We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Good Views, Nice Staff, but average resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #35 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent 5 days here at Costa Sur. Family oriented resort with great views and great location. Amenities are average and rooms need updating. Overall good value for your money, people and staff are extremely friendly..but average resort and the rooms are horribly outdated. Pushy on timeshares when you check in "welcome packets." However - you can enjoy Puerto Vallarta for a good price here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 426monicaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Monica thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa sur.
we are glad to know we were able to cover some of the expectations you had nad that your vacation experience was a nice one.
We have taken note of your observation regarding your welcome package and can assure you that we will look into it to try and take the necessary corrective actions to prevent them from happening again.
I would like to comment that, even though we are an older resort, the bedding, TV, sofa bed and curtains are no more than 2 years old and we have an ongoing preventive maintenance program to take care of the different issues an older building presents. I am sorry we failed in this regard.
Once again thank you very much and we hope you will give us another opportunity to host you back.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I spent 10 days in Puerto Vallarta, 8 at Costa Sur for our honeymoon! We had so much fun staying at Costa Sur. The view from our room was incredible. Waking up every morning to the sound of the waves crashing against the shore was very memorable! One of the cool things about this Hotel is the location. We loved that it was a few mins outside of town and more authentic Mexican. The customer service was great the entire time! Fabricio and the bar staff at "barefoot bar" was awesome. The front desk was friendly and helpful, even loaned me pesos to get into town and gave my wife and I great suggestions for dining and bus routes. The beds were a little soft for me personally, but that is my only complaint :) I definitely recommend Costa Sur.

Room Tip: 9th floor was great, all ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Alex we thank you very much for the time taken and your comments regarding your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a great pleasure for us to know that we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your vacation experience has left a very agreeable imprint in your memories. Our staff is to be remembered and, one more time, Fabricio, the rest of the Bar staff and the staff at the Front Desk demonstrated it. We will pass your comments along to them as we know they will very much appreciate them.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to host you at your "home away from home" in a near future or for your first anniversary!!
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent a fun filled week ay Costa Sur. All of the rooms overlook the ocean. The crash of the waves is my favorite sound. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! The staff is awesome....love Arturo and Bingo, Fabresio, Enrique and EVERYONE ELSE. From the wait staff, to the taxi staff, front desk, housekeeping, entertainment, chef's wonderful creations - I cannot say enough wonderful things about this beautiful place!

The food is fantastic, the ambiance incredible, the service 5 star - we have been here 3 times and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Stacey thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your vacation experience was a great one.
We are proud to see that our staff was a huge part of this success and we will make sure to pass your comments along top all of them, as we know they appreciate them very much.
Once again thank you much and we hope to see you and greet you personally in your next visit to your "home away from home".
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Pretty nice resort for a very affordable price!! Beach is perfect for snorkelling and just relaxing on.. Easy access to town for $7.50 per head (kids gets away for free most of times). People are very friendly. Will definitely recommend!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Romelito M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Romelito thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know that we were able to satisfy your expectations and that you and your family spent some quality time with us.
We hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you again in a future at your "home away from home" and, once again, thank you.
Cordially.
PS Thanks for sharing your pictures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our four days here, with the Group on it was only $270. The rooms aren't spectacular but the age gives it that old Mexico feel, the bed was still comfortable. The WiFi is best outside of your room, especially the pool area. We stayed in a room on the first floor which has lounge chairs and enjoyed the scenic view. Food was good, I think the onky thing that would've made my stay a higher review would be to update the rooms. From what I hear from managemenr, the whole resort is being renovated.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank hadleyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are glad to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your vacation experience was an agreeable one.
It is a fact we are in the process of updating and taking care of our rooms, making sure they are comfortable and up to our guests' standards.
Once again thank you very much and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you in a future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We just got back from our 3rd trip to PV but first time at Costa Sur using Interval International exchange. The resort itself is fine, though a little outdated. The staff are very friendly and will bend over backwards to help you. The food was very good and reasonable. We attended the 2-1 happy hour most every day which was enjoyable. However, the beach, though private, is just the width of the resort itself so you cannot take "long walks on the beach." You also need to either take a taxi or bus to get to town. The road by the resort is very narrow and windy and not safe for walking. The bus stop is right across the street from the resort, however, my husband and I like to walk to different restaurants and grocery store. The unit was fine (#715) except the bedroom is by road and we could hear traffic day & night, especially big trucks going by at all hours.

Room Tip: People who have been coming there for over 30 years say rooms on the 2-6 floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueincolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear sue thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
we are glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your vacation experience was a nice one. We are proud to see that, once again, our staff stepped up and gave their best, as they are the soul of the resort. We will make sure to pass your comments along to them as they will appreciate them very much.
We hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you in a future at your "home away from home" and thank you one more time.
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

While resorts pride themselves in great customer service, Costa Sur Resort & Spa takes it a step further and makes you feel like part of their family. This is my second stay at the property and the customer service by all employees is off the charts. This resort has a special feel, a bit secluded, killer views, exceptional rooms, exquisite food, plenty of activities, wonderful price....but it is the staff that sets it apart. I'm in the tourism business and this resort is one I'll return to time and again as it is as close to perfect as I've ever come across.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Leslie thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur, as well as for those wonderful words about our staff.
Our personnel is the soul of the Resort and we are very proud to know that they showed it one more time. We will make sure to pass a copy of this comment along to them on the bulletin board, so they know they have one more Family member!!
Once again thank you very much and we will be awaiting to host you in a near future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,899 reviews
6.4 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#49 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
349 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#71 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
165 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#24 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
352 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa...
#67 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £40 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing