We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay during fever scare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #12 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 June 2009

With a 50% occupancy rate, and staying on the All-Inclusive formula, we had a GREAT break: lovely setting on it's own beach, very attentive staff (be it on the beach, quite a ways away, or at the swim-up bar, or at any of the five restaurants or four other bars)- these guys (and girls) just couldn't do enough for you. Room on the top floor: what a view- with little manta's cavorting in the surf, and pelicans diving for fish.
We went on a scuba trip with Vallarta Adventures (very professional outfit)- and by the end of the day they even had ME in the conga line- on a dive boat!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HansieDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,885 - 5,891 of 7,891 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2009

The landscape is beautiful. The food is excellent. The staff is extremely friendly. My wife is 4 months pregnant and the staff took excellent care of her recommending activities and non-alcoholic drinks. The bar tenders even took the extra time to wash out the blenders before they made her a drink. Special thanks to Fernando and Salvador for that. The entire entertainment staff was excellent. At Casino night you want Alex as your blackjack dealer and rock climbing Tony is a great guide and very patient. Overrall, the whole staff genuinely cared if you were having a good time.
The only bad thing about the restaurants is that I did not have enough nights to try everything on the menus. Room service is good and delivered quickly.
The only thing I would not give the highest rating is the ocean because I am not all that comfortable swimming with manta rays.
You go to PV and do not stay here you are crazy. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jillybean14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

This was the most luxurious resort we've stayed at in all our years of travelling. BE SURE to pay the extra cost to stay in the Preferred Tower, because the accommodations are so much better than the standard: Fantastic ocean view, jacuzzi on balcony, free internet, and room service. Beautiful beach, with free water sports.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The staff as a whole was, without a doubt, the most genuinely warm, friendly, and service oriented folks I have encountered in a long time, if ever. The rooms were perfect; we stayed in the newer Club Tower and had a beautiful ocean view (the Club Tower has ONLY ocean views). My only problem was that the online reservation included transfers from airport to hotel...after a lot of hassle calling the hotel we had to take a cab for 300 pesos ($25) coming and again going so I will call and whine...I was too taken with the sparkling wine handed to me getting out of the cab, the great atmosphere, checking in, and looking around for my son to pursue it at the time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostalaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My partner and I spent the best seven days & nights vacation at the Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa this past January. The staff were friendly, and courteous. The meals were top notch and our room was quiet and comfortable. I was concerned about the poor ratings that some people had given this resort, but I must say that we were totally satisfied with every aspect of our stay at this Dreams location. We are planning to return for another stay and plan to make it a longer holiday. Our heart felt thanks go out to everyone at Dreams and our travel agent, Jubilee Travel in Vancouver, B.C.. Signed: Keith Olsen

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My wife and 4 year old daughter just returned this past Monday from a week at Dreams and are telling everyone we know about this relatively unknown gem.

We’ve traveled extensively and I must admit that Puerto Vallarta wasn’t a destination I’d ever really considered. We’ve been to Playa and Cancun as have most of our friends here in Texas given how convenient they are. However, after some research my wife did here on TripAdvisor on Dreams, though, we reconsidered and are delighted that we did.

The Flight
To start, it was only a 2 hour and 8 minute direct flight from Dallas on American which was wonderful given that this was our first vacation with our daughter. This is only a few minutes longer than a flight to Playa or Cancun. And all three of us racked up a few more miles.

The Beach
Unlike the Yucatan destinations in Mexico, you get a perfect sunset over the Pacific to enjoy with your bottomless cocktail which was sweet. As others have pointed out, Dreams is on its own semi-private cove so although it’s a public beach, you really only share it with other guests. There were only a handful of vendors selling items but they were polite and obliged when you’d simply say “no thanks”. For anyone who’s been to Negril, this will be a welcome change.

The Food
Although the reviews we’d read here were mostly positive, we decided to “tread lightly” at first, sticking to fried food with hot sauce and generally being cautious. Of course, from the second day on, we were gulping down ceviche, sea bass, mahi mahi, tenderloin, shrimp, you name it. In other words, the food was wonderful and simply unbelievable for this price. None of us got sick, including my daughter who enjoyed hot dogs, mac and cheese, and all the usual items on the kid’s menus. And unlike Club Med, you have your choice of the main buffet restaurants or smaller restaurants with tables for two or four and wait service for each.

The Service
Simply wonderful! The waitstaff at the restaurants, pool, and beach (yep, bottomless cocktails available everywhere) were always attentative, friendly, and hard working as was pretty much the entire staff of the hotel. They really do seem to strive to show you that they appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation time and dollars with them.

Excursions
This time around, we chose to be slugs and just relax all day so we skipped the many excursions. Of course, when we come back next year - and we are coming back next year - we’re planning to get out and see the sights. We’d heard that there’s an exotic game petting zoo that the other parents raved about and even seemed to enjoy more than their kids.

We'd booked this trip a few months ago so after worrying about border slayings, then the swine flu scare, we are very glad we decided to go.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank EliCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

This resort is not exactly a dream. Here is my review on the good, the bad, and the ugly.

ROOM/HOTEL: My fiancé and I stayed at this resort in April 2009. We reserved a gorgeous room located in the Preferred Club tower. The only problem with the room, was that the shower-head was broken and the sink did not drain properly. Overall, our room was immaculately clean!
The swimming pools, however, were very small and dirty!

TOURS: Tours and excursions are not included in your trip and they are very expensive. The horseback riding tour, however, was well worth the money!! It is an all day tour that takes you through rural areas and you get to swim at the waterfalls! It was so beautiful!

STAFF: The customer service is not fantastic. We arrived at the resort around 3:00pm but had to wait in the lobby for THREE hours before we could actually go to our room! If you want a jacuzzi in your room, make sure that you barter with the staff. The front desk was originally going to charge us $600 for the jacuzzi, but we managed to get one for almost half the price (Only in Mexico does this kind of crap happen). Some of the wait staff are sleazeballs trying to make a quick buck by selling you alcohol privately on the side (which is more expensive than the duty-free shop). WATCH YOUR WALLET!

FOOD: The worst part of our vacation was that we both had food poisoning. I have never been so violently ill while on vacation. And the Gravol did not help at all. I talked to several other guests and they all got food poisoning as well (including an entire wedding party)! Bottom line: Avoid the Seaside Grill and Oceana!

LOCATION: The resort is too far away from town and the tour locations. The beach is very small.

OVERALL: Paying top dollar for a resort does not always mean that you will receive the best. I would not return to this resort because of the food poisoning.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
759 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
551 reviews
5.6 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,330 reviews
5.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £182 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this natural, open-air paradise, you'll see shades of blue you never imagined, stretching from the brilliant mosaics of the infinity pools to the spectacular views of the azure ocean. Authentic Mexican cuisine, swim-up suites and a beautiful, intimate setting that seems to grow more perfect every moment, we have it all. All bestowed with our genuine Service from the HeartTM . That's the difference at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta. That's the Evolution of All-Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing