We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Alemana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Alemana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Downtown Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the Hacienda Alemana. Comfortable, clean, modern well appointed rooms. Delicious breakfasts. Pool and courtyard is a tranquil oasis when you have had enough of the hustle and bustle of town. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
271
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I spend 5 wonderful nights at Hotel
Hacienda Alemana. We just loved the hotel and our hosts! Our room was big and comfortable. The location couldn't be more perfect, in the old part of PV, 5 min walk to the beach and very quite and private, which is what you want at night as PV can get quite loud! We slept like babies! The hotel has Beautifully kept grounds and pool. We used the pool ever day! Each morning our hosts would serve us a very yummy breakfast by the pool. The hotel also has a great restaurant at which we ate 3 times during our stay! We couldn't get enough of their yummy meals! The food, the waitress and the atmosphere were first class! You must try this restaurant!!!!! We couldn't imagine staying any where else up on our return to PV! Many thanks to our hosts! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Two night after leaving the amazing tropical coast we arrived in Puerto Vallarta. It was city shock after the peacefulness of the jungle. Yet in Hacienda Alemana we found the perfect peaceful environment in a great location. Just minutes from the boardwalk and yet quiet secluded and with perfect hospitality. My husband left money on the table at the restaurant by mistake and when he returned it was handed back to him by a staff member. He thought that he had lost it elsewhere. You do not meet that kind of care and honesty often. Thank you Tatiana and the staff for taking care of us.
Helen and Bert

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I just spent 11 days at Hacienda Alamana. It was our third visit and we would never go anywhere else. The location is perfect for us - in the heart of the old town of Vallarta, a quick walk to the ocean and Malacon, near to fantastic restaurants, close to cabarets and shows - truly where all the action is. The small hotel is lovely - quiet, gorgeous rooms, huge walk-in tiled showers, everything beautifully and simply appointed. They also have a marvelous restaurant in a separate courtyard that serves delicious food and is very popular with locals and travelers alike. They serve breakfast for the guests in the inn's inner courtyard in the gardens by the pool. It is all perfectly done, but low-key and relaxed. We spent an hour or two every morning at breakfast, meeting and chatting with some of the most interesting people from all over the world. The owners, Tatiana and Irma have such grace and talent. They make everyone feel very special. Tatiana is also an official Mexican tour guide and will provide private tours if one should want. We have taken 4 different tours with her over the years and have learned so much and had great fun! Hacienda Alamana is simply the best. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms (I think) and they are all wonderful. I've never heard anyone complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Wow! Marvelous in every way. We love staying in town, and thoroughly enjoyed the family atmosphere; a perfect B&B with magnificent breakfasts by the pool -- a mix traditional Mexican, European, ...sit back and enjoy! Oh, and the best coffee in town. Mike, Irma, and Tatiana were, well, just there for you as was the rest of the staff.

The restaurant is superb -- the food & the ambiance, the open courtyard & the very cozy bar & restaurant. The live music was great; in the evenings we loved sitting on our balcony or at the pool and listening as we read or relaxed.

The standard room we had was modern, immaculate, cozy, and perfectly laid out. The king-size bed was very comfortable. Every detail is accounted for in the rooms, hallways, and balconies.

There was something romantic about the door from the restaurant leading to our "home" on the other side of the wall. A paradise in a beautiful town, on one of our favorite streets -- Basilo Badillio -- which is very lively, very clean, and seems to have everything from art galleries, to restaurants, shops of every kind including traditional clothing, ceramics and glass. A short walk down this fun street takes you right down to the Malecon - a great walk at sunset.

Finally, the family and staff will help you find anything you need or help you plan your day...but reserve some time for just "staying home" at Hacienda Alemana and wandering the wonderful neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Porto Vallarta is a bit of a puzzle. Snowbirds from Canada and northern US often prefer Nuevo Vallarta's big resorts just north of the main city; cruise lines send their passengers to the city's downtown area; other visitors find refuge in condos and city hotels. But for travelers looking for a high-value, low-density experience in the old portion of the city, I recommend Hacienda Alemana. With only 10 rooms in a quiet modern setting, the Hacienda is a real find. Rooms have modern features and face an interior courtyard pool. Even better, the Hacienda operates a large restaurant in an adjacent courtyard, so its guests are treated to a superb breakfast each morning. The Hacienda is family owned and operated; their passion for the property and its guests is obvious.

The Hacienda location is great for exploring the old neighborhoods south the river (Rio Cuale), and for connecting with local buses to beaches and small towns further south of the city. Still, it's a short walk to the city's main beach-side attractions where you'll find many bars, restaurants and retail stores that cater to visitors.

Room Tip: With only 10 rooms, it's hard to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Hacienda Alemana for the second time. It will not be the last time as it is our place to stay in Puerto Vallarta. The owners, Mike and Irma, are gracious hosts. Irma prepared a gourmet breakfast each morning, which we ate outside at the pool.

The location is ideal in the Zona Romantica, just a few blocks from the beach and the Malecon pedestrian walk.
The room is very modern and furnished beautifully. The bed could not have been better. The windows and sliding glass door kept the room quiet. We had a room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. We frequently had lunch at the pool. Don't miss the fish carpaccio and the grilled octopus among just a few wonderful items on the menu. When you enter the hotel from the street you pass through a lovely restaurant courtyard. Don't miss the opportunity of eating there. In addition to seafood, the German cuisine is outstanding.
In all, I would not hesitate highly recommending a stay at the Hacienda Alemana. We are looking forward to being there again next winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jischnit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#14 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#2 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Alemana

Property: Hacienda Alemana
Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 378 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Alemana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small luxury bed and breakfast, just in the heart of old Vallarta. Five minutes walk to the famous Los Muertos Beach, and 10 minutes to the Malecon. We don't have a view, but we have a vision: service, kindness and more service. Start every day enjoying our delicious breakfast served next to the pool. And explore secret places around the area of Pv on our pirvate tours. We are looking forward on hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Alemana Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing