall this was one of our best vacations. We will be back to PDS.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle
17
Reviewed 5 March 2006

Here is an above average+ PVR resort hotel. There are some things about this place that's truly better than most anything in PVR ie.Location,views..other things on par with the better places, clealiness spaciousness, and the rest is basically about what you'd expect at a nice place.
However, a few jaded people is all it takes to slam this truly quality resort, think about it, a $200 a night place rated along side $40 dumps.. You do get what you pay for except in this case your paying nothing for other people's advice.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2005

We stayed for a week the end of Oct to Nov. We loved PV and the location of the condo on Los Muertos beach is great. The condo is a simple 60 unit, white stucco building with beautiful tile and a fountain in the courtyard. The building blends well with the surrounding area.

We had a 2 bedroom condo, that accommodated 4 people nicely. The master bedroom had a queen size bed, two end tables, a vanity, closet with 4 drawer dresser. The bathroom was large with L shaped mirrors, large tiled counter top. The toilet and shower/square shaped tub was separated by a folding privacy door.
The water was always warm, and the water pressure was great.

The second bedroom had twin beds and a connecting bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. Not much counter space. But great to have two bathrooms.

The kitchen/living room area had two couches, a dining table and the kitchen. The kitchen was stocked with basic utensils for cooking. We tended to just make hot cocoa and coffee. We used the blender, microwave and fridge. You can pay $5 US for a weeks worth of water in a larger container, and it lasted exactly the week. We filled our little bottles of water, we had bought, from the bigger water container

Balcony small with two plastic chairs, and a table. We had a view to the beach and the cobblestone street.

I would defintely return. This is not a 5 star resort, more like 3 star. That's on the American scale. Very clean, very nice staff, no timeshare hassles at all. Quiet, clean, and just what we were looking for!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank sunRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
111
Reviewed 15 August 2005

Playa Del Sol-Los Muertos isn't a five star hotel by any means. But, who stays in their hotel all day and night when on vacation.....But, the staff is GREAT!!!! My husband had his wallet stolen, and the staff made numerous phone calls and went ou of their way to help us. That I won't forget.

The location of the hotel is perfect.....but as far as the rooms are concerned, they are a bit out of date.

PV is a beautiful place. I enjoyed most of my time there, except for being ripped off by 50 percent of the taxi drivers AND the timeshare people.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2005

The condo complex is small, but the location is just great. We could walk to town, there was alot of activity on the beach, we got the chance to talk to many local people and other guests.

Our room didnt have a view, but with so many things to do in town and on the beach we didnt spend much time there so it was fine. The front desk staff was really helpful when we checked in and helped us locate a bag that didnt arrive from the airport. The Security staff was always helpful in calling us a cab or giving us directions. The units were fully stocked and even had washers and dryers

We would definately come back, we had a great time and have some great memories that we will remember for many years to come. We highly recommend this location.

18  Thank ActivePV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#63 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#64 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#33 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Del Sol Los Muertos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Del Sol Los Muertos Beach

Address: Calle Malecon 1 Esq Abedul | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48290, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £147 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Playa Del Sol Los Muertos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Sol Los Muertos Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing