We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts and beautiful surroundings”
Review of Hacienda Alemana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Alemana
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Staying at Hacienda Alemana is like staying with family or friends. Mike and Irma go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and interesting. This small boutique hotel is really lovely and one of the best we have stayed in. We booked a junior suite and were really impressed with the interior design and comfort and cleanliness.We also got a 40% discount because it was low season so that meant it was really good value. The pool and courtyard area are fantastic-a real sanctuary away from the town centre and beach. As others have mentioned, it is really well located -close to beaches and markets but far enough away to feel like you are staying in a real town and not a tourist trap.We also highly recommend the restaurant -we had our best meals there. We would love to return some day and highly recommend this experience over a stay at a resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
273
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Mike is very centered on offering value through incredible service. I had somewhat unorthodox check-in, check out requirements and he accommodated me 100%. The place itself is gorgeous and as solidly built as any place I've ever stayed in Mexico - you will be surprised how positively that will affect your sense of comfort and "gemuetlichkeit".

I'll be back...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at Hacienda Alemana during the 'low season' and found it to be a great value and excellent accommodation. The property and room itself were beautiful and well maintained. The secluded courtyard and pool were a welcome oasis when we wanted to get away from the crowds near the beach - which is just a short walk away. Air conditioning in our standard room worked well - and was much needed due to it being hot and humid this time of the year.

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed during our stay - but our breakfasts were great. Since there was only one other couple, we got to have B&B style breakfast, with the owners Mike and Irma (who were very attentive to our needs) serving us personally. We also enjoyed meeting our canine hostess, Wanda.

All in all, a great vacation, and we'll certainly return if visiting Puerto Vallarta again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Hacienda Alemana is a beautifully decorated hotel in Puerto Vallarta with five minutes to walk to the beach. The swimming pool in the charming inner courtyard provides peace and silence and is perfect for relaxation. Impeccable room service and cleanliness. Friendly and helpful personnel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and just loved it. Every great thing you've read about the hotel is true. Mike and Irma are the owners of this 10 room bed and breakfast, and you can be assured they take as good of care of the property as if they lived there themselves. Oh wait... they do! :) They are an awesome couple with great stories and tips for getting around PV.

The hotel is very new for Zona Romantica standards... so those of us who enjoy charm but want modern luxuries can get the best of both worlds. Loved the large double shower and the stones you walk through to get to it! A.C. is a must in the summer months and the hotel did not disappoint in that regard. I'm pretty sure we had a king sized bed, but from what I gathered, the rooms vary in size.

Zona Romantica is definitely the best place to stay when you are in PV... but because it is such an old part of town, even the big "luxury" hotels by the beach look like they could use some updating. Although Hacienda Alemana isn't right on the beach, the walk isn't bad at all, and you get the benefit of much nicer accomodations for a comparatively low price.

By the way... I hesitated to put this in, because I wouldn't want people going to the hotel with expectations... but I just can't resist. When we arrived at the hotel, Irma had the staff place chilled champagne and champagne glasses in our fridge! There were roses in a vase on our table, and rose petals scattered on our bed surrounding the towel swans! We were very happily surprised! That's the kind of service you get when you go to a smaller hotel where the owners really care about their guests.

One final thing... You MUST try the food at the restaurant! But note... if you are planning a summer trip, the restaurant is closed on Sundays. We dined all over town and held off eating at the hotel until almost too late. Although we'd had mediocre food most places around the city, we were overwhelmed by how amazing the shrimp we had at Hacienda Alemana was! We loved it so much we wanted to go back the next day for lunch, but alas, the following day happened to be a Sunday.

I would absolutely go back, and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I stayed at the Hacienda Alemana for a a week and we had a great time. The hotel is very cozy and offers beautiful rooms. The german food at the restaurant is delicious. The owner Mike helped us a lot to get arround Puerto Vallarta and his recomendations for daytrips were excelent.
We'll be back next summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saschaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Everyone was extremely helpful & friendly, made us feel welcome. We enjoyed being close to the local culture of Puerto Vallarta. We felt completely safe, in fact more safe than some places in the USA. All of the staff went out of their way to answer any questions & guide us where we wanted to go. The accomendations were outstanding, very clean & a "comfortable bed." We would recommend Hacienda Alemana highly.
Rebecca Waller & Salvador Estrada

Room Tip: Our room was sound proof, slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyWichita-Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Alemana

Property: Hacienda Alemana
Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 378 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Alemana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small luxury bed and breakfast, just in the heart of old Vallarta. Five minutes walk to the famous Los Muertos Beach, and 10 minutes to the Malecon. We don't have a view, but we have a vision: service, kindness and more service. Start every day enjoying our delicious breakfast served next to the pool. And explore secret places around the area of Pv on our pirvate tours. We are looking forward on hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hacienda Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Alemana Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing