We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico experience as it should be.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #37 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
International Falls, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mexico experience as it should be.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

When selecting Costa Sur we were hopeful that we would be staying at a facility depicting typical Mexico, but as it had been 20+ years since we had visited Puerto Vallarta, we expected some change.

We were very happy to find that Costa Sur has retained its integrity in representing Mexico. It is difficult to be brief when summarizing our experience at Costa Sur as each facet is due an excellent rating.

To begin with, every unit is oceanfront affording an excellent view with the patio size in relation to the type of unit. We spent one week in a one-bedroom unit (south tower) and our second week in a studio (north tower); both of which had a complete kitchenette. The furnishings are typically Mexican: bright and comfortable, in working order and very clean. Having a safe in each unit is a plus.

In-between the two towers are the two pools, the spa, gym, snack bar, pool bar, library area, sunset deck and dining room. All public areas are well staffed, well maintained and very clean. The staff was attentive and polite.

The food was excellent in taste and presentation and each day of the week featured a specialty dinner buffet. Having the all-inclusive plan as a daily option and being able to charge meals to your account allowed individual freedom of choice as well as the opportunity to experience the many other restaurants available in Old Town. Also, the on-site mini-mart offered basic food/beverage items for light in-room snacks as well as a selection of vacation items.

The location was perfect as our preference is to be away from the highly populated downtown area; yet downtown was available to us by using either the public bus system, or readily available taxis.

Overall, we were very pleased with Costa Sur and will not hesitate to spend future vacations here. We will also recommend Costa Sur to our family and friends who enjoy Mexico as much as we do. Mucho Gracias Costa Sur!

Room Tip: As all of the units are ocean front, the only decision needed is what size of unit you need, i.e. st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EForsythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for the very nice comments about our Costa Sur.
We are very glad we were able to completely satisfy your vacation experience, especially after so many years of not having been back to Puerto Vallarta.
We will be passing along your nice words to our employees who, we are sure, will, enjoy them very much, as they will feel very appreciated.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope you will give Vallarta and Costa Sur the opportunity to host you again much sooner than 20 years from now. This can be "home away from home"!
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    540
    215
    84
    54
See reviews for
435
586
43
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This place is really small and cozy. The rooms aren't totally updated, but it was a great stay. We went for a wedding, which was amazing and beautiful, and only stayed 4 nights. The hotel is actually 2 buildings so if you are traveling with a group of people you should ask before hand to be close or in the same building.

Pool: 2 small pools. One is an adult pool which is warm and off to the back. No hot tub. I was bummed that there wasn't a hot tub. Plenty of chairs and towels.

Clientele: Our group aged from 25-40 and we were the youngest crowd there! There are a lot of older people who stay for long periods of time. The outside seating area/restaurant was dead silent around 11 everyday. It almost felt like a convalescent home. This wasn't a bad thing, but the hotel isn't a young crazy spot.

Food/Drinks: Great food and drinks. The nachos and margaritas are awesome! Some of the best mexican food I have had in Mexico. I've been all around too. I would pay the extra for all inclusive if you plan to drink and eat. It seems to be the better deal. But, this is only if you drink! The all inclusive includes the nightly themed buffets they have. Usually 18-20 american dollars a person.

Service: Not good at all. We had to wait several minutes to get service. It took so long to get our drinks and food when we would order. Our dinner one night took 50 minutes to get and it was only chicken and rice. It was the best chicken I have ever had, but still took forever!

Beach: GREAT! Tide was low (November) and the beach was great. Rocks all over but the water was clear and had tons of fish and great snorkeling. The water was warm and clean and there as even a paddle board and kayak to rent.

Overall: If your looking for a great, quiet place this is a great spot. Super friendly!

Room Tip: 215 is the newly remodeled room. It is the special person room on the lot. Very nice. Usually couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheridanMarie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Marie thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur, as well as for the nice observations regarding your experience.
We are very glad that we were able to satisfy most of your expectations and that the wedding was a success.
We want to assure you that we have taken note of your comments regarding the service and that we will look into this issue in order to take the necessary corrective steps needed.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to host you again in a near future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Loved the view and the ocean front rooms. Room 309. Should advertise this place as a boutique hotel. It is small and quaint. But not the level of a high end resort and spa. Advertise it as it is so there are no surprises. It's ok to say this is a hotel that have beautiful views with rustic Mexican style/decorated rooms. Some renovations have been made but others are on its way. The food was terrible. However the drinks made up for it. Some of the male service staff were not very friendly. And yes, the wi-fi was not great. Overall, I would come back. Costa Sur has potential to become a great gem. It just needs a little touch up. Thank you! Victor the waiter was super!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Platanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We have taken note of your comments about the food and beverage quality and service and would like to assure you that we will look into the problems, in order to take the necessary corrective actions and avoid a repeat situation. As well, we will pass along to Victor you congratulations which we are certain he will very much appreciate.
The Wifi issue is being worked on, looking at different solutions and vendors, and we hope to have this resolved as soon as possible.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you in a near future at your "home away from home".
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just returned from another great yearly trip to Costa Sur. The staff at this resort are wonderful and make sure that every need is met. We stayed in the old tower and had a beautiful referbished room! The new TV's are a great feature. See you next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcarl5691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your great words about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad your experience was complete and that, once again, our staff stepped up to the plate and delivered the best of them as they are the heart and soul of our beautiful Resort .
Once again, thank you very much, and we will be waitnig for you next year at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomah, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel is amazing. Anything you may want to do or see they make sure to help. The waiters in the restaurant were spectacular. The view is awesome. The overall experience was great :) The concierge helped us find everything we wanted to do at a great price and the front desk was always available to help as well. Very friendly staff. The pool and beach were amazing. The view from either one was just breathtaking. Thank you so much to the staff at the Costa Sur Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyL32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Kelly thank you so much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and are very happy that the best experience was provided by all our staff, as they are the soul of the Resort and we are very proud of having them on board.
Once again, thank you very much, and we will be waiting for you on a future visit at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomah, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Over all this was a very nice place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The view was gorgeous and rooms were kept clean. We really enjoyed the week we spent there and would recommend this resort to anyone who would enjoy some relaxing time away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest thank you very much for your recent stay's comment at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to learn that you had a great stay and that our staff took care of you the way they really know, as they are a big part of our success.
We hope to be seeing you again in a near future at your "home away from home",
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here in September! Gorgeous view, so close to the ocean, and everyone was so friendly!!! It is a quiet resort so if you are looking to party all night, you will probably want to go into the downtown club area, but we were so wore out from the sun it was ok with us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michels0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a great experience and that our staff made you feel welcome and comfortable.
We hope we will be able to host you again in a very near future at your "home away from home" and, meanwhile, we send our best regards.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#81 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#11 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#56 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
290 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
338 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Property: Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing