We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very peaceful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Ranked #38 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very peaceful hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

this gem of a hotel is 20 minutes off the beaten path of the heart of Puerto Vallarta and quite charming. The best part of the hotel is the service, food and the great private lagoon that surrounds half of the hotel. Our breakfast table that we always dined at every morning sits right next to the private beach overlooking the fantastic view of Puerto Vallarta! The rooms are spacious and the king size bed was very comfortable. You have a refrigerator inside the room which I never used but it is there should you want it. The activity director was incredibly patient and kind in teaching me how to paddle board. Every person who worked there was genuinely happy to work there and made you feel welcome. My masseuse was INCREDIBLE and sadly I don't remember her name. Small but quaint spa area with many choices of services to choose from. I would stay there again and recommend it as long as you don't mind not being in the heart of the town where all the restaurants and shopping is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerrieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Merrie thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your vacation experience was a great one. Our staff is definitely the heart of our Resort and we will make sure to pass your comments along to all mentioned as we know they will very much appreciate them.
It is a fact we are off the "beaten" path and we are sure that is what gives us our charm. :o)
Once again thank you very much and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you again in a future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    519
    212
    80
    54
See reviews for
411
568
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tri-Cities, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I spent two great weeks at Costa Sur in June. Everything was great, food, rooms, food and especially the great staff. Veronica is very nice and a wonderful resource. The entire staff is friendly and willing to help in anyway possible. The location is excellent situated between Mismaloya Beach and downtown. Transportation by bus or taxi is a breeze.

Travel down to PV and enjoy the peace and serenity of Costa Sur on the ocean!

Room Tip: No tip needed, all rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeo899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Joe thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure for us to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that you had a great vacation experience.
We are proud of our staff and we will make sure to pass your comments along to them, especially Veronica, as we know they will very much appreciate them.
Once again thank you and we hope to be able to host you in a near future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isafjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My boyfriend and I travelled to Puerto Vallerta from Guadalajara for a weekend in december. We bought a groupon for this hotel so we stayed for 2 nights. The hotel was beautiful and we loved everything about it. The room was gorgeous with a view of the ocean. The wifi connection wasn't all that good but we enjoyed each others company. We had a friend in Vallerta that took us out because the hotel is quite far from the center, at least not in walking distance.
We had great food there and relaxed by the ocean. I think we we're the only young couple there, it was pretty much only older couples but we loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSCMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to comment about you stay at our Costa Sur.
We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that your vacation experience was a good one.
I would like to confirm that, since your visit, we have considerably upgraded our WiFi system and we are sure you will notice the difference during your next visit.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in a future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Older hotel but will return. Wifi is brutal. Rooms are very clean and staff friendly. Did not have an all inclusive package but was quite happy taking the bus to Old Town to eat. Did eat at the hotel twice and was not impressed. Loved the snorkelling in the lagoon and met several people who returned yearly. Very small older resort outside of the main. The gym air conditioning was on and off. The store was over priced. If you are just looking to relax, swim, snorkel and don't expect high end, it's acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Shona thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your past stay at our Costa Sur.
We have taken note of the issues you encountered and will make sure to take the necessary corrective steps to fix these problems.
Once again thank you very much and we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you again in the future at your "home away from home" and show you your remarks are important to us.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

An extended family get away 6/19-6/26. The hotel is older, but we enjoy the location. I think they need better activities onsite, however easy too get to town. only 2 issues was the taxi ride back to the airport. The driver wanted to charge more than he said at the hotel. Some family members had left the day before same number of people yet the price was higher for a smaller bus. Sunday brunch was a nightmare. Not enough staff and extremely long lines. Overall a good time for all. Had the best massage ever. Veronica was so helpful prior to our arrival. Eric was awesome helping our group book a few outings.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharoneR49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Sharone thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure and a pride to know we were able to provide you with a good vacation experience and that some of our staff members shined above the rest. We will make sure to let them know about your kudos as they will very much appreciate them.
We have also taken note of the observations regarding the taxi issue as well as the brunch detail and we will make sure to take the necessary corrective steps in order to avoid these situations from happening again in the future.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in the future at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I got married at Costa Sur in June and they did an amazing job. Mabel our wedding planner took care of all the details and made the day as amazing as I expected. Not only was the wedding perfect, the staff, food, accommodations were amazing as well. The staff were very friendly and treated you like family. The resort is also located in a beautiful area of Puerto Vallarta and has a very nice lagoon, beach and pools. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, area and the care they put into taking care of their guests and making our wedding day so special. I highly recommend Costa Sur for anyone looking to visit Puerto Vallarta or are even planning a wedding!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Raymi thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay and wedding at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know that we were able to satisfy your expectations and that the overall experience was a great one. We will make sure to pass your comments along to Mabel, who does a great job each time she has a wedding in house, as we know she will appreciate them very much.
Once again thank you very much for having chosen us for this wonderful new step in your life and we hope to host you many more times at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Been coming here sense I was 16! Not much has changed, staff is still great, although missing a few of the regulars. Food has gone a little downhill but other than that everything is the same. Great pool, good cocktails and perfect beach for swimming and snorkeling. Be back again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jamie thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur.
It is a pleasure to know that we are still able to satisfy your expectations and that your vacation experience remains a good one.
We have taken note of your remarks regarding the food and will check on this with our F&B Manager, in order to correct the situation. We will also pass along to our staff your nice comments, as they will very much appreciate them.
Once again thank you very much and we will be awaiting for your next trip at your "home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#89 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#65 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
262 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
331 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Property: Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing