We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,866)
Filter reviews
1,866 results
Traveller rating
782
658
265
99
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
658
265
99
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lagoon barefoot bar man made lagoon north tower juan carlos pool area road noise ocean front activities director small kitchen minute bus ride time share sound of the waves pool volleyball the wait staff welcome home banderas bay
Filter
Updating list...
780 - 785 of 1,866 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We just got back from our 3rd trip to PV but first time at Costa Sur using Interval International exchange. The resort itself is fine, though a little outdated. The staff are very friendly and will bend over backwards to help you. The food was very good and reasonable. We attended the 2-1 happy hour most every day which was enjoyable. However, the beach, though private, is just the width of the resort itself so you cannot take "long walks on the beach." You also need to either take a taxi or bus to get to town. The road by the resort is very narrow and windy and not safe for walking. The bus stop is right across the street from the resort, however, my husband and I like to walk to different restaurants and grocery store. The unit was fine (#715) except the bedroom is by road and we could hear traffic day & night, especially big trucks going by at all hours.

Room tip: People who have been coming there for over 30 years say rooms on the 2-6 floors are quieter.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueincolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear sue thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
we are glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your vacation experience was a nice one. We are proud to see that, once again, our staff stepped up and gave their best, as they are the soul of the resort. We will make sure to pass your comments along to them as they will appreciate them very much.
We hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you in a future at your "home away from home" and thank you one more time.
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

While resorts pride themselves in great customer service, Costa Sur Resort & Spa takes it a step further and makes you feel like part of their family. This is my second stay at the property and the customer service by all employees is off the charts. This resort has a special feel, a bit secluded, killer views, exceptional rooms, exquisite food, plenty of activities, wonderful price....but it is the staff that sets it apart. I'm in the tourism business and this resort is one I'll return to time and again as it is as close to perfect as I've ever come across.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Leslie thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur, as well as for those wonderful words about our staff.
Our personnel is the soul of the Resort and we are very proud to know that they showed it one more time. We will make sure to pass a copy of this comment along to them on the bulletin board, so they know they have one more Family member!!
Once again thank you very much and we will be awaiting to host you in a near future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just spent two weeks at Costa Sur in the North Tower, 3rd floor end unit junior suite, rm. 301. I booked this through an Interval World as getaways for a great cost. Two other couples joined us and they were given suites right next to us. The view from the suite is spectacular without a doubt. Crashing waves over the rocks lull you to sleep even with the doors closed. The bathrooms are adequate but oddly enough, one thing was weird: the showers have a good size louvered windows that are kept open and they are on the wall that is the hallway outside your suite. Hence, when you walk down the hallways, you can hear people (yes, two at a time:), showering. Nice to hear that people conserve water and shower together. The bed is most comfortable. Kitchen sparce but does the job. No blenders, so forget the frozen drinks in the room. Large flat screen LG tvs'. Never had it on though. The small gift/convenience shop is in the lobby and carries a variety of things but is very very very pricey. Be prepared to go to the shop for bags of ice daily for a couple bucks. The grounds and lush landscape is maintained well. Pool is nice and is small but did not ever seem overcrowded. The lounge chairs have little overhead swings that can be put just the way you want to make a shade over your head, nice. Never seen those types before. Forget being on the beach after 8:00 pm before the sun goes down. The water waves come right up to the cement of the buildings. You would certainly be washed away and pulled out with the undertow of the tide. The waiters go out of their way to please guests in every way. We have a few meals at the restaurant. Very bland, overpriced, minimal selection and small portions. Best bet is to catch the bus and in five minutes you are downtown and have hundreds of restaurants to chose from. Basically, the resort needs a new head chef and menu. Security is present. The lagoon and small beach has many species of marine life. Be sure to snorkel early in the day as the wind picks up in the afternoons. Housekeeping was pleasant and consistent. Be sure to tip at least 20 pesos per person per day. We leave it on the pillow and they are very appreciative. The bus stop is just 15 steps from the bellman. Taxi's are always ready at the parking lot should you want to go that route. Be sure to stop at the concierge for a small rate chart for what the taxi rates are so you are not ripped off.

Room tip: corner suite, they are larger and have an extra large window on another wall. Makes all the difference.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pamperedpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest thank you very much for having taken the time to comment a bout your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know we were able to satisfy most of your expectations and that your vacation experience was a nice one.
We have taken note about you comments regarding the food and we will makes sure to look into them and take the necessary steps to correct the issues.
Once again thank you very much and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you once more in a future.
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Absolutely loved the staff, location, views, restaurant, and bed. This was my seventh trip to Puerto Vallarta so I am familiar with what to expect, but this "older resort" really fulfilled my wishes. I am not picky when visiting other countries so my expectations are not like some people who may expect a Four Seasons type hotel. The bus is cheap and runs often so if you want to get downtown, to the Malecon, Mismaloya etc it is a ten minute ride, and restaurants are all s stone's throw away if you prefer eating off site. The entire staff is so kind and courteous that I felt safe and secure at all times. My only quibble would be that the wi-fi signal was not very good but I go on a vacation to get away from the normal media on slaughts so in the end analysis wasn't bothered at all. The week was so enjoyable we are planning a return visit.

Room tip: all rooms have an ocean view
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwitTryon_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest thank you very for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know that we fulfilled your vacation expectations and that all services were up to your standards, but more than anything else, we are very proud of our staff having distinguished themselves and given you the service they so very well like to provide all our guests.
Regarding the WiFi system, we can assure we are only a few days away of implementing a totally new one, so we are sure that on your next visit to your "home away from home" you will notice the difference.
Once again thank you very much. Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Starting with the positive...beautiful place. Good food. Great views. Nice beach. Front desk quite helpful. Negatives....we were two couples who chose Costa Sur for the Sea Adventure package. We made it clear when booking that we were kayakers and looking forward to kayaking. We asked how many kayaks were available and were told there were "plenty". When we got there, we were informed there were only 3 single kayaks. The doubles were damaged or not usable. Bummer number one. Also, the available kayaks were very short, no seats and cheesy paddles. Having never used paddle boards, these ..and there were only 2 of them...were not an acceptable option. Second, WIFI IN EVERY ROOM....NOT! We checked in to our room on the 13 th floor, thinking how,fantastic. NO WIFI AT ALL. We repacked and moved to the third floor, where the wifi was spotty. We dealt with it. So, make sure if wifi is important to you, you make it very clear when you check in. We were completely unpacked when we found no wifi. Time consuming and we were all tired after the long bus ride to PV from Mazatlan. We asked for a credit for services not provided. We were given a measly $25.00 compensation for the sea package, and that was after a huge hassles with the powers to be. Bottom line, there are lots of very nice places to stay in PV that have beautiful rooms, views, good food and nice beaches. And less costly than Costa Sur.
We would not recommend it to friends who want a sea package or wifi.

Room tip: Ask for wifi if you want it. And if you think the sea adventure package is a value, it is NOT.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Linda thank you much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
Your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to take all the necessary actions to correct and prevent these kind of miss happenings from happening again.
Regarding the WiFi, we would like to let you know that we are in the last stages of installing a completely new system that will fully cover all the resort, from the moment you walk into the lobby and throughout all the areas.
We are very sorry we were not able to satisfy your vacation experience, but we hope you will give another opportunity to make it up to you.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews