We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mi Casa, Su Casa”
Review of Casa Cupula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Cupula
Ranked #3 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Casa Cupula was as welcoming as staying in your own home! First, the resort is located on a hillside that overlooks the ocean. No matter where you are, you always have a view of the ocean. The rooms are beyond accommodating. We were upgraded to the Seville Suite, and we were amazed at the uniqueness and awesome beauty of the loft room. We even had access to a private dipping pool on a terrace. The restaurant Taste was spectacular with the variety of menu options. The best part was the very welcoming staff in the resort. Every staff member was friendly and willing to accommodate your every need! The location was perfect, as it was close enough to the beach, Zona Romantica, and secluded enough for a quiet peaceful getaway! It was the perfect stay in a beautiful setting. Definitely worth a return trip!

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were great. The rooms underneath the restaurant said they heard noise in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We went expecting to have a nice vacation in Puerto Vallarta. We left thinking this was one of the best vacations we have ever had. Everything was so easy. Logan and Tina were so helpful. Logan helped us to find a sunset cruise that was amazing. We had asked very last minute to go on a sunset cruise. He searched and searched everything was booked. He presented us with the idea of going on a private cruise on Ada Sailing. After some consideration we booked with another couple we met at Casa Cupula. It was the highlight of our trip, and a memory that will last forever. The staff at Casa Cupula met our every need and often gave us ideas or service that far exceeded any request. Thank you.

Room Tip: Get the King Vista Suite!
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bridget F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel is beautifully perched on the hillside over he old town so it has wonderful views. It has a nice gym, beautiful pool, infinity rooftop hot tub and a great restaurant. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Our meals in the restaurant were outstanding! I highly recommend paying extra for a room with a view! We didn't and we were right under the restaurant. They could use more umbrellas by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We just spent a week in PV at CC. The property is scenic and the views are amazing. The rooms are very comfortable and there are multiple pools located throughout the grounds. It's an easy stroll to downtown and a quick and inexpensive cab ride back up the hill. Taste has really great food and the staff are super nice. When you look at hotel websites you know that the pictures are always the most flattering angles and views they can find. You almost expect to be let down when you arrive. I was beyond surprised to find that this really was an excellent place and filled with superb staff. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Use the hotel website and send them a note and ask about your room options. Remember this is a hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helix07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

From the moment we stepped into our room it was heaven! All the amenities you could ask for and more. We have a gorgeous terrace, double sinks, and a heavenly shower that allows for ocean view! The staff could not be more attentive and fun. Tina and Logan have already made our trip by their recommendations. The food at the restaurant at Taste is outstanding, you must have the shredded pork! Our trip hasn't ended and we cannot wait to book again. We must also thank arm in arm cruises who made this recommendation from the start. You will be so thankful staying here, it's a blissful Mecca away from the often overwhelming vendors and tourist traps down on the sand. This is a must stay!!

Room Tip: Vista Queen or King..the suites are also just stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I would love to give Casa Cupula a great review given the people were generally very friendly, the common areas of the main hotel were nice, and the the location is pretty good--- a short stroll into town and a fine walk back, or an easy and cheap cab ride ($5). I really do like this place, in theory.

But, the stay was totally ruined by the room quality. Despite what we had booked, my partner and I were put in the dreadful room 204 in Villa Sevilla, their annex property that is just down the road from the main hotel (only 50 yards or so but via a separate entrance). The very small room was entered via a sliding door, and didn't even have a door to the bathroom. Yes, you read that right--- no door to the bathroom with a toilet in direct site from the bed and no chance at privacy. It was very far from what you would expect at a place that advertises itself as a "luxurious boutique hotel" and as having "sophisticated interior design in each room." The ceiling fan was rusting, and the room came fully equipped with a musty smell so strong that all our clothes smelled like Villa Sevilla when we returned home. Definitely not luxurious, and barely tolerable. Lastly, there was no view, unless you count our sighting of two guys doing you know what in the little splash pool out front our sliding door. That didn't exactly get us excited about going for a dip in the pool.

At risk of sounding overly demanding, we kindly asked to be moved to a room with an enclosed bathroom, but were told the hotel was totally booked. I won't rant about the details of the mixup with our booking as the hotel blamed it on Expedia (and of course Expedia blamed it on the hotel), but regardless of who was at fault we certainly didn't end up in the room we booked, or anything close to it. The lady we spoke with about this, Tina, was perfectly nice and apologetic, but we were rather surprised she didn't offer us anything at all to help compensate for the mixup. We understood they were booked and couldn't move us elsewhere, but being told to just contact Expedia wasn't exactly what one would expect in this situation---most hotels would offer you a voucher for breakfast or a cocktail at the bar or something to help soothe the pain of ending up with a severlely downgraded room from what was booked.

While I certainly won't ever return to Casa Cupula, I'd say you can probably have a fine time here, just make sure you are truly confirmed for a room in the main building and set your expectations appropriately when it comes to your expectations for a "luxury boutique hotel."

Room Tip: I would avoid Villa Sevilla rooms - in particular room 204. The room has no door to the bathroom, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank laxslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
optionsf, Owner at Casa Cupula, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

We're sorry that there were so many problems, we understand your concerns. For some reason in January Expedia decided to randomly add jacuzzis and ocean views to the description of our Deluxe Rooms, and it took far to long to resolve. They blamed it on a problem with their database. We had asked for names of people who had booked to contact them in advance, but it is against their policy, something that continually frustrates us that we cannot contact guests in advance of arrival to set up anything. Unfortunately, once the guest arrived we didn't have any other other room options, however, the price was correct for that room for that period; it was just a mangled description.

As for the bathroom door, it's now on our to-do list. Villa Sevilla has been totally redecorated but the original design is very traditional, and you see this concept on too many bathrooms in open Mexican properties. It is an oversight and really should have been addressed as the guest is correct it is not typical in our category. Typically we warn guests when they make a reservation but, obviously not possible here.

I just checked the room and as a very mold-sensitive individual, I found no problems...and I'm a tough customer. If there was an intermittent problem it was certainly not typical.

The guest is correct and we failed in not offering an apology for the inconvenience. We dropped the ball, and that does happen once in a great while. We have since contacted the guest now that we do have an email.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Everyone was very kind and helpful during our trip. The hotel is very clean and the staff was very friendly. I wouldn't book the transfer to or from the airport as it is rather expensive - I would just print the directions and grab a cab for 150 Pesos.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParagonJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
optionsf, Owner at Casa Cupula, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

We're glad you liked the Casa!

Your review brings up a good point. If you are an experienced Puerto Vallarta traveller, and know where you are going, and speak a little Spanish, you can take a taxi with no problems. The cost, however, from the airport is typically over $250 pesos, as only specially licensed vehicles are allowed there to do pickups.

We offer a licensed, contracted service that knows where we are located, and specifically meets you personally and gets you safely to the hotel in cars that are better quality than the typical taxi. We also drive you back in our luxury SUV if you contract this service. The higher end service adds cold towels, a drink, and upgraded vehicle.

With all the (often unfair) scuttlebut about safety in Mexico being an issue to many guests, we take extra precautions to communicate with our guests to get them safely and securely to the hotel. The biggest risk isn't security, it's getting lost or getting scammed by a timeshare salesman who says he represents us and has no interest in driving you directly to the hotel, but in getting you to a timeshare presentation. By meeting our assigned drivers, we help prevent this inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
851 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#9 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,005 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,905 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cupula

Address: Callejon de la Igualdad 129 | Col Amapas, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £122 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Cupula 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cupula is one of the most luxurious boutique hotel resorts in the world, welcoming gay men, lesbians, and friends of our community. We offer the services of a five-star mainstream resort in three boutique properties: Casa Cupula, Private Residences and Owner's Villa. Gourmet food compliments three pools, a gym and sophisticated modern design. Located in Amapas, walking distance to gay beach clubs, nightlife, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Cupula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cupula Puerto Vallarta
Casa Cupula Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing